Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old December 30, 2010, 09:13 AM
Phill's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Morden MB
Posts: 583

My System Specs

Default

I am sure the OP has been using this patch right? Project xDevs:
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old December 30, 2010, 10:58 AM
gray mole's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: BC Canada
Posts: 78
Default

Cheers Phill and yeah, the Dev hack is what I used.

It works off the patch only and we didn't need the hal mod patch.

He likes the 9550 fine for now, if he didn't then he'd probably look at a new chip and board.

He also doesn't OC anymore, doesn't even game a whole lot but at times.

It's the photography stuff and a few other programs he uses that are much slower on reprocessing the raw files into visual effects. (what he said) The Nvidia stuff at the moment is better with what he's using by a long way.

So that's where the 480's came in.

But it's good to see the patch will still work with the new patch the've supplied, that's great :)

I'm hoping to get some feedback from him about it though. He's gonna bug me to sell his old stuff off (was hoping for my own little present but sadly, no) so I'll know if it worked, since he'll hand a pile of what used to be in his PC to go and list for him.

I'm wondering though, if he won't swap back to the 5850's for the EyeFinity. It is a lot nicer to run 3 monitors on the ATI stuff for sure.


Gray
__________________
I like the cold...
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old December 30, 2010, 11:06 AM
gray mole's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: BC Canada
Posts: 78
Default

Oh, I think it may all be solved in a little bit, but he's seriously looking at running one or two of 30" displays at some point in the near future as finances allow.

It's just that the panels he needs for 'true' color processing are around 2 grand. Not easily found used/cheap either since they're not that popular, being so expensive.

But if he does, the multimonitor limitation isn't an issue anymore, so we'll see.


Gray
__________________
I like the cold...
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old December 30, 2010, 12:37 PM
Delavan's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Mtl
Posts: 1,149
Default

I'm surprised that swapping to a 1156/1366 was a big deal, if he's into professional stuff...big "true colors" screens and stuff...
A cheap 1156 quad, 8 gig of RAM and stuff could have been great...

Anyway, nice that you got the thing going!
__________________
i7 4770K @ 4.5GHz / Corsair H100i / Maximus VI HERO / 8GB Corsair Vengeance Red LP 1.5V 1866 / N560GTX Ti Twin FROZR II OC / Corsair Performance Pro 128GB SSD / Intel 520 120GB SSD / WD Black 640 GB storage

ROG G53SX laptop: i7 2630QM / 12GB DDR3 / GTX560m 2GB / 750GB 7200rpm (14 000 3Dmarks06)
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old December 30, 2010, 11:43 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: montreal, canada
Posts: 29
Default

What about the following board.

ASUS P5BV-C ATX LGA775 DDR2 PCI-E16 PCI-E8 3XPCI SATA Dual GBLAN Video Motherboard


It has a PCIE x16 & x8....You would not know the difference between a x16 or x8 in your graphics card.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Powering GTX480 SLI + overclocked I7 matsta31 Power Supplies 9 November 20, 2010 07:49 AM
Keep 470 SLI or GTX480 magictorch Video Cards 32 June 12, 2010 10:16 AM
[WTB] Need a 775 board and CPU MarkOne Buy/Sell & Trade 0 January 15, 2010 05:33 PM
Best intel 775 SLI motherboard? stoanee CPU's and Motherboards 5 April 24, 2009 10:02 PM
[WTB] MATX BOard INTEL 775 elec999 Buy/Sell & Trade 1 November 27, 2008 11:23 AM