Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old November 25, 2007, 09:09 PM
Digitaldemon's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: 2 miles south of heaven.. east of eden
Posts: 308
Thumbs down EVGA 680i.. no 45nm Yorkfields... JUST WOLFSDALE>?

can you smell it?
.................................................. .............................................

EVGA 680i users,

The EVGA 680i SLI motherboard will support 45nm Wolfsdale (dual core) CPU's with an upcoming BIOS update. 45nm Yorkfield (quad core) CPU's will be supported on upcoming nForce 700-series SLI motherboards.

Thanks,

EVGATech_EvP

EVGA
__________________


Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old November 25, 2007, 09:48 PM
magictorch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Annapolis Valley, NS
Posts: 1,836
Default this was on the cards

After Babs post last week saying the QX9series were not going to work on the 680i because of a disagreement I wondered if it would spill over into the other 9 series quads.

It would be odd for EVGA 680i to be the only 680i targeted. They may just be the first to warn the consumer and ASUS etc will follow shortly.

Way to render a solid chipset obsolete Intel--I guess they dont give a crap now that they have pretty much crushed AMD.

Hopefully newer phenom binnings will give them a fight.
__________________
White Night:: i7920 (4ghz), Rampage III extreme (A1), Mushkin XP 1600 (9,9,9,24),SLI480., white MM horizon.
CPU: Feser 220 int.|Apogee GTZ|S.Res.rev2| MCP655.

GPU: PA120.3|S.Res.rev2|2x EK FC blocks| MCP655.

Last edited by magictorch; November 25, 2007 at 09:51 PM. Reason: extra
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old November 25, 2007, 10:06 PM
Digitaldemon's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: 2 miles south of heaven.. east of eden
Posts: 308
Default

I dont the asus will be affected.. due to it utilizing the x38 chipset... which is owned by INTEL./...
__________________


Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old November 25, 2007, 10:23 PM
Babrbarossa's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New Brunswick
Posts: 3,673

My System Specs

Default

Someone please correct me if I'm wrong, but I don't think any yorkfield is going torun on any 680i (apparently they sort of run on the DFI)

I'm sure they'll run on the 780i, but I'm not going to rush out and buy one - since it's pretty much the same board as the 680i , the last minute fixes they've made to it will probably only allow for limited fsb on the new chips- that said, it's starnge that they will work on the 780i, but can't be made to work on the 680i

Last edited by Babrbarossa; November 25, 2007 at 10:35 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old November 26, 2007, 01:44 AM
Digitaldemon's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: 2 miles south of heaven.. east of eden
Posts: 308
Default

the 780 is the same thng as the 680 with a few changes to board.. the pcie bus and something else.. the 680 according to some websites can be made to run a york.. with a new bios... but intel is pissed at any company that does not use intel chipsets and will strangle hold them any way that is possible..
__________________


Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old November 26, 2007, 11:30 PM
slugbug's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Montreal Area
Posts: 540
Default

Official response from XFX: Bjorn3d.com Forums brought to you by XFX - View Single Post - Yorkfield BIOS update for 680i SLI boards
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old November 28, 2007, 11:28 AM
BrainEater's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Calgary
Posts: 2,509
Default

I'm not sure of any of you have been keeping tabs on the 680i chipset , but I have news for you.

I run an Asus Striker.Over the last month I have had serious issues;I've gone thru 4 sets of ram.I've had to take the mobo in to the place I bought it twice ( I havnt used a tech in 8 years)......

I'm not the only one , and it's not just asus boards.it's inherent to the 680i chipset.

There are hundreds of people with the same issues.Some people have gone thru SEVERAL 680i's.

My local retailer told me the striker rma rate was 6% inside 10 months.a quick google of 'dead 680i' will bring up 125,000 hits.

----------------------

So as to the whole 680i wont support yorkfields ?

Who cares.It's a pos chipset .Noone should buy it.I'm replacing my motherboard ASAP , then I'm smashing this striker into very small pieces and mailing to asus with the instructions that they dump in the box and mail it to Nvidia.

__________________
Intel 3930k /rIVe/32 Gb vengeance LP/Nvidia TITAN/760/760/Intel 520's/WD raptors/etc...
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old November 28, 2007, 01:50 PM
Prof. Dr. Silver's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 1,187
Default

Hahahahahahaha! That was like the best post ever! LOL

You've just not been lucky. 680i is a great chip set and tbh...I've never had issues! But ehm....what are you going to replace it with?
__________________
Hardcore Folding at it's BEST! HWC - TPU.... There can be only one team in front! TPU, can you smell our *sses already?
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old November 28, 2007, 02:06 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,598
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BrainEater View Post
I'm not sure of any of you have been keeping tabs on the 680i chipset , but I have news for you.

I run an Asus Striker.Over the last month I have had serious issues;I've gone thru 4 sets of ram.I've had to take the mobo in to the place I bought it twice ( I havnt used a tech in 8 years)......

I'm not the only one , and it's not just asus boards.it's inherent to the 680i chipset.

There are hundreds of people with the same issues.Some people have gone thru SEVERAL 680i's.

My local retailer told me the striker rma rate was 6% inside 10 months.a quick google of 'dead 680i' will bring up 125,000 hits.

----------------------

So as to the whole 680i wont support yorkfields ?

Who cares.It's a pos chipset .Noone should buy it.I'm replacing my motherboard ASAP , then I'm smashing this striker into very small pieces and mailing to asus with the instructions that they dump in the box and mail it to Nvidia.

My 680i runs awesome aside from a bit of vdroop
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old November 28, 2007, 05:36 PM
BrainEater's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Calgary
Posts: 2,509
Default

Best post ever ? I'm not sure bout that but thanx anywayz , ya made me smile.

--------------

Lots of people have 680i's that run perfectly.
Mine did for 10 months then it failed.

From what I've seen around the intarweb , it's a dice roll.

My Striker is currently working , but for how long? it's a ticking timebomb.

My only advice to those of us that currently own 680i's would be ;

-latest bios is a must.
-Northbridge and southbride stock coolers are ass.Replace or fix ; this chipset runs hot.
-don't let bios 'auto control' ram voltages.

-----------

I'm not sure what I'll replace it with.I just hope it keeps working till I can afford to replace it.
__________________
Intel 3930k /rIVe/32 Gb vengeance LP/Nvidia TITAN/760/760/Intel 520's/WD raptors/etc...
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
EVGA 680i now supports Wolfdale! Babrbarossa CPU's and Motherboards 3 January 24, 2008 11:58 AM
New Bios for evga 680i just released! Babrbarossa CPU's and Motherboards 22 October 8, 2007 10:59 AM
evga 680i , which one ? Jim CPU's and Motherboards 3 August 28, 2007 11:03 AM
Review of the EVGA 680i by TechGage Babrbarossa Reviews & Articles from the Web 0 June 11, 2007 05:18 AM