Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old January 21, 2008, 12:38 PM
Eldonko's Avatar
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 5,445
Default E8400 in stock @ NCIX

$224 http://www.ncix.com/products/index.p...-%20PROCESSORS

The warehouses show em in stock, but could be a trick to solicit pre orders.. If anyone orders please post when you receive the chip.
__________________
Donkeys kill more people annually than plane crashes or shark attacks.

Last edited by Eldonko; January 21, 2008 at 12:43 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old January 21, 2008, 12:50 PM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,705
Default

Funny, they were saying on the NCIX forums that stock wouldn't last past a few hours. Here we are what, 24 hours later and they still have stock? Odd....

Also, I find their prices to be a bit high. I can find it locally for $218.99 without even having to look hard. At yes, I love Sohodiffusion:

Sohodiffusion.com - INTEL CORE 2 DUO E8400 3.00GHz 6MB L2 CACHE LGA775 1333MHz FSB
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old January 21, 2008, 01:00 PM
3oh6's Avatar
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 1,052
Default

yeah, their prices are a bit up there. my local shop will have mine on thursday for about $30 cheaper per CPU out the door than if i ordered from Direct Canada ;)
the only catch is that i can only have 2, maybe 3 if i get lucky out of this shipment.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old January 21, 2008, 01:23 PM
Eldonko's Avatar
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 5,445
Default

Im waiting until the end of the month regardless, but im curious on prices and availability nonetheless. I will probably just order from ncix if they have stock, but any links of cheaper prices will help as they will price match.
__________________
Donkeys kill more people annually than plane crashes or shark attacks.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old January 21, 2008, 01:38 PM
magictorch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Annapolis Valley, NS
Posts: 1,838

My System Specs

Default waiting game

Personally I'm going to wait. Ive read one review that shows a lot of variability between chips in their ability to OC.

Would rather wait till a batch comes out that has a very good OC record like the recent E6750's which have matured very well. Mind you, even a badly behaved E8400 is going to be a monster by contrast and the extra cache does make a difference in a lot of games and applications.
__________________
White Night:: i7920 (4ghz), Rampage III extreme (A1), Mushkin XP 1600 (9,9,9,24),SLI480., white MM horizon.
CPU: Feser 220 int.|Apogee GTZ|S.Res.rev2| MCP655.

GPU: PA120.3|S.Res.rev2|2x EK FC blocks| MCP655.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old January 21, 2008, 02:41 PM
turtletrax's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Not in PPC's pocket.
Posts: 542

My System Specs

Default

I got my chip at Memoryexpress but I dont think they have them online yet. I bought it at the store after I emailed them about availability and I got a reponse saying that they had the E8400 in stock, but their website had them listed as a stock error

I tossed the chip in my rig and my BIOS for the T2R would not boot with the chip, so I had to flash and first boot I thought I had a bad mount. There is a 10c differential in core temps, so I remounted and it looks like I have one of the chips with poorly calibrated thermal diode. Then I moved to OCing and I was really dissapointed when I coulndt get 4Ghz even with 1.4Vcore. Nothing I could do would get me even close.

Then I found some info on the T2R and 45nm GTL's. I had them set WAY to high. I had to run them at 70/69/70 for 4.2 Ghz 1.35Vcore and 67/66/67 1.39 4.4Ghz. Stuck at trying to get stable at 4.5Ghz right now, just need more GTL tweaking to move up.

So far happy with the 45nm scalability. Will have a seprate post with results and screenies ASAP.
__________________
"The thing about internet quotes is you can not confirm their validity." - Abraham Lincoln.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old January 21, 2008, 02:52 PM
magictorch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Annapolis Valley, NS
Posts: 1,838

My System Specs

Default Nice

Are you watercooling that huge OC?

BTW any chance you could contrast your quad performance with this (both oc'd). Look forward to the screens.
__________________
White Night:: i7920 (4ghz), Rampage III extreme (A1), Mushkin XP 1600 (9,9,9,24),SLI480., white MM horizon.
CPU: Feser 220 int.|Apogee GTZ|S.Res.rev2| MCP655.

GPU: PA120.3|S.Res.rev2|2x EK FC blocks| MCP655.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old January 21, 2008, 02:52 PM
3oh6's Avatar
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 1,052
Default

i've said it before and i will likely have to say it again...posting OC results without the FPO/Batch code should be grounds for immediate ban



Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old January 21, 2008, 03:01 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,634
Default

I picked one up and popped it onto my Abit IP35-Pro board and "BSOD"

Reformatted and good to go.

BIOS readings are out to lunch says CPU Voltage is 1.01v and my CPU Temp is 238'
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old January 21, 2008, 03:15 PM
ebdoradz's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Rouyn-Noranda, QC
Posts: 754
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by enaberif View Post
I picked one up and popped it onto my Abit IP35-Pro board and "BSOD"

Reformatted and good to go.

BIOS readings are out to lunch says CPU Voltage is 1.01v and my CPU Temp is 238'
just take out an egg or two and make us some good egg with bacon on that cpu :D

yeahj definatly those reading are way off
__________________
Gigabyte GA-MA790XT-UD4P / AMD Phenom II x3 720BE @ x4/ Crucial Ballistic DDR3 / Sapphire 4830 512mb / Corsair 620W PSU / 2*80GB Seagate

DFI LP nF4 Ultra-D / AMD Opteron 165 @ 2.7Ghz/ 2*1GB OCZ Gold GX XTC / Sapphire X1950XT / Fortron 450W PSU / 2*Maxtor 80Gb


Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
For those who want an E8400 Cptn Vortex CPU's and Motherboards 69 March 11, 2008 09:03 PM
E8400 @ ncix omgwtf CPU's and Motherboards 8 February 17, 2008 11:17 AM
E8400 in stock in Saskatoon yycraven CPU's and Motherboards 1 January 25, 2008 04:37 PM
Amd cpu stock... omgwtf CPU's and Motherboards 7 April 12, 2007 06:07 PM