Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old October 18, 2010, 05:00 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 67
Default Used Q6600 or new Q8300? $150 budget.

I really need to replace my E6300 and am selling a monitor for $150. Don't have the money to jump into a new system with DDR3 and whatnot. With the $150 budget I can grab a used Q6600 or a new Q8300. I wont be overclocking so that aspect doesn't matter, but I am aware that the Q6600 is famous for its overclockability (is that a word?), and that makes me somewhat nervous for buying used.

Anyway, give me your 2 cents.

Thanks all.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old October 18, 2010, 05:18 PM
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Kingston Ontario
Posts: 926
Default

Personally I'd go for the 9xxx series... I've owned a couple of them and they overclock very well. The Q6600 is great too but for a little more money you can get a Q9xxx series. You should be able to pick up a used one for around $150., whereas the Q6600 generally run about $100-$120. used.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old October 18, 2010, 05:23 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

first of all, what are you going to use the system for? what are the rest of the specs? if your programs only deal with single or max dual threaded business ,then go for a cheap duallie and oc the beejeezies out of it.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old October 18, 2010, 05:50 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 67
Default

I'm aiming quad core because I run audio sequencing and editing programs, but wouldn't right off a dual core as I do play games on it as well. The rest of the specs are fairly basic, 4gb 1066 DDR2, 500GB hard drive (may put a SSD in the mix if I can swing the extra cash), windows 7 64bit. The mobo has a 775 socket so no i cores.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old October 19, 2010, 01:35 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 67
Default

Q6600 is hit/miss depending on your board. In general if you want like a 3.2ghz or less clock yeah its good for most. But anything beyond it you need to put in some serious work.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old October 19, 2010, 01:53 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,775

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by yanhchan View Post
Q6600 is hit/miss depending on your board. In general if you want like a 3.2ghz or less clock yeah its good for most. But anything beyond it you need to put in some serious work.
I think that 3.4GZ is not difficult to achieve. I would say that 3.6Gz needs work on air.
__________________

Back up - Ebay (Inik1) or Heatware
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old October 19, 2010, 01:58 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 67
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Inik View Post
I think that 3.4GZ is not difficult to achieve. I would say that 3.6Gz needs work on air.
Was at 3.4 for a while, clocked back down to 3.2 a month ago was using a OCZ Vanquisher with MX2 still had heat issues, open case. I guess the problem was its was on a P5Q Pro Turbo haha

**Sorry to OP for threadjack**
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old November 4, 2010, 09:08 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 735
Default

I would like to know where you guys are finding these cheap prices for Q9xxx series of processors. On ebay, the cheapest is $230+ and then the shipping tacked onto that makes it almost $300. I have only noticed one ad for one here and the seller is asking $300.

You say you can get it for $150?!? Okay, you buy it for me and I'll pay you! LOL
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old November 4, 2010, 10:17 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Lake Cowichan, B.C.
Posts: 218

My System Specs

Default

Here's a Q8300 that's close to the $150 before Tax and Shipping.

Intel Core 2 Quad Q8300 Quad Core Processor LGA775 2.5GHZ Yorkfield 1333FSB 4MB Retail Box - DirectCanada
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old November 4, 2010, 10:30 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 22
Default

q6600 is my answer, i have mine running 3.2ghz on air, highest temp I see is 42 degrees celsius
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
S775 for my Q8300... GT7R CPU's and Motherboards 6 October 11, 2010 12:40 AM
Antec Announces Mini-ITX Cases: ISK 300-150 & 310-150 FiXT Press Releases & Tech News 2 January 29, 2010 12:11 PM
[WTB] Q6600 or any budget 775 quad core _dangtx_ Buy/Sell & Trade 12 August 4, 2009 08:38 PM
[FS] FS: 150 GB Velociraptors, Q6600 G0, CPU cooler buzzkill Buy/Sell & Trade 3 December 30, 2008 05:47 AM
Q6600 vs Q9550. The extra 150$ worth it? chouchou CPU's and Motherboards 12 November 18, 2008 03:24 PM