Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old February 14, 2008, 08:01 PM
mattydies's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ottawa Valley, Ontario
Posts: 301

My System Specs

Default BIOS Chip removal tool?

The instructions state to use a bios removal tool when removing the bios CHIP (So I can install the new one). ASUS told me "Your system not posting after flashing your bios could be the result of a residual hang of the older bios version"

Do I REALLY NEED this BIOS removal chip tool to pull off the old BIOS Chip so I can install the new one?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old February 14, 2008, 08:07 PM
mattydies's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ottawa Valley, Ontario
Posts: 301

My System Specs

Default

650iboardS.jpg

My bios socket is different than the one I circled in green. It seems to clip onto the bottom of the chip.
Attached Images
 
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old February 14, 2008, 09:01 PM
biff's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Courtice, Ont.
Posts: 1,235
Default

For the kind shown in the pic you can just use two thin nails or sewing needles. You work opposite corners at the same time so the chip more or less works it's way out of the socket evenly. And for god sakes make sure you don't jam the tools into the mobo traces. It really isn't a big deal but have patience and take the mobo out of the case you you have room to work. Don't do it hunched over under a desk with no light fighting off cables and videocards.

If it's much different than that then I dunno. Got a pic?
__________________
Q6600 @ 3.83GHz w/ D-Tek Fusion
Asus P5Q-PRO
2x 2GB PC8000 Mushkin Redlines @ 1020MHz w/5-5-5-12 timings
EVGA GTX 280 (SC?)
OCZ Gamer Xtreme 600W PSU
Cooler Master Cosmos on water
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old February 14, 2008, 09:55 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,903

My System Specs

Default

Are you sure you need to remove it? Have you tried clearing the CMOS? Cause that might fix your problems.

Move the jumper (CLR RTC I think) and take out the battery. Leave it like that for a couple minutes then put the jumper back to the normal position and put the battery in.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old February 14, 2008, 09:57 PM
mattydies's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ottawa Valley, Ontario
Posts: 301

My System Specs

Default

fullboard.jpg

I have a bios chip like the one I circled in blue. The "Socket" if you will, is underneath the chip.
Attached Images
 
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old February 14, 2008, 10:44 PM
mattydies's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ottawa Valley, Ontario
Posts: 301

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jdrom17 View Post
Are you sure you need to remove it? Have you tried clearing the CMOS? Cause that might fix your problems.

Move the jumper (CLR RTC I think) and take out the battery. Leave it like that for a couple minutes then put the jumper back to the normal position and put the battery in.

Yes I have done this. My computer only posts about once in 10 tries, BIOS does not want to save settings
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old February 15, 2008, 07:49 AM
biff's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Courtice, Ont.
Posts: 1,235
Default

Uhh any better pictures? It just looks like a regular SMT chip from here. Not much to go on.
__________________
Q6600 @ 3.83GHz w/ D-Tek Fusion
Asus P5Q-PRO
2x 2GB PC8000 Mushkin Redlines @ 1020MHz w/5-5-5-12 timings
EVGA GTX 280 (SC?)
OCZ Gamer Xtreme 600W PSU
Cooler Master Cosmos on water
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old February 15, 2008, 08:03 AM
Eldonko's Avatar
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 5,445
Default

Some BIOS chips pull right out with your fingers. All depends which it is.
__________________
Donkeys kill more people annually than plane crashes or shark attacks.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old February 15, 2008, 10:55 AM
mattydies's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ottawa Valley, Ontario
Posts: 301

My System Specs

Default

I have tried coaxing it out (very carefully) with small screw drivers, picks (like a dentist tool to pick at your teeth, and paper clips. No Dice.

I think I need to use the tool.

Thanks for the input :)
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old February 15, 2008, 11:47 AM
3oh6's Avatar
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 1,052
Default

this is the little bugger you need...



came with 939 Lanparty boards if i remember correctly. either way, if your having toruble finding one, just let me know. I can fire it out to you in a bubble mailer, just ask that it comes back. with that said, getting some BIOS chips out can still be a hassle with this guy but you shouldn't have too much trouble with it. just fire me a PM if you need it.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sapphire HD 3870 HSF Removal Tips / Help Surfer_2099 Video Cards 7 April 15, 2008 07:30 PM
BIOS Chip burning JShupka Troubleshooting 13 January 22, 2008 10:21 PM
New Bios chip / Reflash ebdoradz Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 6 January 22, 2008 07:56 PM
Antec P182 Fan Removal. Scotch Tape Cases 2 January 1, 2008 03:56 PM
Plastic cover removal on GTX magictorch Video Cards 6 December 29, 2007 02:33 PM