Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old November 13, 2010, 10:43 PM
BrianHanna's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: toronto
Posts: 1,049
Default idle i7 930 temps

Before i go into the overclocking part of my install, i just wanna make sure about these temps.

idle temps at 36/32/36/32

seem about right?

also, why is it showing 2.94 in cpu-z when i havent overclocked it? isn't stock 2.8?

__________________
Asus p6x58d-e / i7 930 @ 4ghz / G.skill 1600mhz 2x3gb 9-9-9-24 / Corsair TX750 / XFX HD 6850 1GB x2 @ 870/1070/ Coolermaster HAF 932 / Noctua nh12-up / Western Digital 500g Caviar black /Western Digital 1TB Caviar black 60Gb/ Seagate 7200.11 500g / OCZ Vertex 3 SSD / Samsung 2253BW / G5 / MX518 /

Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old November 13, 2010, 11:20 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Hamilton, Ontario
Posts: 271

My System Specs

Default

Are those temps with a stock cooler?

i7 930 stock is 2.8, it's just one of your cores is running at 22x and that's what is reported in CPU-z, not sure why it does that but I am sure someone else knows on this forum.

edit: So the 22x multiplier triggers when you only use 1 of the cores. Not sure what intel tech enables this.

Last edited by vohiep84; November 13, 2010 at 11:26 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old November 13, 2010, 11:28 PM
BrianHanna's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: toronto
Posts: 1,049
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vohiep84 View Post
Are those temps with a stock cooler?

i7 930 stock is 2.8, it's just one of your cores is running at 22x and that's what is reported in CPU-z, not sure why it does that but I am sure someone else knows on this forum.

edit: So the 22x multiplier triggers when you only use 1 of the cores. Not sure what intel tech enables this.

no, temps are with NCIX.com - Buy Noctua NH-U12P SE2 LGA775/1156/1366 AM2/AM3 I7/I5/PHENOM Heatpipe Cooler W/ 2XNH-P12 120MM Fans - NH-U12P SE2 In Canada.

ran prime95 (not for a stress test, just for 30mins to see max cpu temp)

at load max was 61/58/60/56
__________________
Asus p6x58d-e / i7 930 @ 4ghz / G.skill 1600mhz 2x3gb 9-9-9-24 / Corsair TX750 / XFX HD 6850 1GB x2 @ 870/1070/ Coolermaster HAF 932 / Noctua nh12-up / Western Digital 500g Caviar black /Western Digital 1TB Caviar black 60Gb/ Seagate 7200.11 500g / OCZ Vertex 3 SSD / Samsung 2253BW / G5 / MX518 /

Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old November 13, 2010, 11:29 PM
BrianHanna's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: toronto
Posts: 1,049
Default

__________________
Asus p6x58d-e / i7 930 @ 4ghz / G.skill 1600mhz 2x3gb 9-9-9-24 / Corsair TX750 / XFX HD 6850 1GB x2 @ 870/1070/ Coolermaster HAF 932 / Noctua nh12-up / Western Digital 500g Caviar black /Western Digital 1TB Caviar black 60Gb/ Seagate 7200.11 500g / OCZ Vertex 3 SSD / Samsung 2253BW / G5 / MX518 /

Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old November 13, 2010, 11:32 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Hamilton, Ontario
Posts: 271

My System Specs

Default

Yeah those temps are fine for that heatsink.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old November 14, 2010, 02:05 PM
homer98's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Hamilton, ON
Posts: 130

My System Specs

Default

You shouldnt really be worried about idle temps as long as they arent ridiculously high. its more about load temps, test with linx or prime95 or OCCT, whatever you want, but thats the true test to see if your cooler is working properly.

And as said before, the new intel cpu's have turbo boost, which increases the multiplier. thats why it shows ~2.94 Ghz, 133 x 22 = ~2.94
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old November 14, 2010, 06:54 PM
Soultribunal's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 8,048

My System Specs

Default

The clock is normal, though I set mine when clocking in my RAM to 21X133 which allowed for the 1600 Speed of my RAM.

Temps are normal too, i7's are hot chips (considering I came from cool running 775's and AM3's) and that is normal. I've got my i7 under water and my temps are better but not by much.

ST
__________________




"We know not why he calls for us, only that when he does we must answer" - DMP 2009

"Dear Iceberg, I am sorry to hear about global warming. Karma is a bitch. Signed - Titanic"

I would rather believe and find god doesn't exist than to not believe and find that he does.

www.realhardwarereviews.com
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old December 31, 2010, 06:11 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: montreal, canada
Posts: 29
Default

If you are worried about temps, and do not care to OC your CPU too much. You can decrease your multiplier and increase you BLCK to get your target CPU frequecy, this should end up decreasing your temp's at load time in most cases.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New CPU HS made load temps lower, idle HIGHER?? clone63 CPU's and Motherboards 6 July 20, 2009 10:31 AM
E8400 Idle temps? Realityshift Air Cooling 12 May 23, 2009 01:58 PM
idle temps for Q9550 SmogTown CPU's and Motherboards 10 May 14, 2009 10:41 AM
Post your IDLE temps! BrianHanna Cases 28 February 23, 2009 09:58 AM
E8400 Idle Temps... rjbarker Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 13 April 14, 2008 02:36 PM