Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old August 2, 2011, 09:16 PM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,606
Default AMD A6-3650 Llano APU Review Comment Thread

When AMD's Llano desktop architecture was introduced, the A8-3850 was the only APU available but another, more budget-friendly version soon followed. The A6-3650 retains all of the features which made its bigger brother so successful but core speeds and the onboard graphics processor have been cut down to a slightly lower level. The result is a $120 APU that could very well take the market by storm.

Read more here: AMD A6-3650 Llano APU Review
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old August 2, 2011, 09:25 PM
MacJunky's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Creston, BC
Posts: 1,715

My System Specs

Default

How do you pronounce Llano anyway? Lano? LLLLLLLano? LuhLano?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old August 2, 2011, 09:33 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

very nice. now lets see it in cheap lappies!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old August 2, 2011, 10:05 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,916

My System Specs

Default

My A6-3650 was the only CPU I've ever bought that was DOA. Really hope the RMA' one I have coming works properly.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old August 3, 2011, 05:02 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 57

My System Specs

Default

Why is the 3650 100w and the 3800 65w, when the 3650 has no turbo, has a lower CPU core clock, lower GPU clock, and less shaders? Doesn't make sense to me. Can anyone explain this?

AMD A8-Series A8-3800 AD3800OJZ43GX (AD3800OJGXBOX)
AMD A6-Series A6-3650 AD3650WNZ43GX (AD3650WNGXBOX)
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old August 3, 2011, 05:27 AM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,606
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jurassic1024 View Post
Why is the 3650 100w and the 3800 65w, when the 3650 has no turbo, has a lower CPU core clock, lower GPU clock, and less shaders? Doesn't make sense to me. Can anyone explain this?

AMD A8-Series A8-3800 AD3800OJZ43GX (AD3800OJGXBOX)
AMD A6-Series A6-3650 AD3650WNZ43GX (AD3650WNGXBOX)
The base clock of the A8-3800 is 200MHz lower than the A6-3650. In addition, the 3800 and 3600 will be a new stepping which will bring a lower operating voltage and a slightly more efficient transistor design.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old August 3, 2011, 08:54 AM
OJX OJX is offline
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 46
Default

Seems like its targeted at a fairly small market. Perhaps a moderate-gaming HTPC? Most business/casual markets won't see the advantage of the improved GPU, and would instead benefit from faster processors. Gamers won't abandon discrete graphics.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old August 3, 2011, 09:28 AM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,606
Default

Actually, it is targeting a huge market: that of the massive system builders. Companies like Dell, HP, etc. will love Fusion because it offers expanded capabilities in an emerging segment (GPGPU computing) while simplifying their buying and architectural structure. Instead of making provisions for a dedicated GPU, these OEMs can now use a single chip solution while marketing advanced GPU capabilities that were previously only available on up-market systems.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old August 3, 2011, 10:26 AM
BootlegUsher's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 453
Default

I know that you wanted all the test platforms to be similar, so DDR3 1333 was used on all of them, but doesn't that hamper the A6 3650 quite a bit? Wouldn't it be fair to use the highest natively supported memory frequency on all the platforms?
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old August 3, 2011, 10:33 AM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,606
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BootlegUsher View Post
I know that you wanted all the test platforms to be similar, so DDR3 1333 was used on all of them, but doesn't that hamper the A6 3650 quite a bit? Wouldn't it be fair to use the highest natively supported memory frequency on all the platforms?
Native memory speed as defaulted to in all BIOS versions of every mobo is 1333 for Llano. Llano "officially supports" higher memory speeds but it doesn't run at those speeds without manually setting the divider in the BIOS.

Also, as you mentioned all platforms are tested at the same memory speeds in order to keep things consistent.
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AMD A8-3850 APU Review: Llano Hits the Desktop Comment Thread SKYMTL CPU's and Motherboards 58 October 5, 2011 01:54 PM
Gigabyte A75-UD4H FM1 Llano Motherboard Preview Comment Thread SKYMTL CPU's and Motherboards 19 June 25, 2011 05:41 AM
Comment Thread for AMD HD 6990 Review SKYMTL Video Cards 73 March 22, 2011 06:21 PM