Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21 (permalink)  
Old November 7, 2010, 03:52 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

cool. just price that pq-e accordingly, some of us cheaper folders like 2 or more pci-e slots you know?

that cooler will help you on your quest. when you reach 4.2 howler in here plz :)
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old November 7, 2010, 03:57 PM
BrianHanna's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: toronto
Posts: 1,049
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by _dangtx_ View Post
cool. just price that pq-e accordingly, some of us cheaper folders like 2 or more pci-e slots you know?

that cooler will help you on your quest. when you reach 4.2 howler in here plz :)

that might take a while lol, i know ziltch about overclocking i7s
__________________
Asus p6x58d-e / i7 930 @ 4ghz / G.skill 1600mhz 2x3gb 9-9-9-24 / Corsair TX750 / XFX HD 6850 1GB x2 @ 870/1070/ Coolermaster HAF 932 / Noctua nh12-up / Western Digital 500g Caviar black /Western Digital 1TB Caviar black 60Gb/ Seagate 7200.11 500g / OCZ Vertex 3 SSD / Samsung 2253BW / G5 / MX518 /

Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old November 7, 2010, 04:23 PM
rjbarker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Courtenay, B.C
Posts: 5,932

My System Specs

Default

^^ You'll learn quick !!!
__________________
Introducing me n my OCD to Watercooling, is like taking an Alcoholic to an "all you can drink" Beach Bar in Mexico

.
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old November 7, 2010, 07:11 PM
bvsbutthd101's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 389

My System Specs

Default

ok everyone, just completely forget what I said, go for the 930 :)
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old November 7, 2010, 07:49 PM
BrianHanna's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: toronto
Posts: 1,049
Default

Im getting mixed messages about the asus sabertooth.

I really do want to stick with Asus, what do you guys would be a good board to overclock with? Not sure i want to spend more than like 230 or so.

thinking of asus p6x58d http://www.canadacomputers.com/product_info.php?cPath=26_342&item_id=030576

and price matching it on ncix
__________________
Asus p6x58d-e / i7 930 @ 4ghz / G.skill 1600mhz 2x3gb 9-9-9-24 / Corsair TX750 / XFX HD 6850 1GB x2 @ 870/1070/ Coolermaster HAF 932 / Noctua nh12-up / Western Digital 500g Caviar black /Western Digital 1TB Caviar black 60Gb/ Seagate 7200.11 500g / OCZ Vertex 3 SSD / Samsung 2253BW / G5 / MX518 /


Last edited by BrianHanna; November 7, 2010 at 07:59 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old November 7, 2010, 07:53 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

how about a giga ud3? rma #'s on the sabertooth are interesting...:)
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old November 8, 2010, 05:06 PM
BrianHanna's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: toronto
Posts: 1,049
Default

aw crap, i just realized, what's going to happen to my windows 7 when i install a new CPU, Mobo and ram?!

am i going to have to do a reinstall?
__________________
Asus p6x58d-e / i7 930 @ 4ghz / G.skill 1600mhz 2x3gb 9-9-9-24 / Corsair TX750 / XFX HD 6850 1GB x2 @ 870/1070/ Coolermaster HAF 932 / Noctua nh12-up / Western Digital 500g Caviar black /Western Digital 1TB Caviar black 60Gb/ Seagate 7200.11 500g / OCZ Vertex 3 SSD / Samsung 2253BW / G5 / MX518 /

Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old November 12, 2010, 03:44 PM
BrianHanna's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: toronto
Posts: 1,049
Default

well, my i7 930 came in today, along with the noctua nh-u12p, and tomorow im going to the markham location to pick up the motherboard and ram
__________________
Asus p6x58d-e / i7 930 @ 4ghz / G.skill 1600mhz 2x3gb 9-9-9-24 / Corsair TX750 / XFX HD 6850 1GB x2 @ 870/1070/ Coolermaster HAF 932 / Noctua nh12-up / Western Digital 500g Caviar black /Western Digital 1TB Caviar black 60Gb/ Seagate 7200.11 500g / OCZ Vertex 3 SSD / Samsung 2253BW / G5 / MX518 /

Reply With Quote
  #29 (permalink)  
Old November 12, 2010, 03:49 PM
bvsbutthd101's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 389

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BrianHanna View Post
aw crap, i just realized, what's going to happen to my windows 7 when i install a new CPU, Mobo and ram?!

am i going to have to do a reinstall?
When I got my new hardware I didn't reinstall windows 7, but a couple months down the road windows started crapping out on me, so I was forced to reinstall.

So I recommend backing up and doing a clean install.
Reply With Quote
  #30 (permalink)  
Old November 12, 2010, 03:51 PM
rjbarker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Courtenay, B.C
Posts: 5,932

My System Specs

Default

CPU + Mobo = New 1366 Patform = Clean W7 install
__________________
Introducing me n my OCD to Watercooling, is like taking an Alcoholic to an "all you can drink" Beach Bar in Mexico

.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Max out the S775 or move up to I7? Dr_BenD_over CPU's and Motherboards 20 December 23, 2009 03:36 PM
T-Rad2 GTX the Best move I ever made MarkOne Video Cards 12 October 23, 2009 09:57 PM
Is it worth the move to I7? quikgp CPU's and Motherboards 31 May 14, 2009 05:31 PM
Cheapest way to move interprovincially? vulcan500rider Off Topic 11 October 5, 2008 11:41 AM
which one, and can i move it ? Unklmo Troubleshooting 4 June 30, 2007 08:23 PM