Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old February 23, 2011, 05:33 AM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 601

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Charloz24 View Post
Please explain your position, because I have 2 Gigabyte P67 boards (UD3) and I will replace with something else. Asus seems to be much more good to deal with the P67 problem than Gigabyte. They offer cross ship option when corrected boards will be available. With Gigabyte, I have absolutely have to deal with the place I bought the board. And the online site that I ordered the board will refund me, but they must have the board before the end of march. So no cross ship option for me, so at the end of march I will have my 2 computers down until newer boards will be available :(

Second, Gigabyte is slow in BIOS fix... on the Asus side they seems to fly on that matter.
My issue is with their pretty crappy customer service over the phone as well as their lack of support with regards to their own software (AI Suite). I've yet to be able to install their application suite and it's driving me nuts as I would like some of the functionality it provides.

It doesn't appear as though that any of the other manufacturers are in a much better position though, so I may have nothing to switch to, although I am considering MSI, but never used them before so not sure how they will be.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old February 23, 2011, 05:50 AM
G777's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Coquitlam,BC
Posts: 539

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eluder View Post
My issue is with their pretty crappy customer service over the phone as well as their lack of support with regards to their own software (AI Suite). I've yet to be able to install their application suite and it's driving me nuts as I would like some of the functionality it provides.

It doesn't appear as though that any of the other manufacturers are in a much better position though, so I may have nothing to switch to, although I am considering MSI, but never used them before so not sure how they will be.
Probably a moot point, but have you flashed to a newer bios, and tried the updated version of AI Suite?
__________________
_______________________________________________

HWC Overclocking Team, breaking hardware for fun!

Team Thread
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old February 23, 2011, 06:18 AM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 601

My System Specs

Default

Yup, I'm running the latest (1305) and tried their patch, their latest version, disabling UAC, another fresh format of the OS, etc etc.
You name it, I've tried it, and it just won't work. Looks like Asus gave up on fixing it too as they were publishing info before, but now they've completely dropped it.

Heck, one of their people posted on another forum to contact him if anyone has any issues, I did so, and that was a couple of weeks ago, no response, so looks like they don't care either.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old February 23, 2011, 06:36 AM
G777's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Coquitlam,BC
Posts: 539

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eluder View Post
Yup, I'm running the latest (1305) and tried their patch, their latest version, disabling UAC, another fresh format of the OS, etc etc.
You name it, I've tried it, and it just won't work. Looks like Asus gave up on fixing it too as they were publishing info before, but now they've completely dropped it.

Heck, one of their people posted on another forum to contact him if anyone has any issues, I did so, and that was a couple of weeks ago, no response, so looks like they don't care either.
I have the same mobo, cpu, ssd and psu as you according to system specs... and have had no trouble with AI Suite on 3 different bios versions. Weird. Don't know if it would make a difference, but did you install all the Intel updates? Only other suggestion if you haven't already done so is posting in the Asus P67 thread on [H]Ocp or XtremeSystems forums to see if anyone else has a solution. But sounds like you may just have a bad board
__________________
_______________________________________________

HWC Overclocking Team, breaking hardware for fun!

Team Thread
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old February 23, 2011, 07:00 AM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 601

My System Specs

Default

Nah, not a bad board, there's a thread on Asus' own forums with a bunch of others experiencing the same issue.
It's something with their crappy software I guess.
I PM'ed the Asus guy on Xtreme and posted on Hardforums about this, no one has been able to provide a solution as of yet.
This is why I've almost given up on Asus and looking to try something else, but again, not sure if the other manufacturers are any better.
The one advantage with Asus is that their RMA is local, so I wouldn't have to send it down south.
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old February 23, 2011, 03:20 PM
ern88's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Halifax, Nova Scotia
Posts: 275

My System Specs

Default

I can't wait either for the revised ASUS LGA1155 boards. I already bought 2x4 gig G.Skill ripjaws F3-12800CL9D DDR3-1600 ram set. I am still on the fence if I should get the i7 2600k or i5 2500K CPU.
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old February 25, 2011, 11:05 AM
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 261
Default

NCIX added Maximus IV Extreme rev B3

NCIX.com - Buy ASUS Maximus IV Extreme <REV 3.0> EATX LGA1155 P67 4PCI-E16 PCI-E4 PCI-E Sandy Bridge B3 Motherboard - ASUS - MAXIMUS IV EXTREME <REV 3.0> - in Canada
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old February 25, 2011, 11:55 AM
Eldonko's Avatar
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 5,442
Default

And it's only $400? Ill take 10! :D
__________________
Donkeys kill more people annually than plane crashes or shark attacks.
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old February 25, 2011, 03:33 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Calgary, Alberta
Posts: 46
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eldonko View Post
And it's only $400? Ill take 10! :D
Can i come over and pick up a couple then?

All the expensive mobos look great but i dont want to spend that much.... boo urns
__________________
Heat
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old February 25, 2011, 03:45 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 77
Default

+1 Sometimes the prices are just ridiculous. lol
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NCIX updated Rewards Cente jay51 Off Topic 20 August 9, 2010 08:30 AM
need sugesstions on Mobos. Blackdeath New Builds 19 July 26, 2010 10:19 PM
[WTB] X48 Mobos snaggletooth Buy/Sell & Trade 6 July 29, 2009 05:09 PM
Integrated mobos - best video? CactusJoe CPU's and Motherboards 3 January 12, 2009 09:47 PM
BFG Mobos? sswilson CPU's and Motherboards 4 February 12, 2007 02:15 PM