Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old December 18, 2010, 10:36 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 51
Default

HT useless. I had it on before and it raised temp 5-8 degrees depending on which core. What is there not to believe? It is running maximum stress test and that's the temperature i'm getting?
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old December 18, 2010, 10:41 AM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,599

My System Specs

Default

Its less impressive overclocking without HT on with the 1366s, thats why you are getting such good temperatures.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old December 18, 2010, 10:46 AM
chrisk's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: GTA, Ontario
Posts: 7,406

My System Specs

Default

I believe the temps he has posted. No HT, and running at 2GHZ from the screenies I have seen here in the thread. the only thing I doubt might be the ambient temps, but that is most likely just an honest error.
__________________
Fold for team #54196
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old December 18, 2010, 11:57 AM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,828

My System Specs

Default

I believe your temps at max stress with ht off but i missed the whole ht off it's kinda pointless with it off if you got it use. but like i said before there's no way your idle temps are just wrong but that is also normal from a lot of chips the diode is set for max tdp turn on ht and see what you can get even if it goes up 10c your still fine and now you have 12 threads

oh and ht is not useless when you multi-app a lot it does make the difference get a digital temp gauge and an ir temp gauge these will let you know for sure. still like said before wicked overclock for 1.24vcore
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old December 18, 2010, 12:06 PM
rjbarker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Courtenay, B.C
Posts: 5,932

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
I have the same batch. You got a lucky chip. My VID is 1.3v, and I need 1.3625 to hit 4.1 stable. Nice Lotto tho.
Yep I need 1.386v on my 980X at 4.13 Ghz.... ;(

HT "off" explains both his low Temps and stable OC at that voltage....turn it "on" and its a different story altogether I bet...why "cripple" a 970 or 980X by turning it off ?
__________________
Introducing me n my OCD to Watercooling, is like taking an Alcoholic to an "all you can drink" Beach Bar in Mexico

.
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old December 20, 2010, 07:39 PM
Blu's Avatar
Blu Blu is offline
MVP
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Grande Prairie, Alberta
Posts: 394

My System Specs

Default

sweet overclock, I wonder if anyone will even consider buying 970's when the sandy bridge comes out.
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old December 20, 2010, 08:11 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 8,068

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Blu View Post
sweet overclock, I wonder if anyone will even consider buying 970's when the sandy bridge comes out.
LGA1155 CPU's are still only quad cores. If you have applications that take advantage of multiple threads (i.e. foldling@home) then hexacores will still be a better buy.
__________________
Mael
Big Lian Li
Forever Alone
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old December 23, 2010, 06:32 PM
MAC's Avatar
MAC MAC is online now
Associate Review Editor
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,016
Default

Just to reiterate something, idle temps are generally reported wrong since the integrated sensors aren't calibrated with low temperatures in mind. I don't know the specifics
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Batch files. encorp O/S's, Drivers & General Software 33 October 8, 2010 12:47 PM
Anyone had this i7 930 batch yet? Jelah Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 13 August 9, 2010 06:17 PM
Core I7 Batch# Saterial CPU's and Motherboards 4 July 3, 2009 10:52 AM
batch numbers Rapid-X Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 8 May 12, 2008 11:29 PM
Intel Batch Codes enaberif CPU's and Motherboards 2 February 14, 2008 11:56 AM