Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #31 (permalink)  
Old October 17, 2010, 02:56 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

you can get away with using cheaper sinks for them fets. theres a pack of 12 i believe for 5 bucks at ncix, older tipe not as good as enzotech but hey.
Reply With Quote
  #32 (permalink)  
Old October 17, 2010, 03:35 PM
Patramix's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: between Montreal and Sherbrooke
Posts: 216

My System Specs

Default

i am getting the Enzotech MST-88, at 15$ not gona bother trying to install smaller sinks.

just need to convince myself of witch ram to buy now.
__________________
All of life is forged from Hell, Yet from its beauty our legacy began.

My Boinc Stats

Last edited by Patramix; October 17, 2010 at 05:25 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #33 (permalink)  
Old November 1, 2010, 10:04 AM
arbb5's Avatar
Rookie
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Truro, Nova Scotia
Posts: 22
Default

Great Review!! I just bought this board based on the review here and I love it!! I will be modding a cooler from an old Thermaltake Volcano 7+ that I have kicking around for the Mosfets.
Bought this along with a PII 555BE and 4GB G.Skill F3-12800CL8D Ram with the Scythe Yasya to keep it all cool, successful unlock of other 2 cores, raised multiplier to 18 to hit 3.6mhz stable without increasing stock volts of 1.4 and still running a cool 39c under load.. :) haven't tried to go higher yet, I will in time but for now I am extremely happy with this setup!! beats the hell out of my old faithful Opty165@2.6ghz that it replaced!!
__________________
Phenom II X2 555BE Unlocked to X4@3.6ghz / GA-870A-UD3 / 4 Gig (2x2GB) G.Skill F3 Ripjaws / EVGA GTX260 / Skythe Yasya / Tagan 2 Force II 600W



Last edited by arbb5; November 1, 2010 at 08:42 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #34 (permalink)  
Old January 21, 2011, 11:36 PM
Trial Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Malaysia
Posts: 1

My System Specs

Default

Hai evryone i'm a new user, i also use the GA-870A-UD3 MoBo...its great, can support Phenom II X6 processor and can support up to 16Gb DDR3 RAM, also can put 2 PCi-e card for crossfire...haha..nice MoBo for intermediate gamers....

Now im using the Phenom II x4 955BE 3.20Ghz, ATI RADEON HD5770 Flex Edition....

Last edited by bullygang; January 21, 2011 at 11:43 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #35 (permalink)  
Old February 25, 2011, 11:48 AM
Trial Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 1
Default

So what ram are people using with this MB?

I have Asusu M2N32 right now with 2gig DDR2-800 and will be upgrading to this Gigabyte GA-870A-UD3.
My upgrade path started by swapping out my Athlon X2 6000+ for a Athlon II X4 640 both at 3.0GHz.
Then I replaced my EVGA GTS 8800 320MB GPU with a Gigabyte GeForce GTX 560 Fermi 900MHZ 1GB.

I sure notice my Ram and 1000Mhz HT bus is holding my back on this good but old mother board. So I'll be getting this MB and DDR3 ram, Maybe a 64-120 Gig SSD if I can swing it!

Should I get 1866MHz ram and will it run at that speed, or does everything need to be OC'd to make it run that fast? Or do I just get 1600 or 1800 MHz sticks. I plan on 2x4Gig or 2x2Gig dual channel setup. I will likely purchase from NCIX online or any others in Vancouver, BC area.

Thanks,

Lee
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GIGABYTE GA-MA770-UD3 Motherboard Review Comment Thread MAC CPU's and Motherboards 16 August 13, 2011 01:10 AM
MSI 790FX-GD70 AM3 Motherboard Review Comment Thread SKYMTL CPU's and Motherboards 16 July 29, 2009 11:30 AM
Gigabyte GA-EP45-DQ6 Motherboard Review Comment Thread MAC CPU's and Motherboards 15 September 2, 2008 09:51 PM