Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old May 10, 2011, 09:41 PM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,648
Default Intel Z68 Review - The Sandy Bridge Platform Expands; Comment Thread

With Intel's Z68 platform finally here, there is a long list of new features like Intel's Smart Response Technology and Lucid's Virtu that need to be put under the microscope. In this article we do just that in order to gauge whether the this new chipset is really worth more to the end user than P67.... [ Read full article ]
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old May 11, 2011, 12:29 AM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,947

My System Specs

Default

I had no idea the Intel 310 was SLC. A 20GB SLC SSD for $110 is a pretty damn good deal.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old May 11, 2011, 03:19 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 399

My System Specs

Default

How would a SSD alone as the primary drive compare with HDD + SSD Cache @ Maximum?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old May 11, 2011, 04:49 AM
Supergrover's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Okanagan Falls, British Columbia
Posts: 4,246

My System Specs

Default

RST caching and Virtu both look promising though from the looks of things Virtu isnt quite there yet, how would you even implement Virtu with a triple display setup?
__________________
R.I.P.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
My knuckles are bleeding from fishing through walls a new CAT6 network cable... I found fresh, untapped electrical outlets...
"It's all in the Reflexes"-Jack Burton
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old May 11, 2011, 05:46 AM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,648
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Supergrover View Post
RST caching and Virtu both look promising though from the looks of things Virtu isnt quite there yet, how would you even implement Virtu with a triple display setup?
I haven't tried on multi monitor setups but I will when I get the system set up again. IMO, it can be done in dGPU mode since that virtualizes the IGP drivers while using the main discrete card's drivers. Unfortunately, you won't get any benefits other than being able to use the onboard graphics for transcoding.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old May 11, 2011, 06:14 AM
Trial Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Ontario
Posts: 1

My System Specs

Default

It think using a small SSD for caching might be good for system builders to boost perfomance without increasing the prices too much. For enthusiasts though, it would probably make more sense to simply buy a larger SSD and install your OS and your favourite software/games. Could you dedicate a portion of an SSD for caching and use the rest for OS and programs?

Last edited by Nuttin_Much; May 11, 2011 at 06:24 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old May 11, 2011, 06:36 AM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,648
Default

Nope. Intel requires two separate physical drives rather than a partition of a single drive. In addition, buying a large enough SSD for your games and other files IN ADDITION to the 20GB or more of cache space and over provisioning will cost an absolute fortune.

Plus, you'll never have to worry about things like stutter and premature wear in this case since according to Intel, information is only written / read from the SSD when an application is first clicked.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old May 11, 2011, 06:49 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 1,008

My System Specs

Default

Waiting for some Z68 miniITX boards now...
__________________
heatware
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old May 11, 2011, 06:49 AM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

wait,hold on a sec,does the 20 giger come with the board or....


*got lost :p
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old May 11, 2011, 06:58 AM
Supergrover's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Okanagan Falls, British Columbia
Posts: 4,246

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by _dangtx_ View Post
wait,hold on a sec,does the 20 giger come with the board or....


*got lost :p
No I dont believe so Dan.
__________________
R.I.P.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
My knuckles are bleeding from fishing through walls a new CAT6 network cable... I found fresh, untapped electrical outlets...
"It's all in the Reflexes"-Jack Burton
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Intel Sandy Bridge Core i5-2500K & Core i7-2600K Processors Review Comment Thread SKYMTL CPU's and Motherboards 52 November 6, 2011 08:21 AM
Gigabyte P67A-UD7-B3 Sandy Bridge Motherboard Review Comment Thread SKYMTL CPU's and Motherboards 21 April 20, 2011 03:33 PM
ASUS P8P67 PRO Sandy Bridge Motherboard Review Comment Thread SKYMTL CPU's and Motherboards 28 March 25, 2011 03:21 PM