Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #31 (permalink)  
Old June 7, 2011, 02:01 PM
Prolab's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 473

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sswilson View Post
Pulled the pin on this over the weekend, along with a $60 dual core am3 proc to run the GFX farm on the CH IV until such time as BD hits the street to replace the 1090t with. :)
Im actually close to selling my Crosshair IV and getting one of these bad boys.

First impression?
__________________

Gaming Rig:

-Swiffy MCP35x X2 & 240 Rad, (2) 480 EX XSPC Rad, Heatkiller rev. 3.0, i7 3930k @ 4.7 Ghz, 16 GB G.SKILL F3, Asus Rampage IV Extreme, XFX R9 290 w/ XPSC WB, Crucial M4 128GB & 240 GB Intel 530, (5) 3 TB Toshiba Drive, Corsair AX1200, Win 7 Ultimate 64-bit

HTPC Rig:

-AMD 1100T, Gigabyte UD5, 16 GB G.Skill RAM, Asus 650ti Boost, 500 GB WD Black, (5) 2 TB WD Green, (1) 3 TB Toshiba HD, (1) 2 TB Samsung F4, Fractal Design R3, Antec 650 watt PS, Win 7 Ultimate 64-bit
Reply With Quote
  #32 (permalink)  
Old June 7, 2011, 03:02 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,238

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Prolab View Post
Im actually close to selling my Crosshair IV and getting one of these bad boys.

First impression?
Don't know yet.... just picked up the package(s) from fedex this afternoon. Probably won't get a chance to really play with it until the weekend.
__________________
EVGA X58 3X SLI / i7 980X / 3X 4G Mushkin Blackline Frostbite / XFX Pro 1000W / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / WD 6401AALS / TT Lvl 10 GT
Swiftech MCP655 WC Pump / EK XT 240 Rad / 2X Scythe Ultra Kaze / EK Supreme HF / Primochill Myriad Dual Bay Res / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Gigabyte C1007UN-D / 2X4G Gskill PC3-10700 / Pico PSU / 2.5" 750G Toshiba HDD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 19" BenQ / 1X 17" HP
Reply With Quote
  #33 (permalink)  
Old June 8, 2011, 11:43 AM
Eldonko's Avatar
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 5,442
Default

JJ unboxing Sabertooth 990FX
YouTube - ‪Official ASUS Sabertooth 990FX Motherboard Unboxing - Episode 11‬‏
__________________
Donkeys kill more people annually than plane crashes or shark attacks.
Reply With Quote
  #34 (permalink)  
Old June 8, 2011, 12:24 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 15
Default

Will there be an EVO/PRO/any boards of the regular ASUS lineup for the 990FX? There's a 990X EVO atm, but it's not 990FX first of all and secondly it lacks severely as far as the rear panel connections are concerned.

Namely, I'd like to see two network interfaces as on the Intel SB EVO, Optical S/PDIF (I haven't seen that on the Gigabyte AM3+ boards either - is that a limitation of the audio controller they're using?), and maybe Bluetooth - the P67 EVO has it, and it's the same genaration, if not a bit older, as the upcoming and already existing AM3+ ASUS motherboards.

Other than that, nice stuff. Could anybody please explain an Intel guy why the Northbridge is lined up with the CPU VRM modules? Is that a limitation/design feature of the AM3+ platform?
Reply With Quote
  #35 (permalink)  
Old June 18, 2011, 08:35 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,238

My System Specs

Arrow

Quote:
Originally Posted by Prolab View Post
Im actually close to selling my Crosshair IV and getting one of these bad boys.

First impression?
Quote:
Originally Posted by sswilson View Post
Don't know yet.... just picked up the package(s) from fedex this afternoon. Probably won't get a chance to really play with it until the weekend.
Finally got a chance to throw this build together (will be posting pics of the final product this evening), and so far am pleased with everything but one glaring omission...........

As it stands (as of june 17'th) there are absolutely no legit vid card drivers which support SLI on this chipset!!!!!!!!! The drivers reviewers received (unknown to them, I'm assuming) were written/hacked by Nvidia to enable SLI, but aren't available for download. The only solution at the present time is to (google search is your friend) hack a set of quatro beta drivers in order to enable SLI.

IMO, this is unacceptable as the only real reason to upgrade to the 990FX chipset at the moment is for the SLI support. The board shouldn't have been released to retail channels until AMD and Board partners had a legit driver from Nvidia. (Would they ship a new vid card that isn't recognised by drivers?!?!?!?). Hopefully Nvidia resolves this issue quickly.

With that unpleasantness aside.... the board was easy to work with, has more than enough fan headers, and I'm impressed with the fact that it has actual board sensors for temp rather than just polling the hardware. The EUFI is going to take some getting used to, but just like moving to a new OS, I'm sure I'll be navigating through the menus like a pro in short order. The only thing that I wasn't all that happy with (and this could have been just me) was that finding the mem profile setting was nowhere near intuitive.

I'm currently working on my summer (no extra V) OC and will post more as I get to it.


SLI Support Still Not Enabled on AMD 900-Series Motherboards - Softpedia


edit #1:

Mem support / stability seems pretty decent (at least at stock bus speeds). My Gskill PI series 6-8-6-24 1600 didn't run all that well on the crosshair IV without loosening the timings a bit. Could be that it was the OC'd bus speeds messing them up (currently running just a multi OC), but I don't remember ever having them run at the proper speed stable for any length of time.
__________________
EVGA X58 3X SLI / i7 980X / 3X 4G Mushkin Blackline Frostbite / XFX Pro 1000W / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / WD 6401AALS / TT Lvl 10 GT
Swiftech MCP655 WC Pump / EK XT 240 Rad / 2X Scythe Ultra Kaze / EK Supreme HF / Primochill Myriad Dual Bay Res / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Gigabyte C1007UN-D / 2X4G Gskill PC3-10700 / Pico PSU / 2.5" 750G Toshiba HDD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 19" BenQ / 1X 17" HP

Last edited by sswilson; June 18, 2011 at 04:46 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #36 (permalink)  
Old June 20, 2011, 12:26 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

NVIDIA Driver Downloads - Advanced Search

NVIDIA GeForce 275.50 BETA

give that a try?
Reply With Quote
  #37 (permalink)  
Old June 20, 2011, 02:34 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,238

My System Specs

Default

Yeah, that's the one... t'was released today. (maybe just to shut me up?!?!?!? ;) ).
__________________
EVGA X58 3X SLI / i7 980X / 3X 4G Mushkin Blackline Frostbite / XFX Pro 1000W / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / WD 6401AALS / TT Lvl 10 GT
Swiftech MCP655 WC Pump / EK XT 240 Rad / 2X Scythe Ultra Kaze / EK Supreme HF / Primochill Myriad Dual Bay Res / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Gigabyte C1007UN-D / 2X4G Gskill PC3-10700 / Pico PSU / 2.5" 750G Toshiba HDD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 19" BenQ / 1X 17" HP
Reply With Quote
  #38 (permalink)  
Old June 20, 2011, 02:48 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sswilson View Post
Yeah, that's the one... t'was released today. (maybe just to shut me up?!?!?!? ;) ).

just do it old man :p
Reply With Quote
  #39 (permalink)  
Old June 20, 2011, 04:46 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,238

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by _dangtx_ View Post
just do it old man :p
Heh... doesn't work like that. It's going to have to wait until the weekend now. That said.... maybe I don't particularly need them right away any more....... ;) ).
__________________
EVGA X58 3X SLI / i7 980X / 3X 4G Mushkin Blackline Frostbite / XFX Pro 1000W / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / WD 6401AALS / TT Lvl 10 GT
Swiftech MCP655 WC Pump / EK XT 240 Rad / 2X Scythe Ultra Kaze / EK Supreme HF / Primochill Myriad Dual Bay Res / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Gigabyte C1007UN-D / 2X4G Gskill PC3-10700 / Pico PSU / 2.5" 750G Toshiba HDD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 19" BenQ / 1X 17" HP
Reply With Quote
  #40 (permalink)  
Old June 28, 2011, 09:54 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 3
Default

I'm looking to get the ASUS Sabertooth am3+. I will buying a computer off a friend for $80 that is coming with a AMD Phenom II X2 555, Thermaltake 750 Toughpower psu and some MSI motherboard but that will be replaced with the Sabertooth. I was wondering if the sabertooth will let me unlock the other 2 cores? as I see it im getting a good deal cuz good 750 psu would cost me around $130 im getting a Phenom II X2 and a MSI mb for free. all I have to buy untill bulldozer is release is the Sabertooth MB and some new ram.
Help me out if you can.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GIGABYTE 870A-UD3 AM3 Motherboard Review Comment Thread SKYMTL CPU's and Motherboards 34 February 25, 2011 11:48 AM
Gigabyte 890FXA-UD7 AM3 Motherboard Review Comment Thread SKYMTL CPU's and Motherboards 5 October 15, 2010 11:54 AM
Asus AM3 EVO Series Motherboards Review Comment Thread SKYMTL CPU's and Motherboards 10 December 11, 2009 02:55 PM
MSI 790FX-GD70 AM3 Motherboard Review Comment Thread SKYMTL CPU's and Motherboards 16 July 29, 2009 11:30 AM