Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
View Poll Results: What's your experience getting DDR3 to run stable on 790FX / 890FX?
Non AMD certified - No problems at rated specs 3 50.00%
Non AMD certified - unstable at rated specs 2 33.33%
AMD certified - No problems at rated specs 0 0%
Non AMD certified - unstable at rated specs 0 0%
Stock speeds (not OC'd) no problems with rated specs 0 0%
Stock speeds (not OC'd) unstable at rated specs 2 33.33%
Multiple Choice Poll. Voters: 6. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old August 1, 2010, 08:21 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,793

My System Specs

Default 790FX / 890FX Memory issues?

Looking to get a feel for what kind of experience folks have had getting non "AMD Branded" DDR3 memory to run stable at rated specs on these two chipsets.

I've had experience with both chipsets, and it seems to me that the great majority of stability issues I've run into while OC'd have been memory related which required me to not only drop down to (2t), but also to loosen the timings a fair bit from the rated specs.

Rather than just go on my own personal experience (I could be doing something wrong.... ;) ), and ancedotal evidence on the motherboard forums I'd appreciate it if you'd provide your own personal experience.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 8G Gskill 1866 Sniper / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / Seagate Barracuda 1TB
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 250G Samsung 840 Series SSD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old August 1, 2010, 08:39 AM
stoanee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Lacombe Alberta
Posts: 3,258

My System Specs

Default

Can you clarify "non AMD branded"?
__________________
heatware
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old August 1, 2010, 09:41 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,793

My System Specs

Default

There are many kits out there specifically branded for i5/i7, and a few sets are certified for AMD builds. The great majority of memory sets these days are intel certified, and that might actually be an issue due to secondary memory settings.

I suppose I should have said AMD certified instead of "branded".
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 8G Gskill 1866 Sniper / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / Seagate Barracuda 1TB
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 250G Samsung 840 Series SSD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old August 1, 2010, 10:15 AM
Biff73's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Singapore
Posts: 34

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sswilson View Post
There are many kits out there specifically branded for i5/i7, and a few sets are certified for AMD builds. The great majority of memory sets these days are intel certified, and that might actually be an issue due to secondary memory settings.

I suppose I should have said AMD certified instead of "branded".
I am using Team Xtreem DDR3-1866LV CL8 4x2GB with my 955 & Crosshair III 790FX,max mem speed I can run stable is 1720MHz on 8-8-8-24 timings,at 1800MHz it bsodHowever it fairs a lot better on a Core i7/P55 platform at max stable speeds at 2000MHz on 8-8-8-24 timingsYeah,Its an I5/I7 memory kit
__________________
Intel Core i7 5930K@4.6GHz@1.375v
Gigabyte X99 SOC
G-Skill Ripjaws4 X DDR4 2666 CL45 8x4GB@Stock
4x Zotac GTX 970 OC@1450/1850 SLI/with EK Full block Clear
Corsair 900D
Alphacool monsta 360 wc custom loop with 6 xGentle typhoon 1850rpm
Seasonic X1250 Modular 1050w 80+Gold PSU
2xWDC 1TB Caviar Black
OCZ Vertex 4 256gb SSD
RGB Led kit
Edifier S550 295W RMS 5.1 ch Speakers
Logitech G600 MMO Mouse
Ducky Shine 2
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old August 1, 2010, 12:49 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

i always use whatevers on sale and is a good brand name. usually no issues, 790/890 as well.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
890fx, which one ? rickbmb CPU's and Motherboards 3 August 1, 2010 02:09 AM
Which 890FX board will you be buying? BobbyLou CPU's and Motherboards 13 May 2, 2010 04:17 PM
790FX vs 790GX? CazyJimKU CPU's and Motherboards 7 July 6, 2009 08:06 PM
P5Q-E Memory issues Wurmer RAM 20 December 29, 2008 06:27 PM