Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old April 12, 2011, 10:53 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 10
Default

looking at the chipset cooling was a great idea, thanks for that
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old April 13, 2011, 10:35 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Kelowna, BC
Posts: 159

My System Specs

Default

Ya the only quibble I have with the board right now is that I seem to have a "cold boot bug".

If I shut my machine off, when I come home and turn it on it cycles through on/off cycles about 7-10 times before finally booting. These cycles don't even post at all, no bios read out no nothing. It doesn't seem to affect the OC or anything like that, so I've just determined it to be a cold boot thing. Seeings how that room sits around 5c on average when the computers are off.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old April 13, 2011, 01:59 PM
Eldonko's Avatar
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 5,445
Default

You have a B3 board? Have you flashed the latest BIOS? That is similar to what I was getting with B2 but the B3 has been fine.
__________________
Donkeys kill more people annually than plane crashes or shark attacks.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old April 13, 2011, 03:33 PM
Nodscene's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 982
Default

I had that problem on an old Gigabyte board of mine (in sig I believe). The latest bios version didn't fix a thing. It got so bad that I even had to disconnect my drives so it would actually post. I think my board was just dying a slow death. I am very wary of ever buying a board from them again as I see the issue is still around. Thankfully I had another board on hand and it's been smooth sailing since.
__________________

Create something idiot proof and they will make a better idiot.
_____________________________________

Intel Q6600 - Gigabyte EP35-DS4 - OCZ Reaper 4gig PC2-6400 - XFX 8800GT 512Mb Alpha Dog - AuzenTech X-Fi Prelude - Alesis M1Active MK2 - Corsair HX-620 - Silverstone Temjin TJ05B-X - Scythe Katana 2 - WD Raptor 150Gb - Seagate 7200.11 750Gb x2 - Samsung SH-S203N
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old April 13, 2011, 04:04 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Fort St. John, BC
Posts: 1,238

My System Specs

Default

1) I'd like to see a reference for the SLI performance... how does the NF200 effect performance compared to a normal board without the NF200 chip? You are testing 460s, which *usually perform within a 2% performance range between 8x and 16x.
2) It would be nice if you mention the # USB headers... looks like 2x USB 2.0 and 2x USB 3.0 (one is cut off)?

Really though, those are pretty minor complaints. Super impressed with some of the amazing hardware you have and all the work you put into this review.

Great job!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old April 14, 2011, 02:42 PM
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 108

My System Specs

Default

The NF200 only seems to be worth it if you need to run 3 vid cards.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old April 14, 2011, 02:50 PM
Eldonko's Avatar
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 5,445
Default

This is true, depending on the GPU and resolution. I will put SLI on UD7 head to head against a non NF200 P67 board in my next review. Should be interesting to see the differences at different resolutions. Ive heard that NF200 does more harm than good at lower resolutions and 2 cards but we will see soon enough.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ogdin View Post
The NF200 only seems to be worth it if you need to run 3 vid cards.
__________________
Donkeys kill more people annually than plane crashes or shark attacks.
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old April 14, 2011, 04:22 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

that is an interesting statement mr donko. i guess comparing apples vs apples+nf200 is the way to go.

any chance you could sli both cards on an 8 or 9 series amd chipset with the mod to show ppl the difference from one
cpu platform to the other? high resolutions/eye candy only pretty plz!
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old April 15, 2011, 12:37 PM
Eldonko's Avatar
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 5,445
Default

Have no AMD m8 so I cant do that for the time being.
__________________
Donkeys kill more people annually than plane crashes or shark attacks.
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old April 15, 2011, 07:34 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: laval Qc
Posts: 1,072
Default

carefull p67-ud7 b2 owners if you can't rma through retailer
gigabyte will not rma the board for canadians
__________________
maximus IV extreme @ 5.1 1.41v

evga e760 +920 4.8 water5.0+ on phase linx stable
gtx285 tri-sli
dfi ut-p35 lt
e8600@4.6 1.38v
too much ram
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MSI P67A-GD65 Sandy Bridge Motherboard Preview Comment Thread SKYMTL CPU's and Motherboards 13 June 25, 2011 11:04 AM
Gigabyte P67A-UD7 & P67A-UD4 Sandy Bridge Motherboards Preview Comment Thread SKYMTL CPU's and Motherboards 18 December 29, 2010 08:17 PM
Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD7 Motherboard Review Comment Thread MAC CPU's and Motherboards 16 January 27, 2010 08:54 PM