Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old June 21, 2011, 10:09 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Montreal
Posts: 108
Default SLI on a crossfire motherboard

Hey guys, I have an asus p5q pro and it only supports crossfire.

I have a gtx460 and it's on sale at newegg for 120 after MIR, which is a decent deal imo.

If I want to keep my current mobo and run SLI, i remember there was a patch out there that can make it possible. Can anyone give me the name and possibly some feedback on it?

Will it work just as well as a SLI mobo, assuming I can get it up and running? Or will the be some driver problems, etc.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old June 21, 2011, 10:20 AM
Nexitus's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Richmond, BC
Posts: 105

My System Specs

Default

Cant link because I'm on an iPhone but, try to google sli patch. That seems to be the only work around that I have been redirected to.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old June 21, 2011, 12:01 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

if you have windows 7 the chances are very decent. one may perhaps look at this :

Sli For The Non Believer [Guide How To Eenable SLI On Non SLI Cert Mobo]

and then google as per above.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old June 21, 2011, 04:36 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Montreal
Posts: 108
Default

Thanks for the info. I think I'll bite and get a second 460 for SLI. Hopefully I wont regret it once BF3 comes out.. gaming at 2560x1440.

Any more feedback on SLI patch are welcome
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old June 21, 2011, 04:52 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

:)

always try it on a fresh winders installation + updates + drivers. havent tried it with the latest sp. it might be ok or not.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old June 21, 2011, 05:09 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Montreal
Posts: 108
Default

It looks like if it doesn't work I will be upgrading to a SLI ready sandy bridge system XD, that is, if i don't back out.. Any news on the kepler cards yet? -_-
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old June 21, 2011, 05:18 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

cool.

news? hmm..havent checked that section i ndays. probably nothing solid,as always
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old July 15, 2011, 06:26 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Montreal
Posts: 108
Default

Well I got the card, and it was mostly straightforward to get it to detect SLI.

However, SLIpatch 1.2 was not compatible with the newer NVIDIA drivers, as it would crash the nvidia control panel whenever I attempted to enable SLI. I made it work with older drivers, as others did in the confirmed setups of the SLIpatch website, 260.99.

It was mostly stable, but not all the time. Bad company 2 crashes if I alt-tab. And system froze a few times while I was gaming, I'm not sure if it was the SLIpatch or my SSD.

Anyways, although I got it to confirm SLI, the results were less than stellar. I have taken the second card out and it looks like it will be depreciating in the closet until I upgrade to a SLI board
Attached Images
 
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SLI/crossfire fittings lowfat Water Cooling 8 August 29, 2010 11:49 PM
[WTB] sli/crossfire fitting pack bc_tileguy Buy/Sell & Trade 4 March 31, 2010 07:57 AM
anyone ever heard of this simular to sli and crossfire? Shadowmeph Video Cards 2 February 25, 2009 05:51 PM
sli & crossfire triumph Power Supplies 2 July 26, 2008 11:09 PM
crossfire Vs SLI enzeo Video Cards 7 December 19, 2007 10:55 PM