Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old January 11, 2011, 09:50 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,691
Default

yes, when the speed is reduced youll lag like nutz.

dont dust it off in your room, that dust is not exactly healthy.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old January 11, 2011, 10:01 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 97
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by _dangtx_ View Post
yes, when the speed is reduced youll lag like nutz.

dont dust it off in your room, that dust is not exactly healthy.



that's exactly why i'm not doing it now. If it's not too cold tomorrow, might do it on the balcony. I'll post with updates in the morning. Thanks again everyone.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old January 12, 2011, 06:32 AM
Bond007's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Down under
Posts: 4,346

My System Specs

Default

Dust can kill. A friend of mine complained his computer got loud, so I took a look. The cpu heatsink had a layer of dirt/cat hair between it and the fan. A nothing fancy vacuum and q-tip to poke at it dropped noise (fan rpm) and dropped the temp almost 30 deg C.
__________________
Desktop: Arc Midi R2, Z77-D3H, 3570K 1.09v/4.1ghz with Zalman Optima Cooler, Corsair Vengeance [email protected], XFX R9 280X DD, Bitfenix Fury 750w, WD Black 1TB, Intel 530 120GB
Away from home light Gamer: Acer Aspire 15.6", A8-3500m undervolt and OC to 2Ghz, 2x4gb Corsair Vengeance, Crucial M500 240gb
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old January 12, 2011, 07:19 AM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,848

My System Specs

Default

yup i have a pc in my work area ( lmao bedroom ) that is dead and i am leaning towards dust being the cause it was like a layer cake of dust on the no heatsinked south bridge and there's burn marks on said SB now and the board will not boot at all
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old January 12, 2011, 08:45 AM
ern88's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Halifax, Nova Scotia
Posts: 717

My System Specs

Default

Ya, If you have any animals. You should clean it out regularly for sure.
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old January 13, 2011, 08:14 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 97
Default

no animals here, and i'm really starting to worry something is wrong.


My worries aren't about running the game anymore, but worried that something is seriously wrong.

I completely cleaned out the case of all dust. Unseated the heatsink, cleaned off the thermal compound and re-applied some tuniq tx2. I even took out the mobo to make sure the stupid pins were going through and catching on the hs.

I got everything put back together, ran prime 95 and i could easily hit 90 degrees within a minute or two.

So confused.
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old January 13, 2011, 08:51 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Toronto
Posts: 151
Default

maybe you changed voltages in bios accidentally. check there. or just reset it to default.
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old January 13, 2011, 09:25 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 97
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tragd View Post
maybe you changed voltages in bios accidentally. check there. or just reset it to default.
doesn't appear to be that.
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old January 14, 2011, 07:29 AM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Ontario
Posts: 977

My System Specs

Default

90 degrees at stock volts/speed is way too high, even with the stock cooler. Probably about 20 degrees higher than it should be.

I've never bothered dealing with any of the stock coolers myself, but apparently it's a bitch to have it seated properly even if it seems like it is. If you are absolutely sure that it IS seated properly, that you are applying thermal paste properly (not too much, not too little), and that voltages are indeed fine in the BIOS...then something is wrong with the CPU.

Also, use Real Temp if you aren't to ensure temps are being displayed accurately.
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old January 14, 2011, 09:11 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 97
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vittra View Post
90 degrees at stock volts/speed is way too high, even with the stock cooler. Probably about 20 degrees higher than it should be.

I've never bothered dealing with any of the stock coolers myself, but apparently it's a bitch to have it seated properly even if it seems like it is. If you are absolutely sure that it IS seated properly, that you are applying thermal paste properly (not too much, not too little), and that voltages are indeed fine in the BIOS...then something is wrong with the CPU.

Also, use Real Temp if you aren't to ensure temps are being displayed accurately.
Applies TIM like i always do, everything is at default. I even took the mobo out of the case completely to make sure the pins were all catching the underside of the motherboard completely. Both realtemp and coretemp are showing the same values. And i have no idea what Intel's policies are on defective units considering it's been a few years since i bought it. what a shit situation.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Am I doing something wrong? boggtrotter59 HardwareCanucks [email protected] Team 15 March 19, 2010 10:12 AM
What went wrong? punk_zappa Troubleshooting 11 June 20, 2009 10:31 AM
Idon't believe it wrong stinger cpu water block Shadowmeph Water Cooling 9 June 8, 2009 12:40 PM
Something wrong? paphman910 Off Topic 2 December 19, 2008 06:43 PM
Is CPU-Z wrong?!!? MognonMan Troubleshooting 2 June 28, 2008 07:56 AM