Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old January 3, 2008, 04:43 PM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,302

My System Specs

Default

I agree with what everyone has written except
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jack Rabbit View Post
Home does not support more than one monitor. For that alone I went "pro".
. it all depends on what you are going to be using it for most people can get away with home xp if you are planning on using allot of ram then I would go for xp pro 64 bit because ( if I remember correctly) it can use more ram also it is allot more secure then plan xp 64 bit home but remember that if you do go 64 bit you won't be able to use 16 bit applications like the 32 bit oops I just realised I am going way off subject here so I will stop lol.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old January 3, 2008, 08:18 PM
Delavan's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Mtl
Posts: 1,149
Default

I went with Windows XP Media Center Edition 2005. It's Pro in disguise and is cheaper. Can be PMed to around $110...
__________________
i7 4770K @ 4.5GHz / Corsair H100i / Maximus VI HERO / 8GB Corsair Vengeance Red LP 1.5V 1866 / N560GTX Ti Twin FROZR II OC / Corsair Performance Pro 128GB SSD / Intel 520 120GB SSD / WD Black 640 GB storage

ROG G53SX laptop: i7 2630QM / 12GB DDR3 / GTX560m 2GB / 750GB 7200rpm (14 000 3Dmarks06)
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old January 3, 2008, 08:25 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 268
Default

Err, neither?

Vista Premium or Ultimate x64.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old January 3, 2008, 09:17 PM
mr_plow_king's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: St-Hubert, Qc
Posts: 73

My System Specs

Default

vista stinks. it's slower than windows XP and there are no new important features I need in it. the only Windows I want to use is XP 64
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old January 3, 2008, 09:21 PM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,302

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Delavan View Post
I went with Windows XP Media Center Edition 2005. It's Pro in disguise and is cheaper. Can be PMed to around $110...
you get the remote and stuff also either way thats not to bad of a deal
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old January 3, 2008, 09:42 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 268
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mr_plow_king View Post
vista stinks. it's slower than windows XP and there are no new important features I need in it. the only Windows I want to use is XP 64
Well, ignorance is bliss. :)

Obviously, XP is a more familiar OS at this point to most, so if the OP feels more comfortable that route, that's fine.

But that doesn't take away from the fact that Vista's a far better OS overall.

Good reading for those under the mistaken impression that nothing is changed or improved in Vista:
Windows Vista: more than just a pretty face: Page 1
Windows Vista: Under the Hood: Page 1
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old January 3, 2008, 10:13 PM
mr_plow_king's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: St-Hubert, Qc
Posts: 73

My System Specs

Default

if it's that good then than why are many Vista users switching back to Windows XP ?
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old January 3, 2008, 11:47 PM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,302

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by -n7- View Post
Well, ignorance is bliss. :)

Obviously, XP is a more familiar OS at this point to most, so if the OP feels more comfortable that route, that's fine.

But that doesn't take away from the fact that Vista's a far better OS overall.

Good reading for those under the mistaken impression that nothing is changed or improved in Vista:
Windows Vista: more than just a pretty face: Page 1
Windows Vista: Under the Hood: Page 1
LOL from what planet are you from Vista is really Bad OS lol
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old January 6, 2008, 07:07 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Cambridge, ON.
Posts: 499
Talking

home should do fine.

Now of course on the main boot up screen where Pro was once proudly displayed that "designation" is gone.

So what is it really of XP we are running?-+

You never know what you are going to wake up to with Microsoft in bed with you!!

I have used both pro and home, home is on another drive here still
One thing I think I used to remember was pro had in folder options.. wasn't it the capability to untick enable simple file sharing?
wording to that effect-+
__________________
Cambridge,ON
MSI Z77 M Power/Bios17.13b1
3770K@4.5ghz
Mushkin #997007
Noctua NH-D14
Gigabyte GTX 660
Seasonic X-660
Corsair 540 Cube
Noctua case fans
Intel Speed Demon x 2

using Prime 95 27.9


Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Folding @ Home F.A.Q. Supergrover HardwareCanucks F@H Team 229 May 15, 2010 08:24 PM
Home Theatres, Whos Got One ? lcdguy Off Topic 11 May 10, 2007 12:12 PM
Home Security Shadowed Reviews & Articles from the Web 0 April 23, 2007 01:05 PM
Microsoft Home Server D1GGY Networking 2 March 7, 2007 06:58 PM