Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old February 21, 2007, 05:52 AM
Babrbarossa's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New Brunswick
Posts: 3,673

My System Specs

Default

On the evga site, it says that team extreme 6400 4-4-4-10 is compatible, and there are a couple of people using it in the thread who say it worked, but it's not specific about the exact model (so maybe they're all ok)

edit: forgot that this stuff is 4-4-4-12

http://www.evga.com/community/messag...TOPIC_ID=21137

where did you find the reference to problems with it?
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old February 21, 2007, 06:08 AM
Babrbarossa's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New Brunswick
Posts: 3,673

My System Specs

Default

Here's a compatibility list for it- and you're right-- 680i isn't on there

http://www.teamgroup.com.tw/images/s...eng_ddr800.pdf

I wouldn't go building my system around the ram though-- alot of the time, you can't cheive the speeds that reviewers do because the company hand picks the fastest samples to send to the tech sites- so always take it with a grain of salt. Not to say this isn't probably awesome ram, though- even if you get halfway to those settings-- I hear alot of good things about the corsair dominators- and they work well with the 680i-- also anything by ocz does, it seems.- you can check out evga's compatibility list.
If you're looking to get a different board the asus commando reviews have been really good, but you can't have SLi with it.

Last edited by Babrbarossa; February 21, 2007 at 06:22 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old February 21, 2007, 06:21 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: scarborough
Posts: 9
Default

bah your prolly right
ill just go with evga board and platinum ocz chips like the one you mentioned in earlier post all I care is that they are compatible and that I can over clock even just a bit would be fine

Last edited by luppo; February 21, 2007 at 06:22 AM. Reason: typo
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old February 21, 2007, 08:13 AM
Babrbarossa's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New Brunswick
Posts: 3,673

My System Specs

Default

http://www.ncix.com/products/index.p...acture=Patriot

Here's your memory! Great stuff- see review:
http://www.tomshardware.com/2007/02/...its/page5.html

It's great overclocking-- it's a great price right now, and it is on evga's compatible list
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old February 21, 2007, 11:34 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: scarborough
Posts: 9
Default

yup yup looks like the ones to go with

thanks for the input

system revised

Intel Core 2 Duo E6600
BFG GeForce 8800 GTX 768MB and another one when they drop in price
eVGA 122-CK-NF68 mainboard
patriot mem nice find
700 watt psu and im off to the races
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old February 21, 2007, 06:22 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,728

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
700 watt psu and im off to the races
Heh.... squawk squawk.......

You're making me nervous...... Just because you're not going sli, I can't stress strongly enough that it still needs to be a recognized PSU.

Just too many problems can arise from a cheepo PSU, and worse yet, many of those are of the "random/untraceable" type that can mess up your rig for years!!!

Looking good though.

What part of the country are you writing from?
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP

Last edited by sswilson; February 21, 2007 at 07:50 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old February 21, 2007, 06:59 PM
Supergrover's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Okanagan Falls, British Columbia
Posts: 4,256

My System Specs

Default

sswilson the PSU Pimp.

Yeah ss Thats one of the first thing I do when giving buddys a hand, Break out the Multimeter. If thats solid @ least I'm not going to go crazy trying to fix a sporadic/weird/unusual problem.

That Patriot is nice RAM for that price.

Damn I paid to much for my 2g kit curse you ddr
__________________
R.I.P.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
My knuckles are bleeding from fishing through walls a new CAT6 network cable... I found fresh, untapped electrical outlets...
"It's all in the Reflexes"-Jack Burton
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old February 21, 2007, 08:16 PM
Babrbarossa's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New Brunswick
Posts: 3,673

My System Specs

Default

You must have missed his post wilson-- he's getting a ocz 700w

"ya i meant to say i was also getting,
OCZ (OCZ700GXSSLI) GameXStream 700 Watt
and thanks for the welcome"

Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old February 21, 2007, 08:18 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,728

My System Specs

Default

Oh I saw it, but then he goes and leaves out the OCZ part in his updated gear........

:)
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old February 22, 2007, 06:16 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: scarborough
Posts: 9
Default

heya again I hail from Toronto,Ont Scarborough to be exact
and ya 700 watt psu was planned however that model I learned is certified for ati crossfire so now im thinking im gonna get the 850 watt psu which appears to be certified for nvidia
OCZ 850w GameXStream (SLI Ready) Power Supply - OCZ850GXSSLI
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes