Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old October 1, 2010, 05:03 PM
belgolas's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: St. Thomas Ontario close to london
Posts: 3,921

My System Specs

Default

When I OC I usually don't run stress testing programs longer than 10 minutes and the keep moving up. When I get errors and/or windows becomes buggy then I just go down. No point spending days to overclock when you can get a good enough job in just a few hours. Then when I am sure I hit the relative max OC I then run the stress test over night or for several hours.

Personally I don't care about getting the absolute max OC cause I am too lazy. No point wasting a day just to get a 100-200 more mhz when in real world applications it wont matter. Just my opinion though.
__________________

Sponsor a child!
Fight poverty.

Qoute by Perineum
"ID10T. I just BETCHA he's got 9 toolbars on his web browser right now."
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old October 1, 2010, 06:54 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,868

My System Specs

Default

I'd suggest using something like Prime95 or LinX rather than Everest for stress testing.

What version of Photoshop do you have? Check Edit > Preferences > Performance and see if it's using your video card. If not, try enabling it and see if it helps.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old October 2, 2010, 06:30 AM
Pike's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Collingwood, Ontario
Posts: 171

My System Specs

Default

I have the same chip and I'm running CAD, GIS, and Photoshop...sometimes all at the same time. I've yet to run into issues. But if you have a virtual OS going too, then you'll see some slowdowns but nothing to lock you up. The E8400 is a damn good work horse
__________________
"It is no measure of health to be well adjusted to a profoundly sick society" - J. Krishnamurti

E8400@3.0Ghz - Gigabyte EP45 UD3L - OCZ 4GB PC2-8500 DDR2 - Sapphire 5750 512MB - 5 Seagate HD 500GB - Plextor 712A DVD-RW - CM HAF 922
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old October 5, 2010, 08:14 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 167
Talking

Quote:
Originally Posted by jdrom17 View Post
I'd suggest using something like Prime95 or LinX rather than Everest for stress testing.

What version of Photoshop do you have? Check Edit > Preferences > Performance and see if it's using your video card. If not, try enabling it and see if it helps.

Thanks. I checked the preferences and found that it was set to utilize 4G of my available 8G. I've increased it to 7.5G. The GPU is also enabled. Hope to see some improvements.
__________________
ASUS P6X58D-E; INTEL i7 950 ; NOCTUA NH-U12P; PNYGeForce GTX 460 OCX ; LIAN-LI PC-V1020 CASE; SEASONIC PLATINUM 860; WINDOWS 8 PRO 64-BIT.

Last edited by Malam; October 11, 2010 at 03:22 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old October 5, 2010, 08:16 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 167
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pike View Post
I have the same chip and I'm running CAD, GIS, and Photoshop...sometimes all at the same time. I've yet to run into issues. But if you have a virtual OS going too, then you'll see some slowdowns but nothing to lock you up. The E8400 is a damn good work horse
Thanks Pike. Where is your quote from (Krishnamurti's) ? Is it from a poem or book?
__________________
ASUS P6X58D-E; INTEL i7 950 ; NOCTUA NH-U12P; PNYGeForce GTX 460 OCX ; LIAN-LI PC-V1020 CASE; SEASONIC PLATINUM 860; WINDOWS 8 PRO 64-BIT.
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old October 11, 2010, 03:27 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 167
Default

I thought I had up to 12G RAM, but I have 8G. Will a boost to 16G help that much ? My motherboard can only take DDR2 240 pin 1066 modules. Will need 4 modules of 4G each - most stores around sell only 2G modules max. I am in Toronto, if you know a store that sells the 4G modules please let me know.
__________________
ASUS P6X58D-E; INTEL i7 950 ; NOCTUA NH-U12P; PNYGeForce GTX 460 OCX ; LIAN-LI PC-V1020 CASE; SEASONIC PLATINUM 860; WINDOWS 8 PRO 64-BIT.
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old October 11, 2010, 04:20 PM
Pine's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 162
Default

More RAM will do almost no good for you, 8GB is more than enough for any current day task.
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old October 11, 2010, 04:27 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 167
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pine View Post
More RAM will do almost no good for you, 8GB is more than enough for any current day task.
Thanks Pine.
__________________
ASUS P6X58D-E; INTEL i7 950 ; NOCTUA NH-U12P; PNYGeForce GTX 460 OCX ; LIAN-LI PC-V1020 CASE; SEASONIC PLATINUM 860; WINDOWS 8 PRO 64-BIT.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Core 2 Quad Upgrade planned for 6 months to 1 year down the road... grifter11 New Builds 22 August 12, 2009 07:17 PM
Intel Core 2 Quad Q8200 vs Intel Core 2 Duo E8500 Hanibal{CA} New Builds 18 August 10, 2009 07:53 PM
[WTB] Core 2 Duo, Quad, Phenom phikshin Buy/Sell & Trade 3 January 16, 2009 06:01 PM
FS - Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 Dual Core Processor LGA775 Conroe 2.40GHZ 1066FSB 4MB L2 pat767 Buy/Sell & Trade 0 January 22, 2008 09:00 AM