Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old January 24, 2008, 08:26 PM
ebdoradz's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Rouyn-Noranda, QC
Posts: 754
Default A7N8X driver/bios issue

Hi, i just swap out my server box on a Asus A7N8X (nf2) to replace my A7V8X-X (kt400) to benifite from dual channe and nf2 chipset

i have reisntall the whole cabang but im a bit confuse with the driver

asus website says the lastest version for win xp is 1.16 but i have the 5.10 package on my dfi nf2. asus website also say that nvidia driver are not compatible with the a7n8x that you need to use the asus driver. (!??! confuse nvidia chipset but dont use nvidia driver)

also the A7V8X-X mobo recognize my Athlon XP-M like it was suppose to but the A7N8X is saying unknow AMD cpu !?!?!??! lastest bios is already use confusing

i have install the driver from asus website and the so8und is working but they have also in another file a driver and application for windows XP

what should i install and who i should believe??? asus nvidia or my grand-pa??

anyone already had or still have one of those that could give me a hint?
__________________
Gigabyte GA-MA790XT-UD4P / AMD Phenom II x3 720BE @ x4/ Crucial Ballistic DDR3 / Sapphire 4830 512mb / Corsair 620W PSU / 2*80GB Seagate

DFI LP nF4 Ultra-D / AMD Opteron 165 @ 2.7Ghz/ 2*1GB OCZ Gold GX XTC / Sapphire X1950XT / Fortron 450W PSU / 2*Maxtor 80Gb


Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old January 24, 2008, 08:31 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,959

My System Specs

Default

Pretty sure I just used the package from NVIDIA's site when I used to have that board.

As for your CPU not being recognized, if your using the latest BIOS then I don't know what to say.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old January 24, 2008, 08:36 PM
ebdoradz's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Rouyn-Noranda, QC
Posts: 754
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jdrom17 View Post
Pretty sure I just used the package from NVIDIA's site when I used to have that board.

As for your CPU not being recognized, if your using the latest BIOS then I don't know what to say.
since i should use it then nvidia audio panel will be install and i shoud use that right?
__________________
Gigabyte GA-MA790XT-UD4P / AMD Phenom II x3 720BE @ x4/ Crucial Ballistic DDR3 / Sapphire 4830 512mb / Corsair 620W PSU / 2*80GB Seagate

DFI LP nF4 Ultra-D / AMD Opteron 165 @ 2.7Ghz/ 2*1GB OCZ Gold GX XTC / Sapphire X1950XT / Fortron 450W PSU / 2*Maxtor 80Gb


Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old January 24, 2008, 08:39 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 3
Default

I have the same board the A7N8X and its finicky, try resetting the bios. Thats worked for me a few times when i was screwing around with the settings and would report the cpu as unknown.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old January 24, 2008, 08:53 PM
ebdoradz's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Rouyn-Noranda, QC
Posts: 754
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wamphyri View Post
I have the same board the A7N8X and its finicky, try resetting the bios. Thats worked for me a few times when i was screwing around with the settings and would report the cpu as unknown.
will give a try,

i could also ask someone like merlin, tmod or NEO if they have not already mod a bios for that mobo, becuase its not the most feature rich bios of the nf2 history, compare to my dfi ....
__________________
Gigabyte GA-MA790XT-UD4P / AMD Phenom II x3 720BE @ x4/ Crucial Ballistic DDR3 / Sapphire 4830 512mb / Corsair 620W PSU / 2*80GB Seagate

DFI LP nF4 Ultra-D / AMD Opteron 165 @ 2.7Ghz/ 2*1GB OCZ Gold GX XTC / Sapphire X1950XT / Fortron 450W PSU / 2*Maxtor 80Gb


Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old January 24, 2008, 08:55 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 3
Default

prolly why its under my desk running linux collecting dust lol
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old January 24, 2008, 09:02 PM
ebdoradz's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Rouyn-Noranda, QC
Posts: 754
Default

so far everything is working allright with the nvidia driver..... the nvidia audio pannel is way much better then what asus provide

the unknow thign isnt a bad thing ..... its just annoying ..... i might try to fix it ....

at least the nf2 has more option then the KT-400 lol that bitch wouldn't even set the good timing, it was @ 2-2-2-5 in bios and it pop me out 2-3-4-9 in windows what ever the timing i put it was always poping me that

the nf2 can do dual channel in 2-2-2-5 LOL yay
__________________
Gigabyte GA-MA790XT-UD4P / AMD Phenom II x3 720BE @ x4/ Crucial Ballistic DDR3 / Sapphire 4830 512mb / Corsair 620W PSU / 2*80GB Seagate

DFI LP nF4 Ultra-D / AMD Opteron 165 @ 2.7Ghz/ 2*1GB OCZ Gold GX XTC / Sapphire X1950XT / Fortron 450W PSU / 2*Maxtor 80Gb


Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old January 26, 2008, 08:40 AM
Il Duce's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: T.O
Posts: 512
Default

i have the x-x version of that board. Every once in a while it doesn't post after a reformat. Scares the crap out of me even if i use my spare ide cables.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old January 26, 2008, 11:05 AM
ebdoradz's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Rouyn-Noranda, QC
Posts: 754
Default

everything works fine,. but the CPU is still an unknow AMD cpu .....
__________________
Gigabyte GA-MA790XT-UD4P / AMD Phenom II x3 720BE @ x4/ Crucial Ballistic DDR3 / Sapphire 4830 512mb / Corsair 620W PSU / 2*80GB Seagate

DFI LP nF4 Ultra-D / AMD Opteron 165 @ 2.7Ghz/ 2*1GB OCZ Gold GX XTC / Sapphire X1950XT / Fortron 450W PSU / 2*Maxtor 80Gb


Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Overclocking Issue? Corpus Masochist Troubleshooting 21 April 14, 2008 05:57 AM
PriceMatch 20% Issue! e_1337 Off Topic 1 March 16, 2008 04:58 PM
Heat Issue Lyxtwing Video Cards 8 March 14, 2008 09:35 AM
nVIDEA Geforce 6200 - Driver issue??? mattydies Video Cards 20 February 29, 2008 12:07 PM
Virtual Bios / Bios Copies Sting3r11 Off Topic 1 March 17, 2007 08:33 AM