Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old March 9, 2011, 10:31 AM
Cowboy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 1,375
Default Give me the lowdown on Sandy-Bridge

So I know basically what it is (2nd gen i7's etc..) but what does it MEAN? What does it add to the table that makes it so awesome?

I've heard that some boards can Overclock, but others can't... Which ones do, and how do I tell?

I've also heard that some boards support switchable graphics, but others can't... Which ones do, and how do I tell?

Also is it true that the boards that support Overclocking do NOT support switchable graphics?

This is all so confusing...

Do they at least use the same ram standard as lga1156??
__________________


Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old March 9, 2011, 10:34 AM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,813

My System Specs

Default

H67 boards support the on-GPU graphics. P67 boards do not.
H67 boards can not overclock. P67 boards can.
You need a 'K' CPU to do any sort of overclocking.
Ram really doesn't matter since it has no impact on overclocking w/ Sandy Bridge since you are just adjusting the multiplier.
Sandy Bridge is aewsome because it is fast and overclocks like a champ.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old March 9, 2011, 10:35 AM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,473
Default

1155 is kind of confusing because people automatically assume its the upgrade from 1366 and its not. Its actually the upgrade from 1156.

With that said the 1155 platform basically overclocks better with less heat and power.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old March 9, 2011, 10:39 AM
Cowboy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 1,375
Default

Ok so if I wanted to have switchable graphics, i.e my GTX 560Ti shuts off by-itself to save power... I need to get an h67 board?

But I can't overclock... at all??

And why do I need a K cpu? Do they have unlocked multipliers or something?
__________________


Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old March 9, 2011, 10:43 AM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,813

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cowboy View Post
Ok so if I wanted to have switchable graphics, i.e my GTX 560Ti shuts off by-itself to save power... I need to get an h67 board?

But I can't overclock... at all??

And why do I need a K cpu? Do they have unlocked multipliers or something?
You can't adjust the bclk more than a few MHz and run the risk of data corruption on your HDDs. Which is why you need an unlocked 'K'.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old March 9, 2011, 10:44 AM
Cowboy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 1,375
Default

Wait so what does the bclk have to do with hard drives now? is it because of the NB and SB being integrated into the cpu now?
__________________


Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old March 9, 2011, 10:50 AM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

you can, but intel says not to play with the bus because it messes things up. id probably take their word on it.
wait for z68 or whatever its called, integrated graphics and oc on one board..like a miracle!

yes, k = unlocked multis = overclock easy
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old March 9, 2011, 10:52 AM
Cowboy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 1,375
Default

and what kind of OC's are expected? What could you get with air/low end water?
__________________


Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old March 9, 2011, 10:56 AM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

4.5 on average on stock cooler. then the remaining 50% of chips can do anywhere from that up to and some above 5ghz.

there were some numbers in one thread...
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old March 9, 2011, 11:07 AM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,813

My System Specs

Default

honestly I wouldn't overclock at all on the stock cooling. It sucks. At stock clocks folding@home takes me above 70C. 4.6-4.8GHz isn't unreasonable on decent air cooling though. Watercooling won't likely gain you anything either.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
should i go for sandy bridge now or wait N.E.A CPU's and Motherboards 27 February 26, 2011 11:41 PM
First build, Sandy Bridge Atmax New Builds 6 January 26, 2011 02:46 PM
Sandy bridge notebooks? dustin1706 Mobile Computing 13 January 24, 2011 06:34 PM
what is intel Sandy Bridge? kuziwk Rumor Mill 18 February 26, 2010 05:40 PM