Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old July 20, 2010, 07:12 PM
Kommie986's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Waterloo, Ontario
Posts: 601

My System Specs

Default !!**URGENT**!! BROKEN CPU PIN ON MOTHERBOARD?

Hi guys. Just a few minutes ago, I took apart my rig and prepared to re-apply thermal paste tommorow. When I took out my Intel Core 2 Quad Q6700 from my Asus P5N72-T Premium, I noticed there was a screwed up pin on my CPU socket. I don't know if it's a broken pin or not. My CPU and motherboard were working perfectly fine before I took it apart. I'm not sure about now, but I saw it when I took it apart. PLEASE HELP! Below is the picture I took of it.
PS: My phone software is being gay on me, but It'll be up in a sec.

http://i26.tinypic.com/k4yryv.jpg
There

Last edited by Arinoth; July 21, 2010 at 07:49 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old July 20, 2010, 07:21 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kommie986 View Post

ok so were looking at a bent or broken pin. put cpu back and see what happens. dont want to sound mean, but if it works dont fix it. or fix it when you have time and dont rush. get it up and folding if it works again.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old July 20, 2010, 07:24 PM
martin_metal_88's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Quebec City
Posts: 4,175

My System Specs

Default

yup like dan said, just put it togheter and if the computer work fine keep it like that. If not, try to unbend it to the original position but this is pretty hard. if it was like that before you remove the CPU then it should work nice and sweet.
__________________
Ask for more

Martin_metal_88
Colenzo : See system spec!

Odysseus : I7 860 @ 3.6Ghz || GA P55-UD5 || G.skill Ripjaws F3-16000 2000Mhz 2X2GB || Coolermaster ATCS 840 || Silverstone Strider plus 850W || WD 640 black - WD 1TB green - Samsung F3 2TB || MSI 5670 1GB Cyclone ||Coolermaster Hyper 212 + ||

Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old July 20, 2010, 07:26 PM
Kommie986's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Waterloo, Ontario
Posts: 601

My System Specs

Default

UGH!!! My CPU was working fine before I took it out, and how is that that the moment I take it out, a pin bends?!!!
Edit: Working fine as in running at stock speeds with fine temperatures.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old July 20, 2010, 07:28 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 8,038

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by martin_metal_88 View Post
yup like dan said, just put it togheter and if the computer work fine keep it like that. If not, try to unbend it to the original position but this is pretty hard. if it was like that before you remove the CPU then it should work nice and sweet.
This. If you have to bend it back use the right equipment though. Make sure you have right tools though. You'll need a great magnifying glass and very precise tweezers. And even then it is very hard work.
__________________
Mael
Big Lian Li
Forever Alone
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old July 20, 2010, 07:29 PM
supaflyx3's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Chilliwack BC
Posts: 2,538

My System Specs

Default

Socket pins are VERY fragile, even more fragile then the pins on old CPUs, the slightest touch will bend/snap one straight off.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old July 20, 2010, 07:31 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

some pins are not needed. lucky dog you! just make sure you mention it when you sell it.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old July 20, 2010, 07:32 PM
Kommie986's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Waterloo, Ontario
Posts: 601

My System Specs

Default

So it's confirmed broken/bent? =[ Will this affect overclocking results?
Edit: Could this have happened because I was using a pressurized air duster on my botherboard? I was getting some dust from some stuff and I might have accidently sprayed the socket.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old July 20, 2010, 07:33 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kommie986 View Post
So it's confirmed broken/bent? =[ Will this affect overclocking results?
only trial and error will confirm it. again, when you sell it do mention it :)

ps i wouldnt try oc'ing it if its fine at stock.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old July 20, 2010, 07:35 PM
Kommie986's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Waterloo, Ontario
Posts: 601

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by _dangtx_ View Post
only trial and error will confirm it. again, when you sell it do mention it :)

ps i wouldnt try oc'ing it if its fine at stock.
Yeah, of course I will mention it. sakes. I jsut ed myself over for the next few months if I can't overclock.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
URGENT HELP WITH MY CPU!!! NineLives Troubleshooting 18 July 12, 2010 11:18 PM
Is it possible to make cpu seem broken? xtreme1 CPU's and Motherboards 10 May 28, 2009 11:54 PM
6-pin PCI Express to single 8-pin no_pulse Power Supplies 12 July 8, 2008 04:46 AM
3 Pin to 4 Pin Fan Plug Adaptor? Thund3rball Video Cards 6 March 25, 2008 01:46 PM
8 pin or 4+4 pin CPU connection ? Unklmo CPU's and Motherboards 4 August 8, 2007 06:05 PM