Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old January 6, 2008, 12:24 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 19
Default Motherboard for Music Recording

Hi everyone, I'm new here!

I probably will be buying a new computer soon, so the first thing I'm checking out are motherboards. I record music through a firewire connection, and Texas Instruments firewire controller is recommended from my Echo Audio and Software Sequencer website.
So far the only motherboards I found in Canada to have this are Gigabyte GA-x38 models, so that could possibly narrow the list down (unless people know of other good boards that have TI controllers).
-I need at least 1 PCI (2 would be nice) slot and 2-3 PCI express slots.
-a Nic connection
-1 spdf connection
Can't think of anything else at the moment.
I will probably go with the Quad Core 6600 processor.

Thanks for any suggestions,

B
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old January 6, 2008, 12:34 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,399

My System Specs

Default

Welcome to Hardware Canucks!!!

I'm curious... rather than limiting your motherboard choice based on the on-board firewire controller... have you checked to see what add-on cards are available that use that controller?

I would think that for a specialized application like you're looking for, you'd probably find a better solution going that route.

I could be wrong, but it's certainly something to look into before you tie yourself to an on-board hardware solution. If you get it through a card, you then have the option to upgrade just the card when something better comes along rather than needing to replace the motherboard.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old January 6, 2008, 12:40 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: The City Above Toronto
Posts: 15
Default

Gigabyte GA-P35-DS4 has 2 PCI slots and T.I. TSB43AB23 firewire controller. Price was $185 on boxing week.
And if there is no rush for you I would wait for Q9300.

WBR, Victor.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old January 6, 2008, 01:37 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 19
Default

Wow that was quick, Thanks for replying!
If you mean a firewire card with that chipset, yes I have looked for them and can't find any in Canada (I think some SIIG cards have them). I may be wrong about this, but even if I have a TI firewire card, the motherboard may have a controller that is weak (cheap) and therefore defeat the purpose.

I will definitely take a look at that Gigabyte GA-P35-DS4 motherboard.

Thanks again.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old January 7, 2008, 02:37 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 19
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bstring View Post
Wow that was quick, Thanks for replying!
If you mean a firewire card with that chipset, yes I have looked for them and can't find any in Canada (I think some SIIG cards have them). I may be wrong about this, but even if I have a TI firewire card, the motherboard may have a controller that is weak (cheap) and therefore defeat the purpose.
Just wondering if I went the firewire card route, can the firewire controller on the motherboard be disabled? If yes, where do you do this...device manager, BIOS, both?

thanks for any replies

B
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old January 7, 2008, 04:17 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,399

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bstring View Post
Just wondering if I went the firewire card route, can the firewire controller on the motherboard be disabled? If yes, where do you do this...device manager, BIOS, both?

thanks for any replies

B
It can be disabled in Bios.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old January 8, 2008, 03:42 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 19
Default

Thanks SSWilson!
Definitely gives me more options.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What music do you listen to ? Patriote Off Topic 182 October 20, 2008 05:03 PM
Where do you get your music? Babrbarossa Off Topic 8 March 2, 2008 02:31 PM
Streaming Movies and Music Strat6 Networking 5 January 4, 2008 03:09 PM
Canada to tax online music sales Babrbarossa Press Releases & Tech News 20 October 25, 2007 07:37 PM
Sound card for recording??? REDLINEHOOLIGAN Audio 8 May 24, 2007 05:27 PM