Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old December 9, 2007, 06:22 PM
yycraven's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Martensville,SK
Posts: 937

My System Specs

Default should I upgrade

Ok so here is my question should I upgrade my AMD AM2 X2 4200+ to the new Phenom 9500 or should I just go intel , and get rid of my AMD all together.
thinking of going to the AMD Phenom 9500 quad core,but not 100% sure.
What do you guys think.


Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old December 9, 2007, 06:53 PM
MpG's Avatar
MpG MpG is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 3,144
Default

Need to know a little more than that. What does the rest of your hardware look like? Overclocked? What do you do with your computer?
__________________
i7 2600K | ASUS Maximus IV GENE-Z | 580GTX | Corsair DDR3-2133
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old December 9, 2007, 07:07 PM
yycraven's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Martensville,SK
Posts: 937

My System Specs

Default

I have Asus N2M-E mobo , eVGA 8800GTS 320MB, but bought a new BFG 8800GT OC,don't ask me why I did that, just did.the BFG is not even open yet still in the box.

RAM OCZ PC6400 800Mhz 2GB Kit 5-5-5-15 , WD 750 HDD sata 16mb cache 550Watt Thermaltake PSU.

there you go.
And for overclocking yes i do that as well as gamer.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old December 9, 2007, 07:24 PM
omgwtf's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,909
Default

The answer is in your head...just think a lil' bit..you need that bad the upgrade?..if you do..go ahead..
__________________
Memento mori
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old December 9, 2007, 07:29 PM
MpG's Avatar
MpG MpG is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 3,144
Default

How high is your processor overclocked?

So far, the Phenom's haven't been showing particularly good overclocking abilities, and only a small improvement in performance/clock speed. That basically means that any performance improvements are going to have to come from having two extra cores. Which is entirely dependent on the game being able to utilize more than two cores, of which there aren't very many yet.

Offhand, it's not looking like a good idea. There are probably better ways to spend that $250-300.
__________________
i7 2600K | ASUS Maximus IV GENE-Z | 580GTX | Corsair DDR3-2133
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old December 9, 2007, 07:31 PM
AkG's Avatar
AkG AkG is offline
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,316
Default

For the time being I would stay away from the Phenoms. They have a bad built in error that will probably fixed with later revisions. Until then there is a bios fix that has anywhere from 10 - 57 % performance penalty (and forget about Oc'ing anything past 2.4ghz = greater potential for BSOD's). Personally, I am waiting for the new Intel quads to come out early next year. Soooo if you can hold off for a month or two (and in the mean time OC the snot out of your existing setup) I would wait...and then jump all over a shiny new Intel system. Alternatively you could get a new system now (p35/x38) with a e6750 (and have fun Oc'ing it), and then later upgrade to a quad (say in q2 or q3 of next year) by then all the we will all have a really good idea on what quad gives the best bang for the buck / best OC potential.

just my $.02,
AkG
__________________
"If you ever start taking things too seriously, just remember that we are talking monkeys on an organic spaceship flying through the universe." -JR

“if your opponent has a conscience, then follow Gandhi. But if you enemy has no conscience, like Hitler, then follow Bonhoeffer.” - Dr. MLK jr
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old December 9, 2007, 07:35 PM
omgwtf's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,909
Default

You guys really need that over clocking potential don't you huh?
__________________
Memento mori
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old December 9, 2007, 08:15 PM
yycraven's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Martensville,SK
Posts: 937

My System Specs

Default

Thanks guy's I think I will wait till the new Intel Quads come out. I think I will sell my AMD and go Intel for sure. Maybe buy a E6600 off one of the members here and overclock that, and wait till next yr for new hardware. Oh yeah I had my AM2 X2 4200+ overclocked to 2.6 GHz on air.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old December 9, 2007, 08:55 PM
b1lk1's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Lindsay, Ontario
Posts: 2,524

My System Specs

Default

GPU matters most when gaming. There are no current games maxing out current dual core CPU's from AMD or Intel and the only benefit from upgrading is higher benchmark scores since you already have a really good video card.
__________________
MY HEATWARE
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old December 9, 2007, 09:08 PM
belgolas's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: St. Thomas, Ontario
Posts: 3,950

My System Specs

Default

wait till feb when you can get a new CPU (45NM) and GPU (9 series)!
__________________

Sponsor a child!
Fight poverty.

Qoute by Perineum
"ID10T. I just BETCHA he's got 9 toolbars on his web browser right now."
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Future upgrade... omgwtf CPU's and Motherboards 17 December 30, 2007 04:34 PM
Audigy 2 upgrade? Matty D Audio 3 November 7, 2007 10:35 AM
time to upgrade monsterp CPU's and Motherboards 6 October 30, 2007 09:04 PM
System Upgrade Jordan CPU's and Motherboards 15 October 22, 2007 08:56 AM
Upgrade Suggestions RBA CPU's and Motherboards 9 September 17, 2007 06:33 PM