Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old January 11, 2011, 07:02 PM
Top Prospect

Default Something wrong with my cpu?

Hey guys. Need a bit of help here. Recently I tried getting oblivion to run on my PC, and I figure i should have no problem. Had some major FPS problems but I heard that it might be because of how badly optimized the game is. Regardless, i tried some different things (no AA, no HDR, no Bloom, VERY low reso) and nothing helped. I finally got fed up and started suspecting my cpu of bottlenecking my graphics card.

Long story short, i finally ended up running prime 95 (keep in mind, everything I have is stock, not oc'd yet) and the CPU reached 90 degrees within 2 minutes. At that point I worried and pulled the plug on prime 95.

To be completely truthful, i've never used prime 95 before. I know it's used to test stable OC's but i figure if my stock q9450 can't handle it for 2 minutes, there has to be something wrong, right?

any help is appreciated.
RAM: OCZ 4gb Platinum ddr2 800mghz
Video: Sapphire HD 5970
DIsplay: Benq 24 inch display
Old January 11, 2011, 07:03 PM
Rookie

What cooling are you using?
Old January 11, 2011, 07:07 PM
Top Prospect

Quote:
Originally Posted by David View Post
What cooling are you using?
still stock intel HS. (i've got a post in the cooling forum for suggestions on a new one)
Old January 11, 2011, 07:30 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H

My System Specs

well if it's stock and full of dust or it's real warm in your house it could be right and 90c is way to high for my liking. take the case side off and see what up if the fan spins up or not,or too see if it's real dusty
Old January 11, 2011, 07:44 PM
Top Prospect

Quote:
Originally Posted by gingerbee View Post