Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old May 7, 2011, 03:31 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Montreal
Posts: 28
Default 1156 Evga p55 FTW Socket Burn (Foxconn Socket)




Happened just today, was using an i5-750, everything was stock settings (deafult BIOS settings, had used clear CMOS). This was a second hand board, purchased roughly a year ago?

Thanks Foxconn.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old May 7, 2011, 03:35 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

so it killed the cpu too?

hope warranty goes tru? :)
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old May 7, 2011, 03:42 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Montreal
Posts: 28
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by _dangtx_ View Post
so it killed the cpu too?

hope warranty goes tru? :)
Nope, I'm pretty much screwed. From what I can tell the seller never registered the motherboard with evga because when I call they say it's not listed, so he just flat out lied it seems. I'm waiting on an e-mail response from him. The chip was from an OEM Dell so that's no good either.

However, the chip is alive although not well. CPU-Z shows it running at just under 1200 Mhz with a bus speed of 133.0 Mhz and a 9x multiplier.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old May 7, 2011, 03:49 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: laval Qc
Posts: 1,072
Default

clean the cpu pads make sure none are touching

you outa luck even if you registered it
evga wont cover socket burn

glad i got a lotess sofket
__________________
maximus IV extreme @ 5.1 1.41v

evga e760 +920 4.8 water5.0+ on phase linx stable
gtx285 tri-sli
dfi ut-p35 lt
e8600@4.6 1.38v
too much ram
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old May 7, 2011, 03:59 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

damn. thats not good.

remind me plz how you tell if you got one socket or the other? before you buy the board(looking up a review sample may snot mean much)
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old May 7, 2011, 04:03 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Montreal
Posts: 28
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by _dangtx_ View Post
damn. thats not good.

remind me plz how you tell if you got one socket or the other? before you buy the board(looking up a review sample may snot mean much)
Why wouldn't they RMA it, that's pure bullshit. It's 100% a manufacturer error, I didn't even try to overclock.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old May 7, 2011, 04:24 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

post in there forums and see what gives, maybe they'll take pity on there pubic image? :)
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old May 7, 2011, 05:24 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,220

My System Specs

Default

Tell them your main SMP folder is down for the CC because of it..... ;)
__________________
EVGA X58 3X SLI / i7 980X / 3X 4G Mushkin Blackline Frostbite / XFX Pro 1000W / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / WD 6401AALS / TT Lvl 10 GT
Swiftech MCP655 WC Pump / EK XT 240 Rad / 2X Scythe Ultra Kaze / EK Supreme HF / Primochill Myriad Dual Bay Res / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Gigabyte C1007UN-D / 2X4G Gskill PC3-10700 / Pico PSU / 2.5" 750G Toshiba HDD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 19" BenQ / 1X 17" HP
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old May 7, 2011, 09:49 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 2,022
Default

That's what happens buying used sometimes. I have a buddy that gets burned (oops sorry) alot yet he keeps getting used hardware.
__________________
"What is the colour when black is burnt ?" - Neil Young
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old May 8, 2011, 02:53 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: laval Qc
Posts: 1,072
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Myst88 View Post
Why wouldn't they RMA it, that's pure bullshit. It's 100% a manufacturer error, I didn't even try to overclock.

if they are nice they will charge $ to change the socket
guy i knew same thing happened with his classy they charged him 100$
__________________
maximus IV extreme @ 5.1 1.41v

evga e760 +920 4.8 water5.0+ on phase linx stable
gtx285 tri-sli
dfi ut-p35 lt
e8600@4.6 1.38v
too much ram
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[FS] 1156 combo, i7 860 & P55 FTW Eldonko Buy/Sell & Trade 7 April 7, 2011 08:14 PM
Possible 1155 socket burn? [TechReaction] Delavan Rumor Mill 7 January 17, 2011 04:07 PM
Socket 1156 build, good? t_mo_t New Builds 9 March 17, 2010 07:56 AM
EVGA P55 FTW WITH FOXCONN muffler CPU's and Motherboards 15 December 23, 2009 02:50 PM
Cooler for Socket 1156 I5... Ryoohki Air Cooling 3 October 3, 2009 01:40 AM