Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old September 30, 2010, 07:51 PM
Soultribunal's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 8,066

My System Specs

Default

Something like a Zalman Flex with a Gelid on it will do wonders for your temps.
And idle isn't what to worry about, its load. And if the Cheap TX does better at load then its not so bad.

I'd still go a little above entry level, but thats me.

ST
__________________




"We know not why he calls for us, only that when he does we must answer" - DMP 2009

"Dear Iceberg, I am sorry to hear about global warming. Karma is a bitch. Signed - Titanic"

I would rather believe and find god doesn't exist than to not believe and find that he does.

www.realhardwarereviews.com
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old October 1, 2010, 12:52 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 4
Default

Oh thanks for the input guys, but what I think is that the thermal paste that I applied did not fully set in yet. What do you says about that though? Does thermal paste take weeks and hours for it to fully set in?
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old October 1, 2010, 06:57 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,904

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by airwicc View Post
Oh thanks for the input guys, but what I think is that the thermal paste that I applied did not fully set in yet. What do you says about that though? Does thermal paste take weeks and hours for it to fully set in?
Depends on what you used. Any "current" paste typically has no cure time. Older pastes like Arctic Silver 5 do though. I think its 200 hours? However, it only drops 1-2C typically, so nothing significant.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old October 2, 2010, 08:25 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 4
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jdrom17 View Post
Depends on what you used. Any "current" paste typically has no cure time. Older pastes like Arctic Silver 5 do though. I think its 200 hours? However, it only drops 1-2C typically, so nothing significant.
Ah okay then. I seriously thought thermal had something to do with it. Well... my cpu is now idling at 42c and with a load of about 55c/56c "not overclocked". I think thats pretty average?? I have no idea why idle and loads were much lower when the stock cpu fan was on.. maybe it was just a motherboard calculation gone wrong, but after reading comments and people having v8 cpu coolermasters and all that, it seems to make sense now i guess.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old October 2, 2010, 09:54 AM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,904

My System Specs

Default

Yeah those temperatures seem about right. I also think AMD sensors aren't as accurate as Intel ones, but I could be mistaken. Either way, unless you've tinkered with BIOS settings, the CPU knows better than to overheat and the PC will shut itself down, or throttle back the CPU until the temperature drops.

So no need to worry. You only need to worry when your overclocking and pumping more voltage into the chip.
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old October 2, 2010, 04:26 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Calgary
Posts: 21
Default

955 stock clock with a h70 cooler, I didn't bench it but core temps says 27 idle and after 2 hours of bc2, 46 was the high.
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old October 2, 2010, 06:27 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 4
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rickbmb View Post
955 stock clock with a h70 cooler, I didn't bench it but core temps says 27 idle and after 2 hours of bc2, 46 was the high.
Nice low readings. How does the h70 work btw? Is there a internal pump or something? I was even thinking about buying that.
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old October 2, 2010, 07:25 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Calgary
Posts: 21
Default

Yes it has a pump inside, very quiet and was fairly easy to install too. Very happy with it.

I get almost 10 degrees higher at idle when using the speedfan software, I read somewhere that
core temp is better for amd cpu's.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PHENOM II 955 WATER COOLING metalcore Water Cooling 38 January 2, 2010 01:32 AM
Phenom II 955 BE Pukka Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 4 December 16, 2009 10:41 AM
Phenom II 3.7ghz with stock cooling Jonwall Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 8 February 25, 2009 10:35 AM
CPU temps vs Core temps sloth CPU's and Motherboards 13 October 19, 2008 12:34 PM
E8400 Core temps - OCZ Vendetta 2 cooling Dwayne Air Cooling 8 August 17, 2008 01:13 PM