Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old March 24, 2011, 09:16 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 65
Default HD 6870 compatible Motherboard?

I would like the few motherboards which are compatible with ATi HD 6870.

Motherboard should have HDMI and crossfire support as well.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old March 24, 2011, 09:36 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 399

My System Specs

Default

There is no such thing as compatibility of GC based on motherboards. AMD graphic cards(GC) will work on any Intel or AMD motherboards.

The exception however is that you can't SLi on a AMD chipset motherboard without modification and it is only possible to SLi on a now dead nForce chipset for AMD motherboards.

HDMI support is more dependent on the GC itself unless the motherboard has an IGP then it would make perfect sense for HDMI support for the motherboard.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old March 24, 2011, 10:46 AM
Soultribunal's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 8,068

My System Specs

Default

So long as the MB (any MB) has a PCI-e Slot that card will work.

Now if you are opting for Crossfire I would like a little more information from you if possible.

What CPU will you be using (so I know if I should go with a AMD or Intel motherboard choice) and what type of PSU are you running so I know if you'll have the juice to power a pair.

ST
__________________




"We know not why he calls for us, only that when he does we must answer" - DMP 2009

"Dear Iceberg, I am sorry to hear about global warming. Karma is a bitch. Signed - Titanic"

I would rather believe and find god doesn't exist than to not believe and find that he does.

www.realhardwarereviews.com
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old March 24, 2011, 10:17 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 65
Default

Well im going to a buy a new pc , so i was going for good investment..so that i don't have to change the motherboard if i wanted to go for crossfire in future, or have hdmi support.
CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 955 BE
Graphics Card: XFX Ati HD 6870
Motherboard : Need to find out(preferable hdmi + crossfire support)
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old March 24, 2011, 11:56 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 399

My System Specs

Default

ASUSTeK Computer Inc. - Motherboards - ASUS M4A89GTD PRO

GIGABYTE - Motherboard - Socket AM3 - GA-890GPA-UD3H (rev. 2.1)

Either of these 2 boards will work just fine for a Crossfire of HD6870 and you'll need a beefy PSU in the range of 600-650W to support 2 cards. I advised that you get a 650W PSU instead of a 500W PSU so that you could make your rig Crossfire ready.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old March 25, 2011, 11:02 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 65
Default

GIGABYTE - Motherboard - Socket AM3 - GA-890GPA-UD3H (rev. 2.1)

- theres one x16 slot n another is a x8 slot would that cause low performance when rigged for crossfire?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old March 25, 2011, 11:17 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 65
Default

Thanks dma0991 i think i will go for ASUSTeK Computer Inc. - Motherboards - ASUS M4A89GTD PRO :D
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old March 25, 2011, 11:17 AM
Soultribunal's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 8,068

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gamekraze View Post
GIGABYTE - Motherboard - Socket AM3 - GA-890GPA-UD3H (rev. 2.1)

- theres one x16 slot n another is a x8 slot would that cause low performance when rigged for crossfire?

You'll be fine.

Losing maybe 1% at most in that configuration.

ST
__________________




"We know not why he calls for us, only that when he does we must answer" - DMP 2009

"Dear Iceberg, I am sorry to hear about global warming. Karma is a bitch. Signed - Titanic"

I would rather believe and find god doesn't exist than to not believe and find that he does.

www.realhardwarereviews.com
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old March 25, 2011, 11:20 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 399

My System Specs

Default

The PCIE_1 will run at 16x if it is in single GC mode. But when you Crossfire it where PCIE_1 and PCIE_2 is occupied then it will run at 8x8x. It won't run at 16x8x as it will drop to 8x8x at Crossfire.

Of course there are boards that run at the ideal 16x16x but they cost a lot more than this and performance drop from a 16x16x to a 8x8x is not that big and most of the time is not worth the money to get a 16x16x motherboard. Under most circumstances a board that can support Crossfire at 8x8x is sufficient.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Tags
crossfire , hd 6870 , hd6870 , hdmi , motherboard

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sandy Bridge motherboard compatible with windows xp? beginnerbuild CPU's and Motherboards 3 February 27, 2011 09:57 PM
[FS] Asus 6870 and Saphire 6870 Graphic Cards Arinoth Buy/Sell & Trade 1 January 26, 2011 06:41 PM
Ram compatible with this motherboard? Modus RAM 7 August 26, 2010 07:08 PM
Crossfire compatible? lastcried Video Cards 5 May 27, 2010 08:59 PM
Will my mobo be compatible? Shiverwarp RAM 1 July 19, 2007 05:14 AM