Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old February 12, 2008, 02:15 PM
ebdoradz's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Rouyn-Noranda, QC
Posts: 754
Default suggestion for a intel build

Ok guys i currently have all the 3 rig in sig running.

my g/f is a tech and is boss wanted to give her a E6320 for free, but she need to use it (read no sell it on ebay ... of let it collect dust)

i dont wanna get rid of my opteron rig since its my little baby, (golden number opty 165 steeping and my 1st custom build)

my dfi nf2 cost me more then the whole opteron rig so i dont wanna sell that rig for 150 ... 200$

the asus rig (server one) could be sold or keep i will see

i have a hiper psu laying that i just put for sale ... i could keep it for that build .. but i dont know yet

i wanna build a rig for cheap, i dont know yet if i will use it has a media center or has a gmaing rig of my g/f to replace the dfi nf2 ... (in that case the dfi nf2 will become my server and the asus rig will be sold)

any suggestion on a cheap mobo ???? theirs alot of intel 775 mobo out there and i dont wanna past the next year to choose it

i will also get cheap 40$ ddr800 ram and myabe a 7600gt or something similar (19'' lcd)..... (she playes myst and heroes V so she dont need a rig that will push crysis @ 100fps)
__________________
Gigabyte GA-MA790XT-UD4P / AMD Phenom II x3 720BE @ x4/ Crucial Ballistic DDR3 / Sapphire 4830 512mb / Corsair 620W PSU / 2*80GB Seagate

DFI LP nF4 Ultra-D / AMD Opteron 165 @ 2.7Ghz/ 2*1GB OCZ Gold GX XTC / Sapphire X1950XT / Fortron 450W PSU / 2*Maxtor 80Gb


Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old February 12, 2008, 02:36 PM
1Tanker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Ontario
Posts: 1,170
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ebdoradz View Post
Ok guys i currently have all the 3 rig in sig running.

my g/f is a tech and is boss wanted to give her a E6320 for free, but she need to use it (read no sell it on ebay ... of let it collect dust)

i dont wanna get rid of my opteron rig since its my little baby, (golden number opty 165 steeping and my 1st custom build)

my dfi nf2 cost me more then the whole opteron rig so i dont wanna sell that rig for 150 ... 200$

the asus rig (server one) could be sold or keep i will see

i have a hiper psu laying that i just put for sale ... i could keep it for that build .. but i dont know yet

i wanna build a rig for cheap, i dont know yet if i will use it has a media center or has a gmaing rig of my g/f to replace the dfi nf2 ... (in that case the dfi nf2 will become my server and the asus rig will be sold)

any suggestion on a cheap mobo ???? theirs alot of intel 775 mobo out there and i dont wanna past the next year to choose it

i will also get cheap 40$ ddr800 ram and myabe a 7600gt or something similar (19'' lcd)..... (she playes myst and heroes V so she dont need a rig that will push crysis @ 100fps)
Of course, if you look on any forum now.. the GA-P35-DS3L is the Intel board to get..performance is great, and it's a steal(it's a $90 board that competes with the big-boys minus RAID, Firewire & X-Fire/SLI). You can get cheaper boards, like ASRock,ECS, etc.. but for the $20 savings.. i wouldn't bother. GL
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old February 12, 2008, 02:58 PM
Eldonko's Avatar
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 5,442
Default

Or asus p5k or dfi bloodiron
__________________
Donkeys kill more people annually than plane crashes or shark attacks.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old February 12, 2008, 03:37 PM
BALISTX's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 2,005
Default

I'd say a Gigabyte P35-DS3L board and say an E2180 or E4500 processor. Maybe an new 8800GS or 3850 video card.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old February 12, 2008, 04:15 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,228

My System Specs

Default

He's already getting an e6320 for free as long as it gets used.... :)
__________________
EVGA X58 3X SLI / i7 980X / 3X 4G Mushkin Blackline Frostbite / XFX Pro 1000W / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / WD 6401AALS / TT Lvl 10 GT
Swiftech MCP655 WC Pump / EK XT 240 Rad / 2X Scythe Ultra Kaze / EK Supreme HF / Primochill Myriad Dual Bay Res / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Gigabyte C1007UN-D / 2X4G Gskill PC3-10700 / Pico PSU / 2.5" 750G Toshiba HDD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 19" BenQ / 1X 17" HP
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old February 12, 2008, 04:16 PM
BALISTX's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 2,005
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sswilson View Post
He's already getting an e6320 for free as long as it gets used.... :)
Opps didn't see that.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old February 12, 2008, 11:33 PM
turtletrax's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Not in PPC's pocket.
Posts: 520

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eldonko View Post
Or asus p5k or dfi bloodiron

What he said
__________________
"The thing about internet quotes is you can not confirm their validity." - Abraham Lincoln.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old February 13, 2008, 12:34 AM
Prof. Dr. Silver's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 1,187
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BALISTX View Post
I'd say a Gigabyte P35-DS3L board and say an E2180 or E4500 processor. Maybe an new 8800GS or 3850 video card.
You just took the words out of my mouth! Eventhough I was used to a bit more of a luxury board (e.g. more options)....I have to admit this GA-P35-DS3L is out-performing my 680i !!!

Amazing and for that price??? DIRT CHEAP! Go for it!

Ps. Want to see how it performs? Check out my GA-P35-DS3L OC Time Just make sure you read the whole thread! LOL
__________________
Hardcore Folding at it's BEST! HWC - TPU.... There can be only one team in front! TPU, can you smell our *sses already?
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old February 13, 2008, 05:11 AM
ebdoradz's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Rouyn-Noranda, QC
Posts: 754
Default

great, i will that a look at that board .. the DS3R has raid right???


im an addicted to raid since i'm using it help to give a little perf boost when loading map and all ....

thnak you for your tips

has for the ram, let say a OCZ plat ddr2-800 would make the job i presume with the price their are right now you cant get better ......

i will continue my reading ...
__________________
Gigabyte GA-MA790XT-UD4P / AMD Phenom II x3 720BE @ x4/ Crucial Ballistic DDR3 / Sapphire 4830 512mb / Corsair 620W PSU / 2*80GB Seagate

DFI LP nF4 Ultra-D / AMD Opteron 165 @ 2.7Ghz/ 2*1GB OCZ Gold GX XTC / Sapphire X1950XT / Fortron 450W PSU / 2*Maxtor 80Gb


Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old February 13, 2008, 08:43 AM
BALISTX's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 2,005
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ebdoradz View Post
great, i will that a look at that board .. the DS3R has raid right???


im an addicted to raid since i'm using it help to give a little perf boost when loading map and all ....

thnak you for your tips

has for the ram, let say a OCZ plat ddr2-800 would make the job i presume with the price their are right now you cant get better ......

i will continue my reading ...
Yep the DS3R has raid (I believe that is the only difference)

Go with the OCZ at that price.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Intel Build rjbarker CPU's and Motherboards 13 February 21, 2008 05:15 PM
Suggestion qwerty Suggestions & Feedback 5 October 16, 2007 02:22 PM
My Next Build. BALISTX CPU's and Motherboards 13 October 4, 2007 11:53 AM
Another WC Suggestion Build Thread Supergrover Water Cooling 13 September 15, 2007 07:47 PM
ram suggestion skyline510 RAM 9 September 15, 2007 09:55 AM