Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
View Poll Results: What's your pick; A6 or i3?
A6-3400m 14 60.87%
i3-2310m 5 21.74%
Other... 4 17.39%
Voters: 23. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old July 23, 2011, 09:20 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,598

My System Specs

Default A6-3400m vs i3 2310m

Need some help on deciding which way to go...i3 or A6. I know either will be more than powerful enough for its main purpose of web surfing, HD videos, etc. Problem is I am going to be running whichever I get on integrated graphics and mainly gaming with Starcraft II (possibly some others, but SCII is primary) on 15.6" at 1366x768. I know the A6 has a faster GPU and i3 has a faster CPU, but SCII is heavily CPU dependent. I have not found any reviews that put these 2 processors head to head in SCII. Obviously the higher I can run the graphics the better, but I am mainly after smooth game play. I am not getting a dedicated graphics card unless I find a deal I cannot refuse.

What's your vote; A6 or i3?
__________________
Desktop: Antec Three Hundred, Gigabyte Z77-D3H, i5 3570K with Zalman Optima Cooler, Corsair Vengeance 2x4gb 1600mhz, MSI Cyclone GTX 460, Seasonic S12II 500W, WD Black 1TB, Intel 530 120GB
Away from home light Gamer: Acer Aspire 15.6", A8-3500m undervolt and OC to 2Ghz, 2x4gb Corsair Vengeance, Crucial M500 240gb
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old July 23, 2011, 09:27 AM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

since you mentioned graphics and gaming the apu for the win. forget the i3.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old July 23, 2011, 09:47 AM
jcmaz's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 2,453

My System Specs

Default

How bout the i5 2410m???
__________________
“Wise men speak because they have something to say; Fools because they have to say something.”

-Plato
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old July 23, 2011, 11:46 AM
chubaka's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Van
Posts: 306

My System Specs

Default

‪AMD Llano A6-3400M with Radeon 6520G for Starcraft 2‬‏ - YouTube

seems to do fine at low settings avg 60-70 and dipping to low 30's when there are more units on screen.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old July 23, 2011, 12:41 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,598

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jcmaz View Post
How bout the i5 2410m???
If I could find a good price on a 2410m I would definitely consider it. Graphics portion would be the same as 2310m though. Probably going to bump cost up (looking for a laptop in the $500 range).

Quote:
Originally Posted by chubaka View Post
seems to do fine at low settings avg 60-70 and dipping to low 30's when there are more units on screen.
A good video to somewhat push my point. While that shows the game running fine in a 1v1 game, its framerates drop substantially as units on the screen increase. I am thinking that drop is a lack of CPU power and that maybe an HD3000 (in i3 or i5) would have lower fps initially, but be able to better maintain it as more and more CPU power is required with hundreds of units (3v3 or 4v4 game).


Quote:
Originally Posted by _dangtx_ View Post
since you mentioned graphics and gaming the apu for the win. forget the i3.
That is exactly what I was thinking initially, but then I started wondering if maybe the i3 would hold up better as per what I mentioned above.
__________________
Desktop: Antec Three Hundred, Gigabyte Z77-D3H, i5 3570K with Zalman Optima Cooler, Corsair Vengeance 2x4gb 1600mhz, MSI Cyclone GTX 460, Seasonic S12II 500W, WD Black 1TB, Intel 530 120GB
Away from home light Gamer: Acer Aspire 15.6", A8-3500m undervolt and OC to 2Ghz, 2x4gb Corsair Vengeance, Crucial M500 240gb
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old July 23, 2011, 01:08 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

if you need the machine for cpu power then look for the i5,or i3. else? dont beat your right hand when it points towards the apu :)
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old July 24, 2011, 01:07 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,561
Default

why not get the a8-3850 instead?
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old July 24, 2011, 01:56 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,598

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LarkStarr View Post
why not get the a8-3850 instead?
$...there is always something better if you have the money to go for it.

From what I have seen so far a6 are priced $500-$650 and a8 >$650



A chart for a8 vs i5...as close as I have found to SCII a6 vs i3



a8 has better avg, but lower min. Wonder what the a6 cut down gpu will do for performance.
__________________
Desktop: Antec Three Hundred, Gigabyte Z77-D3H, i5 3570K with Zalman Optima Cooler, Corsair Vengeance 2x4gb 1600mhz, MSI Cyclone GTX 460, Seasonic S12II 500W, WD Black 1TB, Intel 530 120GB
Away from home light Gamer: Acer Aspire 15.6", A8-3500m undervolt and OC to 2Ghz, 2x4gb Corsair Vengeance, Crucial M500 240gb
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old July 24, 2011, 04:06 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,358

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bond007 View Post
a8 has better avg, but lower min. Wonder what the a6 cut down gpu will do for performance.

Bear in mind those are at high details. Its always possible to lower the details to get better FPS.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old August 18, 2011, 05:13 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Sherbrooke, Quebec, Canada
Posts: 21

My System Specs

Default

Also remember that the Llano's battery will outlast the SB's by 45 minutes when gaming. :D
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A6-3400m overclocking Fudd Rucker Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 3 July 10, 2011 10:58 AM