Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old March 30, 2011, 04:50 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 64

My System Specs

Default Dell mobo

ive got a dell inspiron 530 and im looking to upgrade the gpu because my 8300 fried a while back. When i took the 8300 out I think i might have done a little bit of damage to the clip at the back of the pci-e lane. Is it still safe to put a new card into it? Also wondering if anyone else has ever upgraded a dell
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old March 30, 2011, 04:57 PM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,040

My System Specs

Default

If it's just the clip that's broken it should be fine. If there's any damage to the slot area where you insert the card, I wouldn't.

As for your upgrade question, make sure the card you are getting doesn't draw any more power than your old one. Dells usually have "just enough power" for their standard configurations and no more, in my experience.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old March 30, 2011, 05:00 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 64

My System Specs

Default

from the looks of the case they left just enough room for the power supply too, is there still a possibility to upgrade it?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old March 30, 2011, 07:16 PM
Soultribunal's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 8,048

My System Specs

Default

Sometimes you can, sometimes you can't. Depends on the particular Dell.

Shoot us some pictures if you can on the PSU front, and take a look at the connectors on the supply as well to ensure there are no 'special' connectors.

ST
__________________




"We know not why he calls for us, only that when he does we must answer" - DMP 2009

"Dear Iceberg, I am sorry to hear about global warming. Karma is a bitch. Signed - Titanic"

I would rather believe and find god doesn't exist than to not believe and find that he does.

www.realhardwarereviews.com
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old March 30, 2011, 10:00 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 64

My System Specs

Default

if i get a new card and power supply and the gpu doesnt work on the motherboard then which motherboard would you recommend for cheap and would it work to replace a dell mobo with a 3rd party one, im assuming that i could probably get a better one for $30-40
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old March 31, 2011, 04:43 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Scarborough
Posts: 1,437

My System Specs

Default

I don't think you'll be able to buy a new socket 775 board for $30-$40 new. You'll probably have to buy second hand. This is the cheapest I could find at ncix.
NCIX.com - Buy MSI G31TM-P21 LGA775 G31 mATX DDR2 PCI-E16 2XPCI Video SATA LAN Sound Motherboard - MSI/MicroStar - G31TM-P21 - in Canada
__________________


EBAY(http://myworld.ebay.ca/scott0639)
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dell 2209WA $209 @ Dell MrDiaz Display Units 15 March 21, 2010 01:16 AM
FS-s939 X2-3800, OCZ ram, Ac Freezer 64 Pro, ASRock mobo, DFI mobo, Asus mobo..more stoanee Buy/Sell & Trade 14 June 7, 2008 06:24 PM
FS: Retail e6600 ---- DFI 975X Mobo ----- Logitech X-530 ------ LF: Phenom Mobo thatguy Buy/Sell & Trade 15 May 1, 2008 09:38 PM
Can shorting a mobo, on the case, ruin that said mobo? mattlef CPU's and Motherboards 25 April 23, 2008 03:00 PM