Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old June 29, 2010, 01:09 PM
Rookie

Default GA-890FXA-UD5 Questions?

Hello,

I currently have F1 version of the BIOS and was hoping to update it to F3 version, but before I do this I want to know what are the differences between the 2 versions? What are the pros/cons of upgrading to this version?

Since I have never done this before, How can I update the BIOS without a Floppy Drive? I can't seem to do it in windows, because the installer doesn't seem to work with Windows7 64bit Version.

This isn't really a motherboard question, but what is the difference between AHCI and IDE? I have read in other forums that there really isn't a difference between the two. Can anyone explain why?

Anyways, thanks for all the help in advanced!

Noobie Builder ,
Charmster
CM Hyper 212+
Corsair TX750W PSU
Gigabyte GA-890FXA-UD5
G.Skill Ripjaws F3-12800CL7-2GBRM - 4GB
EVGA GeForce GTX 650Ti Boost
Old June 29, 2010, 02:04 PM
F@H

My System Specs

Quote:
Originally Posted by Charmster View Post
Hello,

I currently have F1 version of the BIOS and was hoping to update it to F3 version, but before I do this I want to know what are the differences between the 2 versions? What are the pros/cons of upgrading to this version?

Since I have never done this before, How can I update the BIOS without a Floppy Drive? I can't seem to do it in windows, because the installer doesn't seem to work with Windows7 64bit Version.

This isn't really a motherboard question, but what is the difference between AHCI and IDE? I have read in other forums that there really isn't a difference between the two. Can anyone explain why?

Anyways, thanks for all the help in advanced!

Noobie Builder ,
Charmster
I'll answer the questions I can in my reply.