Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
View Poll Results: What's your pick; A6 or i3?
A6-3400m 14 60.87%
i3-2310m 5 21.74%
Other... 4 17.39%
Voters: 23. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old August 21, 2011, 01:45 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Peterborough, Ontario
Posts: 4

My System Specs

Default

I just picked up the Gateway NV57H i3-2310m from FS with the express purpose of testing it against the llano with sc2.

Watching a replay of huk that lasted 35ish minutes, once 2 max army attack onscreen, the i3 drops to around 18fps with all settings on low. I'll be grabbing the llano on Tuesday to complete the same test, and I'll give my results for that then hopefully.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old August 21, 2011, 03:01 PM
Bond007's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 3,081

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by risca View Post
I just picked up the Gateway NV57H i3-2310m from FS with the express purpose of testing it against the llano with sc2.

Watching a replay of huk that lasted 35ish minutes, once 2 max army attack onscreen, the i3 drops to around 18fps with all settings on low. I'll be grabbing the llano on Tuesday to complete the same test, and I'll give my results for that then hopefully.

look forward to seeing the result.
__________________
Desktop: Antec Three Hundred, Z77-D3H, 3570K undervolt @4.1ghz with Zalman Optima Cooler, Corsair Vengeance 2x4gb@1866mhz, HD 6950(unlocked shaders and OC'd), Bitfenix Fury 750w, WD Black 1TB, Intel 530 120GB
Away from home light Gamer: Acer Aspire 15.6", A8-3500m undervolt and OC to 2Ghz, 2x4gb Corsair Vengeance, Crucial M500 240gb
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old August 24, 2011, 11:16 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Peterborough, Ontario
Posts: 4

My System Specs

Default

Went to pick up the laptop on Tuesday and they were sold out. Got a raincheck and will likely be picking one up on Friday now. Details then.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old August 24, 2011, 01:43 PM
Bond007's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 3,081

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by risca View Post
Went to pick up the laptop on Tuesday and they were sold out. Got a raincheck and will likely be picking one up on Friday now. Details then.
still looking forward to it. Keep us updated.
__________________
Desktop: Antec Three Hundred, Z77-D3H, 3570K undervolt @4.1ghz with Zalman Optima Cooler, Corsair Vengeance 2x4gb@1866mhz, HD 6950(unlocked shaders and OC'd), Bitfenix Fury 750w, WD Black 1TB, Intel 530 120GB
Away from home light Gamer: Acer Aspire 15.6", A8-3500m undervolt and OC to 2Ghz, 2x4gb Corsair Vengeance, Crucial M500 240gb
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old August 26, 2011, 02:36 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Peterborough, Ontario
Posts: 4

My System Specs

Default

So, just ran the same replay on the A6-3400m. Average framerates were MUCH higher than the i3. It still dropped to mid/high teens when there were 2 max armies battling it out, i think mainly due to the fact that a ton of forcefields were thrown down in rapid succession. Either way, I will be sticking with the A6 as I've come to understand that it is easily overclocked to 1.8ghz from 1.4 with no issues. This should throw the a6 firmly in the better budget gaming computer over the i3. Remember though, all these settings are on low low low. Additionally, since this only cost me 429$, I'd say it's a steal!

Hope this review helped those with similar questions.
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old August 26, 2011, 09:56 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Peterborough, Ontario
Posts: 4

My System Specs

Default

After a little fiddling and searching, I found out how to overclock the llano a6 to 1.8ghz. By doing this, I was able to play on full medium settings of sc2 with very decent frame rates(minimum was nearly identical to that of the non-overclocked on low graphics)

Impressive to say the least!

The frames started at approx 60fps and dipped as low as 12(though only briefly at the start of a large max army battle) Majority of the time, it was at 25fps mid-late game. I can only imagine the frames would be much higher on the low setting, but I didn't test that yet. Anyway, it seems that AMD has this processor underclocked from where it should be set at default.
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old September 6, 2011, 11:16 AM
Varroa's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: National Capital Region, Canada
Posts: 746

My System Specs

Default

You may be able to help out your frame rates if you can upgrade the system memory to something faster. Those APUs are memory speed starved and since they use the same memory as the system you can increase your APU speed with faster system memory. Check to see what your laptop supports and if you can then replace the memory with something faster.

Testing Different Memory Speeds on AMD's A8-3850 Llano APU - Memory Performance on AMD's A-Series APU - Legit Reviews

http://www.guru3d.com/article/amd-br...50-apu-review/

AMD A8-3850 Llano Desktop Processor Review - Can AMD compete with Sandy Bridge? | Memory Speed and its Effect on Graphics Performance
__________________
GAMER: Win7 Pro x64, I7 3770K (stock) (CM 212+), Asus P8Z77-V Pro, Gigabyte 7970 OC Ghz Edition 3 GB, Corsair Vengeance LP 4 x 4GB DDR3 1600Mhz, Crucial M4 120 GB + 256GB, Crucial M500 480 GB SSD, 1TB WD Blk, BRD, HX750W, Auz X-Fi Prelude, & Fractal Design Arc MIDI R2

Lenovo Ideapad Y510p: i7-4700MQ 2.4GHz (undervolted by 80mV), 16GB DDR3L-1866MHz, Intel GMA 4600HD / SLI'ed Nvidia Geforce GT 755M 2GB GDDR5, 240 GB Crucial SSD, 128GB M.2 SSD, 15.6" HD+ Glossy LED
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A6-3400m overclocking Fudd Rucker Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 3 July 10, 2011 11:58 AM