Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old July 18, 2011, 12:54 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 71

My System Specs

Default System 32?

When i turned my rig on today it said the following error message: Please instal the following hardware. System32...File is broken please replace it .... or something like that. WHAT DO I DO?! Please help.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old July 18, 2011, 01:20 AM
supaflyx3's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Chilliwack BC
Posts: 2,535

My System Specs

Default

boot your windows CD up and do a repair install.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old July 18, 2011, 01:24 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 71

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by supaflyx3 View Post
boot your windows CD up and do a repair install.
What CD may you be talking aboot?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old July 18, 2011, 04:07 AM
supaflyx3's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Chilliwack BC
Posts: 2,535

My System Specs

Default

The one you used to install windows with..
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old July 18, 2011, 09:22 AM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

or go to the repair console thingie and try a fixboot , fixmbr?
havent fiddled with those in a while :)
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old July 18, 2011, 09:29 AM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,473
Default

A broken System32 will not be fixed with a /fixmbr or /fixboot

You will need to go through a much bigger process or try booting with "Last Known Good Configuration" if you can or get into System Restore and go back to the last one.

Otherwise those errors usually result in a reinstall as its the registry which is broken.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old July 18, 2011, 05:59 PM
ipaine's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 2,035

My System Specs

Default

Considering this is windows 7 then what you should do is like someone said boot to your windows 7 disk. At this point let the start up repair try to automatically fix it for you. If it does not then your next choice would be to run a system restore from the disk as well. Hopefully that should do it.

You can find a decent how to and screenshots here:
Using System Restore - Windows 7/Vista
__________________
"Nothing sucks more than that moment during an argument when you realize you're wrong."


Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old July 18, 2011, 06:14 PM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,278

My System Specs

Default

If this is a windows xp OS then I would say that you possibly have a virus there are some free downloadable repair disks out there that repair a variety of OSs but the easiest is to do what has been suggested so far
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old July 20, 2011, 09:07 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 71

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ipaine View Post
Considering this is windows 7 then what you should do is like someone said boot to your windows 7 disk. At this point let the start up repair try to automatically fix it for you. If it does not then your next choice would be to run a system restore from the disk as well. Hopefully that should do it.

You can find a decent how to and screenshots here:
Using System Restore - Windows 7/Vista
Thanks so much i thought i lost her/
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old July 21, 2011, 07:21 AM
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Tillsonburg, Ontario
Posts: 908

My System Specs

Default

I'm not a big fan of system restores etc but in your case you perhaps need your data but always "ALWAYS!" make sure you have backup of critical data like pictures and documents.
__________________


Comp1 (Mine) : ASUS P9X79 LE, 3960X, 16GB Corsair Vengence 1333, PNY 770 4GB, OCZ Vertex3 240GB, OCZ Vertex3 480GB, 600GB VelociRaptor, Corsair 1000HX, Cool Master Cosmos 2

Comp2 (Wife's) : ASUS Sabertooth P67, i7 2700K, 8GB Corsair Vengeance 1866, 1TB HD, 2TB HD, EVGA 660, Corsair 1000HX, HAF 922

Comp3 (Kids) : ASUS P8P67 Pro, i7 2700K, 8GB 1866 GSkill, Gigabyte 770, Crucial M4 120GB, OCZ Vertex3 240GB,1TB WD Black, Antec 850W, Antec 120
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Not sure which system is better. slaweko New Builds 4 December 12, 2010 05:44 AM
Value of My System SneakySnake Off Topic 6 April 7, 2010 06:18 AM
New i7 System prozac26 New Builds 11 January 11, 2010 04:43 PM
system value misterd Off Topic 7 August 25, 2009 07:21 PM
Which system is better?? Barber New Builds 42 March 14, 2009 01:15 PM