Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old October 17, 2010, 09:03 AM
Delavan's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Mtl
Posts: 1,149
Default

Try to grab a quad, especially if you keep your CPU a long time...

Second-hand or brand new...Q8300 ($155 at the egg) or Q8400? a little overclockin' on top of that down the road?

I agree with others...go either GTX460 or 5770...the GTX450 is not really appealing to you...the 5770s are selling for cheaper and cheaper ($135-140 after MIR), especially because the HD6***-series are coming out...

DAN???? Where do you find 5870s for $275 again? Craig's?
__________________
i7 4770K @ 4.5GHz / Corsair H100i / Maximus VI HERO / 8GB Corsair Vengeance Red LP 1.5V 1866 / N560GTX Ti Twin FROZR II OC / Corsair Performance Pro 128GB SSD / Intel 520 120GB SSD / WD Black 640 GB storage

ROG G53SX laptop: i7 2630QM / 12GB DDR3 / GTX560m 2GB / 750GB 7200rpm (14 000 3Dmarks06)
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old October 17, 2010, 09:39 AM
jcmaz's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 2,453

My System Specs

Default

If you are really on a budget, just get a E21X0 dual core and OC the hell out of it :) You can probably get them for dirt cheap. Then spend the rest on a GTX 460 768MB
__________________
“Wise men speak because they have something to say; Fools because they have to say something.”

-Plato
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old October 17, 2010, 01:56 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

ive seen at 250. maybe the scare of 'better' stuff coming out.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old October 17, 2010, 04:22 PM
Wurmer's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Montreal
Posts: 264

My System Specs

Default

A quad would be a nice upgrade but I think that a E 8400-8500-8600 could be a viable option if you can find one used on the cheap. Even if they are yesterday's favorites, they stil have plenty of power for decent gaming. Coupled with a decent GPU, you should end up with something that will suit your needs.
__________________


Last edited by Wurmer; October 18, 2010 at 02:53 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old October 18, 2010, 12:46 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Lake Cowichan, B.C.
Posts: 218

My System Specs

Default

Is my current CPU the Pentium D 930. Classed as a 32-bit or 64-bit Processor.
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old October 20, 2010, 04:00 PM
Soultribunal's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 8,062

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by grifter11 View Post
Is my current CPU the Pentium D 930. Classed as a 32-bit or 64-bit Processor.

Both, I think. I'd have to dig up some info to be certain.

Regardless Find a nice new dualie or used quad that your board supports. And Grab a GTS450.

I still think thats a good upgrade path for you.

ST
__________________




"We know not why he calls for us, only that when he does we must answer" - DMP 2009

"Dear Iceberg, I am sorry to hear about global warming. Karma is a bitch. Signed - Titanic"

I would rather believe and find god doesn't exist than to not believe and find that he does.

www.realhardwarereviews.com
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old October 20, 2010, 04:30 PM
Dr_BenD_over's Avatar
Fallen Folder
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,418

My System Specs

Default

Pentium D's were 64bit

www.neeyik.info - AMD & Intel CPU Specifications
__________________
All's well that's Haswell
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old October 21, 2010, 05:36 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Lake Cowichan, B.C.
Posts: 218

My System Specs

Default

I ordered the Pentium Dual Core E6700 3.2GHz today from the NCIX website at around 2:30pm PST.
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old October 30, 2010, 04:19 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 240

My System Specs

Default

if i were you i would save up money and not buy the 450 gts

NVIDIA

it is NOT that much faster than a 9800 gt.
8800 gt = 9800 gt

will it be better at some things ya sure
will you be like wow what a difference, no you won't

you need to save up for a 460 gtx / 6850 minimum to be able to go
OH WOW amazing
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old October 30, 2010, 07:43 PM
rjbarker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Courtenay, B.C
Posts: 5,932

My System Specs

Default

Minimum GTX 460.....save save save ;)
__________________
Introducing me n my OCD to Watercooling, is like taking an Alcoholic to an "all you can drink" Beach Bar in Mexico

.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[Review] 2010 CPU Blocks RoundUp - Supreme HF, Apogee XT, Koolance CPU-360 and HK 3.0 Dazmode Water Cooling 3 May 29, 2010 06:52 PM
Can I add a cpu with slightly diff speed rating to existing single CPU config? HoTiCE_ CPU's and Motherboards 3 April 1, 2010 08:52 PM
CPU and cpu block questions miggs78 Water Cooling 7 August 10, 2009 01:14 AM
which temps are correct? cpu, cpu core1? Shadowmeph Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 4 July 13, 2009 06:23 PM
CPU use @ 57% and inactive processe use 93% of the CPu WTH ebdoradz Off Topic 6 February 26, 2008 06:34 PM