Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old July 13, 2010, 09:01 AM
Jakeman97's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Sunny Florida
Posts: 14

My System Specs

Default ASUS M4 Series Motherboards Ready for AMD Phenom II X6 processors

ASUS M4 Series Motherboards Ready for AMD Phenom II X6 processors

Model
Chipset
BIOS Version
M4A89GTD PRO
AMDŽ 890GX/SB850
1104
M4A89GTD PRO/USB3
AMDŽ 890GX/SB850
1104
Crosshair III Formula
AMDŽ 790FX/SB750
1503
M4N72-E
NVIDIA nForceŽ 750a SLI
2005
M4N82 DELUXE
NVIDIA nForceŽ 980a SLI with NVIDIA NVCC and ESA support
1803
M4N75TD
NVIDIA nForceŽ 750a SLIŽ
Supports NVIDIA Clock Calibration(NVCC) function
0903
M4N98TD EVO
NVIDIA nForceŽ 980a SLI
Supports NVIDIA Clock Calibration(NVCC) function
0603
M4A79 Deluxe
AMDŽ 790FX/SB750
3204
M4A79T Deluxe
AMDŽ 790FX/SB750
3004
M4A78T-E
AMDŽ 790GX/SB750
3204
M4A78-E
AMDŽ 790GX/SB750
2405
M4A78-E SE
AMDŽ 790GX/SB750
1405
M4A785TD-V EVO
AMDŽ 785G/SB710
2002
M4A785TD-M EVO
AMDŽ 785G/SB710
2004
M4A785D-M PRO
AMDŽ 785G/SB710
0801
M4A785T-M
AMDŽ 785G/SB710
2002
M4A785-M
AMDŽ 785G/SB710
0803
M4A785G HTPC
AMDŽ 785G/SB710
1402
M4A78-EM
AMDŽ 780G/SB700
2001
M4A78LT-M LE
AMDŽ 760G/SB710
0602
M4A78L-M
AMDŽ 760G/SB710
0601
M4A78 PLUS
AMDŽ 770/SB700
2002
M4A77TD PRO
AMDŽ 770/SB710
2002
M4A77TD
AMDŽ 770/SB710
2005
M4A77D
AMDŽ 770/SB710
2002
M4A77T
AMDŽ 770/SB710
2005
M4A77
AMDŽ 770/SB710
2002
M4N78 SE
NVIDIA nForceŽ 720D
1302
M4N68T PRO
NVIDIA nForceŽ 630a
0504
M2N68 PLUS
NVIDIA nForceŽ 630a
1101
M3N78-VM
NVIDIA GeForceŽ 8200
1502
M4N78-AM
NVIDIA GeForceŽ 8200
1001
M4N78-AM V2
NVIDIA GeForceŽ 8200
0901
M2N68-AM SE2
NVIDIA GeforceŽ 7025/nForce 630a
1304
M4N68T-M
NVIDIA GeforceŽ 7025/nForce 630a
0703
M4N68T-M LE
NVIDIA GeforceŽ 7025/nForce 630a
0601
M2N68-AM PLUS
NVIDIA GeforceŽ 7025/nForce 630a
1402

Hope this info helps somone out.
Jakeman97
__________________
#1
CoolerMaster 690 II // GA-890FXA-UD5 AM3 // Phenom ll X6 1055 Thuban 2.8GHz // Corsair HX 1000W // G.SKILL 4GB DDR3 1333 // 2 XFX Radeon HD 5770 // 2 Sg 500GB SATA3 7200.12 // CoolerMaster V8 CPU Cooler // Vista Ultimate SP2 x64 // Acer 223W
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old July 13, 2010, 06:53 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 1,223

My System Specs

Default Some M3 Series as well...

Support is starting to trickle in for the M3 series as well... ASUSTeK Computer Inc.-Support- for the 1090T shows the following:
M3A78-EM
M3N-H HDMI
M3N-HD HDMI
M3N-HT DELUXE

It looks like a new BIOS was also "released" for the motherboard I have, the M3A78-T earlier this month (2010/07/09) with description "Support new CPUs. Please refer to our website at: http://support.asus.com/cpusupport/cpusupport.aspx" although no new CPUs were added to the list
I'll try upgrading the BIOS to latest (with my current Phenom 9950) and will consider upgrading if the BIOS upgrade does not brick my mobo.

EDIT: 1090T...
__________________
"The computer programmer says they should drive the car around the block and see if the tire fixes itself." [src]

Last edited by frontier204; July 13, 2010 at 07:02 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old July 13, 2010, 08:38 PM
0o0 0o0 is offline
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Toronto ON
Posts: 855

My System Specs

Default

Out of curiosity, will a x6 chip work without an un-updated board long enough to flash it to a new bios? Or would it be necessary to use a older cpu to flash it, and then install the x6?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old July 14, 2010, 03:38 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 1,223

My System Specs

Default

I wouldn't put much faith in trying to flash with an incompatible BIOS. I read on the Asus forums that one person tried it and the computer wouldn't POST, but I don't remember how old that BIOS was.
A few years back with a Pentium 4 HT (2.4 GHz Northwood), I was able to install an OS onto a motherboard that was actually incompatible with the CPU I was putting in - it just ran horrifically slow because of a FSB speed mismatch.
__________________
"The computer programmer says they should drive the car around the block and see if the tire fixes itself." [src]
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old July 14, 2010, 03:49 PM
Soultribunal's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 8,052

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 0o0 View Post
Out of curiosity, will a x6 chip work without an un-updated board long enough to flash it to a new bios? Or would it be necessary to use a older cpu to flash it, and then install the x6?
With AMD every time I ran into this it worked just fine.
My father got my older S-Series Board that never ran an AM3 Athlon II. However there was BIOS support for it. All I did was pop in the chip, and use the USB Q-Flash right away to get an F10 BIOS on. Simple as that.
Even my EVGA Board needed a Flash, but it still loaded my i7 fine until I could image a disk and do it.

ST
__________________




"We know not why he calls for us, only that when he does we must answer" - DMP 2009

"Dear Iceberg, I am sorry to hear about global warming. Karma is a bitch. Signed - Titanic"

I would rather believe and find god doesn't exist than to not believe and find that he does.

www.realhardwarereviews.com
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AMD Phenom II X6 1090T & 1055T Six-Core Processors Review Comment Thread SKYMTL CPU's and Motherboards 61 May 27, 2010 11:43 PM
AMD Cancels Retail Phenom II X4 960T Thuban Quad Core Processors geokilla Press Releases & Tech News 17 May 13, 2010 10:08 PM
AMD Introduces Sub-$100 AMD Phenom II Processor, and AMD Athlon II Processors FiXT Press Releases & Tech News 3 January 25, 2010 03:31 PM