Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old July 24, 2010, 09:34 AM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

not too smart. lol. many galons of water wasted.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old July 24, 2010, 09:39 AM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,903

My System Specs

Default

I know somebody in the States that does this. Has all his blocks running through tap water. Constantly cold water entering so you don't need anything else really. I believe he opted for a reservoir + pump as a buffer of sorts.

Yes it's wasteful of water, but technically that water is all recycled and comes back to you at some point. He doesn't pay for water obviously (unlike most of us here).
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old July 24, 2010, 11:26 AM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

hope he doesnt miss the water co's morning paper that reads 'all water will be off between such and such' :)
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old July 24, 2010, 11:59 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 14
Default

i'd be more concerned about the water bill while trying to tweak the settings. but sounds to me like your dad is just trying to get you work up
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old July 24, 2010, 03:05 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: laval Qc
Posts: 1,072
Default

tell your dad to dig a trench n go geothermal
__________________
maximus IV extreme @ 5.1 1.41v

evga e760 +920 4.8 water5.0+ on phase linx stable
gtx285 tri-sli
dfi ut-p35 lt
e8600@4.6 1.38v
too much ram
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old July 24, 2010, 03:25 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 52
Default

This just sounds like a big mess having hose running from the bathroom and back to drain. If you have a water meter it will cost more to run it like that then to get a newer cpu like others have said and to be honest its just a huge waste of water. Tell your dad bad idea and shell out for a new cpu.
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old July 24, 2010, 03:30 PM
MpG's Avatar
MpG MpG is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 3,144
Default

Unless I'm mistaken, open-loop cooling is against the law, isn't it? Not that it's actually enforced or anything, mind. Just sayin'.

Although, if the positioning was somewhat practical, there might be something to be said for running the house main inlet (in a copper pipe) through your reservoir. It wouldn't be consistent, but as long as something in the house was using water, it would get refreshed, and could help reduce heat dump within the room itself.
__________________
i7 2600K | ASUS Maximus IV GENE-Z | 580GTX | Corsair DDR3-2133
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old July 24, 2010, 05:59 PM
BootlegUsher's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 453
Default

While we are talking about novel water cooling set ups, would it be possible to run your tubing outside your house where the radiator could be located in order to take advantage of cold winter weather. If you lived in a part of the world where it only went down to 5-10 degrees in winter then the water would be nice and cold.
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old July 24, 2010, 07:07 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,903

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BootlegUsher View Post
While we are talking about novel water cooling set ups, would it be possible to run your tubing outside your house where the radiator could be located in order to take advantage of cold winter weather. If you lived in a part of the world where it only went down to 5-10 degrees in winter then the water would be nice and cold.
Yes. Many people do this. It can be equally effective even during summer months as you can just hook up f*ckin loud fans to it for massive CFM (assuming its far enough from your windows/doors).
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old July 24, 2010, 11:18 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 52
Default

I have also seen a video on youtube of a guy using a small deep freeze filled with some antifreeze and the radiator submerged in the antifreeze I can't seem to find it again.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
#$%& My dad says... SiDiX007 Off Topic 4 May 30, 2010 02:52 PM
Ready For Motion Controls on PC? Valve & Razer thinks so! Thund3rball Gaming 8 January 11, 2010 06:28 PM
General Use PC for my Dad MarkOne New Builds 18 December 4, 2009 12:53 PM
HWC gets bigger, Corsair thinks so LCB001 Suggestions & Feedback 31 July 6, 2008 01:12 PM
OC'd a little 2 much me thinks. neophyte33 Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 8 December 2, 2007 12:30 AM