Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old October 15, 2010, 01:12 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Lake Cowichan, B.C.
Posts: 218

My System Specs

Default How much better will the new cpu be ?

My current CPU is a Pentium D 930.

The new CPU I'm going to be getting is a Pentium Dual Core E6500.

The Question is how much better is the E6500 over the Pentium D 930 ?

P.S.

I'm also upgrading my Graphics card from a 9800GT to a GTS 450.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old October 15, 2010, 02:17 AM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

in terms of performance and wattage per mhz, superior. its a core 2 architecture afterall.

does your old mobo support the new cpu? full specs please.

wait a little bit on the gpu purchase...give or take a week or two.


Budget CPU for Enthusiasts: Intel Celeron E3300 Processor Review (page 2) - X-bit labs

Budget CPU for Enthusiasts: Intel Celeron E3300 Processor Review (page 5) - X-bit labs

Budget CPU for Enthusiasts: Intel Celeron E3300 Processor Review (page 8) - X-bit labs




do get the 3300, its the same, a little bit slower at stock but overclocks just as good.


it ll do easy 3.2 on stock, higher if you dont mind the stock fan noise.


edit : same if you dont mind 1 meg of cache. for a value cpu it doesnt matter much.

Last edited by _dangtx_; October 15, 2010 at 02:34 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old October 15, 2010, 07:00 AM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,880

My System Specs

Default

E6500 will be quite the bump in performance, and power savings. Though you may want to consider other chips depending on what your motherboard supports.

I'd look at the E5400 personally.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old October 15, 2010, 11:04 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Lake Cowichan, B.C.
Posts: 218

My System Specs

Default

My Motherboard is the Asus P5E it has the X38 chipset.

The CPU's supported by my Motherboard are as follows.

Core 2 Quad
Core 2 Extreme
Core 2 Duo
Pentium Extreme
Pentium D
Pentium 4

It also supports Next-gen 45nm multi-core CPU's.

P.S. The OS I'm running is Win 7 64-bit.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old October 15, 2010, 11:56 AM
Soultribunal's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 8,062

My System Specs

Default

I would upgrade, I think the old D's were netburst or whatever it was called back then. The new 45nm dualies are really a good upgrade from what you have now for a good net in performance.

I would go with JD's suggestion if your board supports it.

ST
__________________




"We know not why he calls for us, only that when he does we must answer" - DMP 2009

"Dear Iceberg, I am sorry to hear about global warming. Karma is a bitch. Signed - Titanic"

I would rather believe and find god doesn't exist than to not believe and find that he does.

www.realhardwarereviews.com
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old October 15, 2010, 12:02 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,880

My System Specs

Default

Well that's a solid board.

Why don't you look at a Core 2 Quad instead? Something in the 9x50 series would be ideal. 9x00 would be okay too, but I'd pass on the 8x00 series.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old October 16, 2010, 12:52 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Lake Cowichan, B.C.
Posts: 218

My System Specs

Default

I only have a total of $275 CAD to get a newer CPU and a DX11 Video card.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old October 16, 2010, 11:12 AM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,880

My System Specs

Default

Personally, I don't think going from a 9800GT to a GTS450 is worthwhile. There's honestly no need for DX11 right now.

If your going to upgrade, you need to go with at least the GTX460 or HD5770 (but ATI has new cards coming in a few weeks).

If you want a cheap CPU though, grab the E5400. Goes for like $70 new.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old October 16, 2010, 02:40 PM
Dr_BenD_over's Avatar
Fallen Folder
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,418

My System Specs

Default

DX11 ain't that great right now. If a 450 is your upgrade path, stick that cash into a better CPU (make sure to upgrade to the latest BIOS first though)
__________________
All's well that's Haswell
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old October 16, 2010, 03:14 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

275cad? you can catch a good deal on a 5870 :)
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[Review] 2010 CPU Blocks RoundUp - Supreme HF, Apogee XT, Koolance CPU-360 and HK 3.0 Dazmode Water Cooling 3 May 29, 2010 06:52 PM
Can I add a cpu with slightly diff speed rating to existing single CPU config? HoTiCE_ CPU's and Motherboards 3 April 1, 2010 08:52 PM
CPU and cpu block questions miggs78 Water Cooling 7 August 10, 2009 01:14 AM
which temps are correct? cpu, cpu core1? Shadowmeph Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 4 July 13, 2009 06:23 PM
CPU use @ 57% and inactive processe use 93% of the CPu WTH ebdoradz Off Topic 6 February 26, 2008 06:34 PM