Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old December 17, 2010, 11:26 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 51
Default BEST i7 970 BATCH - 3018A860

I read through lots of threads here, and on GURU3D and Xtremesystem and I think i hit the jackpot with this batch of i7 970. They are absolutely amazing!. I have easily hit 4.0ghz (167 x 24) and DDR3-2000 T1 cas 9 with very minimum voltage.

vcore: 1.240
vtt/imc: 1.2
dram: 1.5

The temperature is absolutely amazing. with room temperature at 21.5C, I idle at 17-22 degrees and load at 53-58 degrees! Sorry for the bragging (sharing), but I am loving this chip.



Uploaded with ImageShack.us



Uploaded with ImageShack.us
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old December 18, 2010, 02:31 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 143

My System Specs

Default

How do you idle at 17-22 when the room is 21.5? What kind of cooler are you using...
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old December 18, 2010, 05:05 AM
matsta31's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Montreal
Posts: 2,204
Default

look at his desktop picture : ICE ! He must get 3 degrees cooler because of it !
__________________

Sold hardware again.....
Currently using WHS hardware....
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old December 18, 2010, 05:12 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 51
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by matsta31 View Post
look at his desktop picture : ICE ! He must get 3 degrees cooler because of it !
Haha yupyup! My cooler is zalman cnps9900max and case is NZXT Phantom
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old December 18, 2010, 06:02 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 51
Default

As promised here is the NZXT phantom:



Uploaded with ImageShack.us



Uploaded with ImageShack.us



Uploaded with ImageShack.us



Uploaded with ImageShack.us
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old December 18, 2010, 06:26 AM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,824

My System Specs

Default

well then let me be the first to burst your bubble of joy on air it is a physical impossibility to get below ambient room temp hell even on water once your loop heats up it almost impossible so idling at those temps is just wrong. that being said the diode for temp monitoring is set to be 100% accurate at max tdp to have safe tmfunction and when it comes down to it load temp is all that matters but great load temps and great overclock nice chip
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old December 18, 2010, 07:41 AM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,891

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gingerbee View Post
well then let me be the first to burst your bubble of joy on air it is a physical impossibility to get below ambient room temp hell even on water once your loop heats up it almost impossible so idling at those temps is just wrong. that being said the diode for temp monitoring is set to be 100% accurate at max tdp to have safe tmfunction and when it comes down to it load temp is all that matters but great load temps and great overclock nice chip
Maybe he has a cold draft coming in through the window to the left of the PC ;)
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old December 18, 2010, 08:05 AM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,824

My System Specs

Default

lmao still great overclock
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old December 18, 2010, 09:12 AM
Sagath's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Petawawa, ON
Posts: 2,484

My System Specs

Default

I have the same batch. You got a lucky chip. My VID is 1.3v, and I need 1.3625 to hit 4.1 stable. Nice Lotto tho.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lpfan4ever View Post
AKG shot the hamsters, and then Perineum drove his Mustang with summer tires into the server.
My Disclaimer to any advice or comment I make;
Quote:
Originally Posted by CroSsFiRe2009 View Post
I'm a self certified whizbang repair technician with 20 years of professional bullshit so I don't know what I'm talking about
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old December 18, 2010, 09:20 AM
bojangles's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Oakville, ON
Posts: 2,683

My System Specs

Default

Why is hyperthreading not enabled? Try cooling that with your cooler.

But at the same time I don't believe those temps...even on 32 nm. Someone prove me wrong here.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Batch files. encorp O/S's, Drivers & General Software 33 October 8, 2010 11:47 AM
Anyone had this i7 930 batch yet? Jelah Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 13 August 9, 2010 05:17 PM
Core I7 Batch# Saterial CPU's and Motherboards 4 July 3, 2009 09:52 AM
batch numbers Rapid-X Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 8 May 12, 2008 10:29 PM
Intel Batch Codes enaberif CPU's and Motherboards 2 February 14, 2008 10:56 AM