Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old September 6, 2011, 03:45 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,815

My System Specs

Default Increase DRAM clock, huge increase in CPU temps?

When I generally overclock I find the max CPU clock, then raise my memory clock so rule it out as the cause of a lockup.

Was testing w/ memory @ 400MHz yesterday and I could have sworn CPU temps never went above 62C while @ 4.9GHz. Raise it to 667MHz today and temps are now hovering around 71C. There is no way my ambient temp has increased that much as it really isn't any hotter outside today.

So is this something that is true or no?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old September 6, 2011, 03:55 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,473
Default

I'd say perhaps your memory is dumping more heat near the cpu?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old September 6, 2011, 03:58 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Markham
Posts: 1,564

My System Specs

Default

It's possible, but a 9c difference is pretty dramatic, something else must be in play. Did you check your memory controller voltage wasn't on auto? (I'm assuming it's a 2600k)
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old September 6, 2011, 04:04 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,815

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by enaberif View Post
I'd say perhaps your memory is dumping more heat near the cpu?
I actually lowered the memory voltage by .07V. So it should be putting out less heat.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ilya View Post
It's possible, but a 9c difference is pretty dramatic, something else must be in play. Did you check your memory controller voltage wasn't on auto? (I'm assuming it's a 2600k)
Pretty sure it is on auto actually. I don't think I've ever actually touched it before.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old September 6, 2011, 04:27 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,620

My System Specs

Default

i cant see memory dumping anywhere near the amount of heat required for that kind of temp rise
__________________
Desktop: Antec Three Hundred, Gigabyte Z77-D3H, i5 3570K with Zalman Optima Cooler, Corsair Vengeance 2x4gb 1600mhz, MSI Cyclone GTX 460, Seasonic S12II 500W, WD Black 1TB, Intel 530 120GB
Away from home light Gamer: Acer Aspire 15.6", A8-3500m undervolt and OC to 2Ghz, 2x4gb Corsair Vengeance, Crucial M500 240gb
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old September 6, 2011, 05:50 PM
Galcobar's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Richmond, B.C.
Posts: 437

My System Specs

Default

Chain effect? Memory produces more heat -- faster means hotter, so your voltage reduction might not have had enough effect -- and affects the efficiency of the VRMs nearby?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old September 6, 2011, 06:19 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: laval Qc
Posts: 1,072
Default

chek if your pwm getting hot
hotter it gets less stable voltage goes to cpu

it can be crappy memory controler

with my 2600k the higher i go the better temps get lol
__________________
maximus IV extreme @ 5.1 1.41v

evga e760 +920 4.8 water5.0+ on phase linx stable
gtx285 tri-sli
dfi ut-p35 lt
e8600@4.6 1.38v
too much ram
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old September 6, 2011, 08:42 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,815

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Galcobar View Post
Chain effect? Memory produces more heat -- faster means hotter, so your voltage reduction might not have had enough effect -- and affects the efficiency of the VRMs nearby?
Forgot to mention the CPU is watercooled. Memory or VRM temps shouldn't have much of an impact on CPU temps in my case.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old September 6, 2011, 08:55 PM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,408
Default

It is the IMC which is putting out more heat. You have to remember that while the CPU cores downclock when at idle, the memory runs at full speed.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old September 7, 2011, 08:38 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 23
Default Dynamic power is proportional to clock frequency

Yes, with the memory controller integrated, there will be more heat generated. Remember, dynamic power is proportional to the clock frequency and the memory clock has been increased by ~67% (from 400 MHz to 667 MHz).
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Do I need to increase the voltage Lanboy RAM 2 May 29, 2011 10:44 AM
how to increase the performace of.... Rescue119 Video Cards 0 April 20, 2010 03:58 PM
A build to increase my PPD MarkOne New Builds 22 January 12, 2010 09:29 PM
GTX260 SP increase Shadowed Video Cards 3 August 22, 2008 12:41 PM
RAM prices to increase ? enzeo Rumor Mill 10 July 9, 2007 12:46 PM