Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old March 12, 2011, 03:35 AM
N.E.A's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 64
Default how to change the MB without having to reinstall windows ???

I am going to replace my Sandy Bridge board soon so, i do not want to reinstall windows or any thing like that.
i want to do it as if i am upgrading my GPU (install the hardware and then the drivers). any ideas how ??
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old March 12, 2011, 04:11 AM
maverick_brent's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 467

My System Specs

Default

are you replacing it with the same model or another brand of board all together? Windows 7? It should be fine, the chipset drivers should be the same, so its only a matter of installing sound,nic, raid etc... make sure the old drivers get uninstalled and cleaned before you shut down for the swap.


Cheers,
Mav
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old March 12, 2011, 04:43 AM
martin_metal_88's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Quebec City
Posts: 4,175

My System Specs

Default

With vista and windows 7 most likely you don't have to re-install windows. Just make sure you clean driver before removing the mobo. Windows XP and before were very easy to mess up with major hardware change. Hopefully, microsoft fixed this in vista and 7 ;) GL with your new system!

Edit : Also make sure all setting in bios that matter to your drive stay the same ( IDE / AHCI )
__________________
Ask for more

Martin_metal_88
Colenzo : See system spec!

Odysseus : I7 860 @ 3.6Ghz || GA P55-UD5 || G.skill Ripjaws F3-16000 2000Mhz 2X2GB || Coolermaster ATCS 840 || Silverstone Strider plus 850W || WD 640 black - WD 1TB green - Samsung F3 2TB || MSI 5670 1GB Cyclone ||Coolermaster Hyper 212 + ||


Last edited by martin_metal_88; March 12, 2011 at 05:14 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old March 12, 2011, 05:15 AM
N.E.A's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 64
Default

my current board is P8P67 Pro and i will replace it with the same one except it will be B3 revision. so i guess i will uninstall every thing like raid, bluetooth, and stuff like that.
but how to clean it after uninstalling ? is there a specific program that will do it ? like driver sweeper !
BTW i am running Windows 7.
here are my specs :
Core i5 2400
P8P67 Pro
G.Skill Ripjaws 1600 Mhz 4GB
Adata 64GB SSD
Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 1.5TB
GTX 275
Cougar 700w PSU
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old March 12, 2011, 05:53 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Canaduh
Posts: 376

My System Specs

Default

no problem, my current win7 have seen 4 different setup(775/i3/i7/SB) with multiple gpu 5+ and it's fine, you don't even have to do anything really, Plug it and let boot it willl install new drivers, reboot, install the missing drivers as usual voila!

it might be better to unistall the older drivers, but i know you can make it without doing it
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old March 12, 2011, 07:17 AM
maverick_brent's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 467

My System Specs

Default

im pretty sure that you dont have to uninstall your drivers now, especially if your installing the same motherbaord jsut a diff version
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old March 12, 2011, 07:36 AM
"Quote This..."
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Hell
Posts: 3,828
Default

Yea, don't bother uninstalling anything.

Protip: You can swap out mobos that are completely different if you run the sysprep tool before you make the move.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old March 12, 2011, 07:36 AM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,598
Default

Its the same board. no need to do anything.

Just swap it out and call it a day.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wowww you can change mobo without reformatting on windows 7!! Ironmonk O/S's, Drivers & General Software 20 October 21, 2010 04:34 PM
Rebuilding Computers. Need to Reinstall Windows? geokilla O/S's, Drivers & General Software 9 June 29, 2010 04:57 PM
Need to reinstall WMP 11 biff O/S's, Drivers & General Software 14 June 2, 2009 07:07 PM
Reinstall XP - 2nd HD issues Matty D Storage 22 November 27, 2008 09:58 AM
Trying to uninstall COD4 and.....reinstall a new copy.. Canadianguy Gaming 3 March 19, 2008 04:59 PM