Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old March 17, 2011, 06:33 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,598
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mkultra View Post
it's not like it's fresh news, or that intel tried to hide it
RREEEALLY?!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old March 17, 2011, 07:06 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Canaduh
Posts: 376

My System Specs

Default

hey i'm not the one stating the obvious here
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old March 17, 2011, 07:33 PM
PeopleCanFly's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 29
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by enaberif View Post
Hah. No plans to overclock.. it was just a "what can we do moment" and realized you can't overclock that well on a 2600 :P
This make it look like you had no idea what you were buying at the time. Are you mad because you didn't spend the extra $30 or so bucks to get a better overclock?

Whats the point of complaining?
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old March 17, 2011, 08:50 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,598
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PeopleCanFly View Post
This make it look like you had no idea what you were buying at the time. Are you mad because you didn't spend the extra $30 or so bucks to get a better overclock?

Whats the point of complaining?
So your telling me in all your PC experience (If you have any) that you haven't take a cpu for a ride to see what it can do regardless?

Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old March 17, 2011, 08:54 PM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,585

My System Specs

Default

Its the same complaint one can say for specific chipsets not being able to overclock as well. My H67 platform can't overclock a 2500k at all, which in my view is rather poor as i shouldnt need the extra cost and gimmic of the p67 platform just to overclock k series chip
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old March 17, 2011, 09:49 PM
ZZLEE's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: KANATA
Posts: 2,079

My System Specs

Default

Intel saying Pay to Play
__________________
"EVGA hunted down the last dozen or so expats living in Karachi." SKY
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old March 17, 2011, 10:49 PM
PeopleCanFly's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 29
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by enaberif View Post
So your telling me in all your PC experience (If you have any) that you haven't take a cpu for a ride to see what it can do regardless?

I don't know how you managed to pull that out of my comment. What's the issue? I honestly still can't tell from anything you've said; it doesn't make sense to me.
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old March 18, 2011, 05:45 AM
Vittra's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Ontario
Posts: 168

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by enaberif View Post
So your telling me in all your PC experience (If you have any) that you haven't take a cpu for a ride to see what it can do regardless?

You're running a 800mhz overclock (3.4 to 4.2) on a chip that isn't really supposed to OC in the first place. That's pretty damn good I'd say for the little amount of work involved. Are you simply just LOOKING for a reason to be disappointed? It seems that way.

The K series processors are about $15-20 more on average. The amount of performance you can get out of a $230 2500K is unbelievable for the price you are paying, even compared to what the last "it" chip was, the I7 920.

The only real downfall is the abysmal amount of PCI-E lanes resulting in 8x/8x mode for people with multi-gpu configs, but seeing as that has neglible real-world impact it hardly bothers me.
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old March 21, 2011, 12:51 PM
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Tillsonburg, Ontario
Posts: 914

My System Specs

Default

I have a 2400 that I need to install yet wonder what I can get out of it (I would have bought a 2500K, but I got a good deal on this used from a guy I deal with.
__________________


Comp1 (Mine) : ASUS P9X79 LE, 3960X, 16GB Corsair Vengence 1333, PNY 770 4GB, OCZ Vertex3 240GB, OCZ Vertex3 480GB, 600GB VelociRaptor, Corsair 1000HX, Cool Master Cosmos 2

Comp2 (Wife's) : ASUS Sabertooth P67, i7 2700K, 8GB Corsair Vengeance 1866, 1TB HD, 2TB HD, EVGA 660, Corsair 1000HX, HAF 922

Comp3 (Kids) : ASUS P8P67 Pro, i7 2700K, 8GB 1866 GSkill, Gigabyte 770, Crucial M4 120GB, OCZ Vertex3 240GB,1TB WD Black, Antec 850W, Antec 120
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old March 21, 2011, 01:38 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Fort St. John, BC
Posts: 1,220

My System Specs

Default

So, there is nothing wrong with SNB, you're just annoyed that by not buying a 'k' series for $20 more that you can only hit 4.2 Ghz instead of 4.8 Ghz...

That's what I seem to get out of this rant that seems to have nothing constructive towards those interested in seeing how people feel about SNB.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
should i go for sandy bridge now or wait N.E.A CPU's and Motherboards 27 February 26, 2011 11:41 PM
First build, Sandy Bridge Atmax New Builds 6 January 26, 2011 02:46 PM
Sandy bridge notebooks? dustin1706 Mobile Computing 13 January 24, 2011 06:34 PM
My Sandy Bridge Build Eluder New Builds 24 January 17, 2011 05:42 PM
what is intel Sandy Bridge? kuziwk Rumor Mill 18 February 26, 2010 05:40 PM