Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old July 22, 2011, 06:53 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 47
Default Need some help

Hey guys, I have a problem where when I boot my computer there is no display signal and the whole computer becomes unresponsive. I am using a gigabyte GA-P55A-DS3L.

I have already tried two different video cards, both didnt work.
I have also tried reseating, and testing each single stick of RAM individually.

I am fairly certain the RAM is the issue since my keyboard will not even light up and when I disconnect the PCI-E power connector the computer does not make a sound.

I want to ask if you think it could be something else? Or something else I can try. I have no problem going tomorrow to get some RAM but I just want to be sure
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old July 22, 2011, 07:04 PM
ZZLEE's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: KANATA
Posts: 2,074

My System Specs

Default

Try other Slot fore Vidio Card ?
__________________
"EVGA hunted down the last dozen or so expats living in Karachi." SKY
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old July 22, 2011, 07:07 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

post the whole specs plz

could be anything,including the mobo.

put it together on your table,check again
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old July 22, 2011, 07:18 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 47
Default

Well here are my specs:

Sapphire ATI 6850
ATI 5670 (test card)
i5-750
Some old Mushkin DDR3 RAM
Antec Truepower Trio 650W
Gigabyte GA-P65-DS3L

I basically put the computer back together.
I tried both slots of the mobo with both cards. I believe the motherboard isn't even going to post.
The fans and everything start to spin up but still nothing is displaying.

Also I know the other card works since my brother is currently playing CSS with it
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old July 22, 2011, 08:11 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

does the cpu fan spin at full bore or it slows down after a few secs(good sign)?

do a bios reset just in case, reseat cpu too as a last resort.

unless you can swap everything? you can always have a doubt.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old July 22, 2011, 08:18 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 47
Default

Well I already reset the BIOS, and the CPU fans are plugged into my fan controller not the mobo.

I don't think it could be the CPU since I have been running it at stock voltages and have had it for barely a year.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old July 22, 2011, 08:52 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

if you swapped everything but the mobo and cpu,between those two the mobo will go first,usually.

if you swapped everything :)

and take out the fan controller,plug the cpu fan in its rightful header
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old July 22, 2011, 08:54 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 47
Default

Yeah I will try that tomorrow. I think I will still buy the RAM, my Mushkin RAM is the older DDR3 left over from a LGA775 build so it could be that.

Also if the fans dont spin down what does that mean?

I have seen RAM do similar things before so I would assume it was that before it was the mobo
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old July 22, 2011, 09:08 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

good. well if it worked before,maybe.

usually once you reset it,and it completes boot(even if you dont see video)

they spin down. never spin down? either it doesnt complete boot,or in some cases(more rare) its normal.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old July 22, 2011, 09:28 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 47
Default

Yeah I believe it is not even completing boot which I know bad RAM can cause.

Thanks for all your help I will post tomorrow on whether the new ram helped
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes