Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old February 11, 2008, 03:35 PM
elninio's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 174
Default 16 dim slot server board of ATX size?

does such a thing exist? all of the 16 slot ones ive seen are EATX
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old February 11, 2008, 03:39 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,598
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by elninio View Post
does such a thing exist? all of the 16 slot ones ive seen are EATX
Well considering the size of a board you'd need to be able to use 16 slots I'd say your chances are pretty slim.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old February 11, 2008, 04:12 PM
Cptn Vortex's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 3,726
Default

Nope. I didn't do too much searching, but usually if it exists, Supermicro makes it. 8DIMMS, 32GB RAM support. Dual Xeon, nice. Supermicro, Inc. - Products | Motherboards | Xeon Boards | X7DCL-3
__________________
The Vortex H20

Coolermaster ATCS 840 w Window panel
MSI Z77A-GD65
Intel i7 3770K @ 4.6GHZ 1.28v
Galaxy GTX 680 @ 1241MHZ
8GB Mushkin Blackline 1600MHZ 9-9-9-24 1.5v
Asus Xonar Essence STX
OCZ Z-Series GOLD 850W
2 x 128GB Corsair Force GT SATA3 SSD RAID0 :)
Acheiva Shimian Q270 Lite 2560x1440

Benq W500 Pojector.

Watercooling:
EK Supreme HF, EK FC GTX 680 Block, MCR320+Gelid Silent 12 Push/Pull, DD Pump, EK Multioption 100ml Res, EK Coolstream XT 220 RAD Gelid Wings Push/Pull.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old February 11, 2008, 07:06 PM
CMetaphor's Avatar
Quadfather
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 4,997

My System Specs

Default

Well. I found one thats also E-atx Sized & it uses ECC memory (bleh).... But GOOD GOD ITS A MONSTER!!!
ASUSTeK Computer Inc.

:O 16 cores? 64gb of Ram? Sweet Jesus!!! Where can I get me one of those?!?! lol.
it even has a 16x pci-e slot for a kickass videocard (3870 x2 anyone?) unlike most server boards that have one or two pci-e 8x slots. I WANT ONE!!!
__________________
"Backed by common sense and physics!" -Squeetard
Opteron Server for Sale! http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...ade-ideas.html
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old February 11, 2008, 09:14 PM
elninio's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 174
Default

Iwill punts 16-FB-DIMM Xeon mobo | Reg Hardware

here you go boys ;)

but this is the ONLY one that exists, so not much selection.. i wonder how it OCs hehe what do you think?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old February 11, 2008, 09:46 PM
Cptn Vortex's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 3,726
Default

Well actually, supermicro makes a lot of them, but they are E-ATX, not ATX. Supermicro, Inc. - Products | Motherboards | Xeon

Any of the boards that support 64 or 128 GB of RAM have 16 slots.
__________________
The Vortex H20

Coolermaster ATCS 840 w Window panel
MSI Z77A-GD65
Intel i7 3770K @ 4.6GHZ 1.28v
Galaxy GTX 680 @ 1241MHZ
8GB Mushkin Blackline 1600MHZ 9-9-9-24 1.5v
Asus Xonar Essence STX
OCZ Z-Series GOLD 850W
2 x 128GB Corsair Force GT SATA3 SSD RAID0 :)
Acheiva Shimian Q270 Lite 2560x1440

Benq W500 Pojector.

Watercooling:
EK Supreme HF, EK FC GTX 680 Block, MCR320+Gelid Silent 12 Push/Pull, DD Pump, EK Multioption 100ml Res, EK Coolstream XT 220 RAD Gelid Wings Push/Pull.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old February 12, 2008, 05:17 AM
CMetaphor's Avatar
Quadfather
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 4,997

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CMetaphor View Post
Well. I found one thats also E-atx Sized & it uses ECC memory (bleh).... But GOOD GOD ITS A MONSTER!!!
ASUSTeK Computer Inc.

:O 16 cores? 64gb of Ram? Sweet Jesus!!! Where can I get me one of those?!?! lol.
it even has a 16x pci-e slot for a kickass videocard (3870 x2 anyone?) unlike most server boards that have one or two pci-e 8x slots. I WANT ONE!!!
How come no one freaked out with me?
__________________
"Backed by common sense and physics!" -Squeetard
Opteron Server for Sale! http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...ade-ideas.html
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old February 17, 2008, 02:10 PM
elninio's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 174
Default

are there no ATX sized 16 slot boards? :( wth!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old February 17, 2008, 04:57 PM
Mr. Friendly's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: British Columbia
Posts: 140
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by elninio View Post
are there no ATX sized 16 slot boards? :( wth!
I'm sorta befuddled here. with the cost of one of these boards, I would think having an EATX capable case would be minor...surely it's not that big of a deal?
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old February 17, 2008, 10:33 PM
elninio's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 174
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr. Friendly View Post
I'm sorta befuddled here. with the cost of one of these boards, I would think having an EATX capable case would be minor...surely it's not that big of a deal?
unfortunately i already had my case setup and rad put together, but a larger case would be unnecessarily too big. I could just dremel out part of the bay side to get those extra three or four inches, but who wants to go through all that trouble :P
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dual CPU slot board? 3.0charlie CPU's and Motherboards 19 February 1, 2008 07:30 AM
Single slot bracket? 3.0charlie Video Cards 9 December 4, 2007 02:47 PM
Vista and ICON size? frosty O/S's, Drivers & General Software 6 November 11, 2007 09:51 AM
BBCode and image size Mr. Cipher Off Topic 1 November 6, 2007 09:51 AM
Image Upload Size enaberif Suggestions & Feedback 1 November 3, 2007 08:02 PM