Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old December 29, 2010, 08:58 PM
gray mole's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: BC Canada
Posts: 78
Default 775 intel board for gtx480 sli?

Quick mobo question, in case anyone happens to know.

Gave my brother a gtx480 for xmas and he wanted SLI/3 monitor support. So he got another one.

So, what he has is 2 x gtx480 and a quad 9550 intel cpu skt 775

His current Motherboard is Xfire only. hadn't thought of that, and I never asked.

What he needs to find, if it's out there, is a 775 mobo that has 2 pci express x16 slots.

He's a generation behind and can't seem to find one.

Anyone have a recommendation?

He's a bit stressed and I'm going to dig myself, but he can't use the 480's in the board he has properly, and can't find a motherboard that is definitely going to work.

Do you need X16 on the slots to run sli on the 480's?

Would dual X8 slots work ok and run SLI?

Appreciate any help, if someone knows for sure, would save some searching :)


Gray
__________________
I like the cold...
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old December 29, 2010, 09:12 PM
Dead Things's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Centre of the Universe
Posts: 1,572

My System Specs

Default

Would have to be an Nvidia chipset. One of 650i, 680i, 750i, 780i or 790i. Used is your only option.

And since Nvidia chipsets were super-duper-unreliable, buying one used sans warranty sounds like a fate worse than eating glass to me.
__________________
Follow my folding, mining & benching shenanigans @dt_oc!

Think you can overclock? Then show us what you got!
Join the Hardware Canucks Overclocking team today!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old December 29, 2010, 09:15 PM
gray mole's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: BC Canada
Posts: 78
Default

hehe

So far, I've seen a couple of people mention the P5N32-SLI premium as having...

2 x X16 pci express sockets, and 8 phase power for the cards.

saw someone actually mention using it with sli'd 480's.

Gonna be used whatever I find, it's old stuff now.

But if anyone knows of a new 775 board (not many left :( ) that can do sli with 480's, that'd be sweet. Struggling.

But I'll throw up a 'wanted' thread and see what happens.


Gray
__________________
I like the cold...
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old December 29, 2010, 09:25 PM
gray mole's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: BC Canada
Posts: 78
Default

ASUS P5N32-E SLI LGA 775 NVIDIA nForce 680i SLI

so a quick update, looks like it's the 680i we'll need for quad support. 590 didn't, people say.

So anyone know of any other similar one that works?

Hoping to find one, but I'll take anything that works to get him off my back :D

No reseller has these anymore that I can find, so hoping I can find other boards that have X16 dual pci's and is capable of quad and sli.

What a pain. Wish he'd go to i7.


Gray
__________________
I like the cold...
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old December 29, 2010, 09:34 PM
ZZLEE's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: KANATA
Posts: 2,121

My System Specs

Default

Pm you theres one fore sale in Ottawa

I can pick it up and ship it out to you maybe ?
__________________
"EVGA hunted down the last dozen or so expats living in Karachi." SKY
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old December 29, 2010, 09:53 PM
ZZLEE's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: KANATA
Posts: 2,121

My System Specs

Default EVGA B stock 60$ 90 day warinty

Product and Package Content Images


750i FTW
__________________
"EVGA hunted down the last dozen or so expats living in Karachi." SKY
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old December 29, 2010, 09:54 PM
CTA's Avatar
CTA CTA is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: surrey (vancouver) bc canada
Posts: 2,012
Default

i had used asus striker II formula (i think its 780i) from kuz but i never had a chance to use it... if you want it then please pm me...
__________________
---
NEW: customize case, hx100, i7 920, supreme hf, x58 sabertooth, 3gbx2 ram of ripjaws, xfx hd6950 CF. vertex 2 60gb, seagate and hitachi 1tb, dual mcp355 with ek rex v2, 2x koolance ar697, 2x mcr320, 6x zm-f3 fans.
OLD: cm 690, hx620, intel q9450, True Black, ga-ep45-ud3p, 2gbx2 ram of mushkin xp2 8500, xfx 285. wd caviar se16 640gb, 4x zm-f3 fans.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old December 30, 2010, 12:03 AM
gray mole's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: BC Canada
Posts: 78
Default

Well thanks for the help :)

But the problem's solved for now. I'll know for sure by tomorrow if it's fully working, and if there are any glitches, I'll definitely shoot you a PM CTA :)

Might end up doing that, but I'll find out if he's happy enough with what we've done.

Dug up the old X58 hack for sli and there's a new one out. Gave it a go, and it still works for GTX480. Not listed as supported but I'll shoot them a message to update the site.

So SLI is now fully working with 480 support. Hal mod appears to be included in the newer patch.

He hates the Nvidia setup compared to ATI's EyeFinity setup for his monitors, but if it runs the photography stuff the way he's hoping he's deal with it.

If SLI is reporting but not completely working (told him to run a benchmark, any 3d one, sli enabled and disabled to confirm) then it'll be a new board.

So yeah, hope it solves it, don't want to deal with the board replacement but looks good.

Cheers for the help, will update tomorrow if all is well, so anyone having the same grief knows the solution still works :)

Gray
__________________
I like the cold...
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old December 30, 2010, 07:34 AM
Phill's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Morden MB
Posts: 597

My System Specs

Default

I have what I think is one of the best Nvidia boards from back in the day, a 790i FTW. It oc's quads very well (500FSB on a q6600), it supports 3 way Sli (3 16X expansion slots) and has a rich feature set. Only problem with it was that I did not sell it when it still had value... I guess I will keep it for forever.

As far as the Sli hack I tried it in the past on a P5Q Pro Turbo and found that it worked with specific drivers only and that one cannot use the latest ones until the patch is updated. Other than that is was great.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old December 30, 2010, 09:06 AM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

i wouldnt invest in a 775 board, 1156 all the way or maybe 1366.

but,before that,that cpu is pretty kick arse even by todays standards. soooo..invest a bit of time in the sli thingie that turns any crossfire mobo into an sli one!! :)
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Powering GTX480 SLI + overclocked I7 matsta31 Power Supplies 9 November 20, 2010 07:49 AM
Keep 470 SLI or GTX480 magictorch Video Cards 32 June 12, 2010 10:16 AM
[WTB] Need a 775 board and CPU MarkOne Buy/Sell & Trade 0 January 15, 2010 05:33 PM
Best intel 775 SLI motherboard? stoanee CPU's and Motherboards 5 April 24, 2009 10:02 PM
[WTB] MATX BOard INTEL 775 elec999 Buy/Sell & Trade 1 November 27, 2008 11:23 AM