Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old January 26, 2008, 02:45 PM
MaDDN3ss's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 33
Default HTPC Motherboard

I am just finishing up a budget HTPC and was curious what you people thought of these two motherboards.

eVGA 112-CK-NF77-A1
eVGA nForce 630i / e-Geforce 7150 w/ DDR2 800, 7.1 Audio, Gigabit Lan, PCI-E x16, HDMI, DVI-HDCP

XFX MG-630i-7109

XFX nForce 630i / Geforce 7100 w/ DDR2 800, 7.1 Audio, Gigabit Lan, PCI-E x16, HDMI, DVI-HDCP


They are both pretty much the same but have a few differences. For example:

eVGA vs XFX

Lifetime Warranty 2 Year Warranty
No e-SATA e-SATA
GeForce 7150 GeForce 7100
$94.95 - $15.00 MIR $89.95

Just wanted to know your opinions to help me decide which one to buy.


Thanks
__________________
"Two things are infinite: the universe and human stupidity; and I'm not sure about the universe." - Albert Einstein
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old January 26, 2008, 04:03 PM
b1lk1's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Lindsay, Ontario
Posts: 2,501

My System Specs

Default

After being one of the many unhappy EVGA 590SLI owners, I would not recommend them. They may actually give that board some support since it is S775, but they are not nearly all they are cracked up to be. XFX for the win.
__________________
MY HEATWARE
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old January 26, 2008, 04:14 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 4
Default

If you haven't already bought the cpu I'd suggest going AMD and pick up a Gigabyte GA-MA69GM-S2H mATX motherboard.

It's fully loaded and has everything you could think of. Paired up with a X2 5000+ Black Edition or just a normal one (2.6GHz) or a newer Phenom quad core would be great for an HTPC.

I just finished a build this week with a X2 5000+ and this Gigabyte board and I'm quite pleased. It can handle HD media with the onboard X1250 GPU since it uses the AVIVO decoding. It's the 690 chipset on this board.

Check it out, I think you'll like it. Overclocking is really, very simple on this board as well.

Cheers,
Mike
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old January 26, 2008, 05:01 PM
MaDDN3ss's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 33
Default

I actually have everything but the motherboard.

Just using a cheap case until I can afford a better one but here is the set up thus far...

Ultra MicroFly mATX case
Ultra 600W PSU
E6300
2GB PC2-5400 Corsair
300 GB Seagate SATA 8MB w/ NCQ
Hauppage WinTV PVR150
Creative Audigy 4

Plans are to add a NAS box and a couple 750GB or 1 TB SATA II drives after.

Just wanted a mobo that had HDMI out. I like the ASUS P5E-VM HDMI but I really didn't want to spend $150 on the motherboard, hence my options listed above.
__________________
"Two things are infinite: the universe and human stupidity; and I'm not sure about the universe." - Albert Einstein
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old January 28, 2008, 04:40 PM
darksideleader's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 124
Default

what i seriously don't get is why they only put 2 ram slots on the motherboard, its not like an extra 2 won't fit or anything...
__________________
My new baby
Intel Core i7-3820 - Asus Rampage IV Gene x79 - Corsair H60 - Kingston HyperX 4x4GB DDR3-1600
Kingston SSDNOW V+200 120GB - Western Digital Caviar Black 1.5TB
HIS Radeon HD 7970 - ASUS VW266 25.5" 1920x1200 LCD
Silverstone TJ08B-E -
Corsair TX750V2
Windows 7 Home Premium x64

Ducky Keyboard DK9008
Logitech G500
Razor Vespula

Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old January 28, 2008, 04:41 PM
bobletman's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 50
Default

Go with the XFX mobo for sure, Just make sure that if your getting OCZ ram that it will have the proper voltages cause sometimes the two can be a bit fidgitey with eachother.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old January 28, 2008, 05:27 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,894

My System Specs

Default

I'd go for the eVGA myself as it has the slightly better graphics and is cheaper (after rebates). Still it's only $5 more.

I'm fairly sure both boards are of the same quality as they both just look like reference designs.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Show me your HTPC Croman HTPC Systems & Software 38 September 23, 2008 09:31 AM
HD-HTPC Idea. BALISTX HTPC Systems & Software 10 March 13, 2008 05:31 AM
starting HTPC david17 HTPC Systems & Software 13 January 4, 2008 03:13 PM
Budget HTPC BALISTX HTPC Systems & Software 4 May 28, 2007 08:16 AM
Looking to build a HTPC? Babrbarossa Press Releases & Tech News 0 February 16, 2007 10:51 AM