Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old October 24, 2010, 12:18 PM
bvsbutthd101's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 389

My System Specs

Default My load temps when using Linx, everything maxed

Are this temps to high, I just ran Linx, I know my cpu will never get this hot while playing games
but I just want to get some opinions from you guys.

I'm using a corsair H50 cpu cooler push/push method on a i7 930 @ 4 ghz

Full Load: 11th pass
Name:  Untitled.jpg
Views: 348
Size:  124.8 KB

When it finished:
Name:  Untitled1.jpg
Views: 325
Size:  125.7 KB
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old October 24, 2010, 01:54 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 48
Default

Turn down the voltage! Your temperature is above 90!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old October 24, 2010, 02:24 PM
Sagath's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Petawawa, ON
Posts: 2,453

My System Specs

Default

You have one core at 98c. i7's throttle back at 100c. Those temps are too high.

Xinhang is a little dramatic, your chip doesnt have to be <75c. Stock coolers a 930 can hit 80c+ depending on the case. Technically anything under 100c is fine, but if that was my chip and it was edging on intel thermal specs, I'd be changing some things.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lpfan4ever View Post
AKG shot the hamsters, and then Perineum drove his Mustang with summer tires into the server.
My Disclaimer to any advice or comment I make;
Quote:
Originally Posted by CroSsFiRe2009 View Post
I'm a self certified whizbang repair technician with 20 years of professional bullshit so I don't know what I'm talking about
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old October 24, 2010, 02:35 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

a good 10-15 c over what i would like to see. but on air you cant ask for much lol
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old October 24, 2010, 05:50 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Hamilton, Ontario
Posts: 271

My System Specs

Default

Yeah those tempatures are too high.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old October 24, 2010, 07:52 PM
bvsbutthd101's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 389

My System Specs

Default

i only have it 1 setting above 1.3 v on the vcore. I think it's like 1.3065 v

Last edited by bvsbutthd101; October 24, 2010 at 08:01 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old October 24, 2010, 08:05 PM
rjbarker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Courtenay, B.C
Posts: 5,794

My System Specs

Default

Too hot dude...Sagath nailed it....personally my OC's (including my 980X) don't exceed around 75C on Full Load testing........you'd have been better of with a good Air Cooler (Push / Pull) vs that Corsair H50 push / pull....

Also....again....that highly OC'd 480 is doing nothing for you but increasing overall Temps...
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old October 24, 2010, 08:06 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Canaduh
Posts: 375

My System Specs

Default

who cares about temp under linx?
i mean it's not meant to be run daily, what's your temp at when doing the most CPU taxing thing you usally do?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old October 24, 2010, 08:13 PM
rjbarker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Courtenay, B.C
Posts: 5,794

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
who cares about temp under linx?
i mean it's not meant to be run daily, what's your temp at when doing the most CPU taxing thing you usally do?


I think most of us "serious" OC'ers DO care what our Load Temps are while running Stress testing to "prove" stability......I for one certainly do.......

OP...if you can reduce yuor QPI Voltage (Vtt) from 200mv you'll reduce your Load Temps.....as your running relatively low vCore you may be able to by doing a little more tweaking with your QPI PLL and IOH / ICH Voltages......
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old October 24, 2010, 08:16 PM
bvsbutthd101's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 389

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rjbarker View Post


I think most of us "serious" OC'ers DO care what our Load Temps are while running Stress testing to "prove" stability......I for one certainly do.......
That's why I'm asking you guys, when I was watching this stress test, I was about to stop it when I saw the temps get that high, Do you think it could be my thermal compound, I might have to much on. If so which method should I use, rice grain trick and let the heatsink spread it out, or spread it out myself? I justt reduced the vcore to 1.3 v and the QPI to auto, I'll reduced the VTT now. 100 mv should be good right?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Safe temps for e8400 E0 under 100% load? lanken123 Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 13 February 14, 2010 08:32 PM
What graphics cards can run Age of Conan maxed? Red Lite3 Video Cards 25 September 5, 2009 01:00 AM
New CPU HS made load temps lower, idle HIGHER?? clone63 CPU's and Motherboards 6 July 20, 2009 10:31 AM
CPU temps vs Core temps sloth CPU's and Motherboards 13 October 19, 2008 12:34 PM
arctic silver ceramique application and opteron load temps magictorch CPU's and Motherboards 10 July 1, 2007 12:41 PM