Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old June 26, 2010, 05:15 PM
Ankhwatcher's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Posts: 41

My System Specs

Default Nvidia: were they sent here by the devil?

General Techies: Years ago you served myself in Build Wars, now I beg you to help me in my struggle against the bluescreens.

Okay, that Star Wars references is tortured enough.

A few years ago I built a system with and XFX 780i (Nvidia SLi) motherboard and two 9800GTX's.
Since then it has performed steadily worse all the time.

Running Vista Ultimate x64 it crashed constantly until I swapped out two of its RAM cards for 2 GB ones (taking it up to 6 GB) then the crashing stopped.
Until I installed Windows 7 Ultimate x64 and the crashing started again, mostly with memory management issues.
I abandoned RAID 0 as it had problems accessing it and took out one of the hard drives, which it had problems reading to.
The machine decided it didn't like having two graphics cards so I took one of those out.

I reseated the ram, reinstalled and did everything I could.

This week I unplugged everything from the motherboard, cleaned the whole case out and carefully plugged it all back in. I recreated my RAID 0 partition and reinstalled windows 7 on it. It won't even let me log in without crashing.

I've had it.
This computer has had problems alleging to come from its:
hard drives
ram
cd-rom
floppy
graphics cards
usb mouse
and printer

I'm calling bullshit. I think the motherboard is what's broken.

So what I need to know is: what motherboard can I replace it with.

Can I still run my two graphics cards if the MoBo isn't SLi?
I've come to really hate nforce over the years and I would like to leave it behind. But I'm stuck with 9800GTX's and DDR2 ram.

Suggestions?
__________________
Main System (now): Q9450 @ 2.667GHz | Asus P5Q Deluxe | 2x1GB Crucial Ballistix DDR2-800 | 2 x Samsung SpinPoint 500GB 7200RPM | Everest 800w | EVGA 9800GTX 512MB GDDR3 in SLi | Samsung 22" LCD Syncmaster 226CW, 1680x1050, 2ms, 3000:1 | G15 | G7 | Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit (goal)
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old June 26, 2010, 05:18 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,415

My System Specs

Default

You can run two cards, but you won't be able to run them in SLI.

What processor are you currently running?
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old June 26, 2010, 05:21 PM
Ankhwatcher's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Posts: 41

My System Specs

Default

Intel Q9450

My original system specs are still in my signature here.

If the graphics cards are not in SLi what do they do?
__________________
Main System (now): Q9450 @ 2.667GHz | Asus P5Q Deluxe | 2x1GB Crucial Ballistix DDR2-800 | 2 x Samsung SpinPoint 500GB 7200RPM | Everest 800w | EVGA 9800GTX 512MB GDDR3 in SLi | Samsung 22" LCD Syncmaster 226CW, 1680x1050, 2ms, 3000:1 | G15 | G7 | Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit (goal)
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old June 26, 2010, 05:31 PM
jcmaz's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 2,453

My System Specs

Default

Physics
__________________
“Wise men speak because they have something to say; Fools because they have to say something.”

-Plato
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old June 26, 2010, 05:33 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,415

My System Specs

Default

Just gives you the ability to run the extra monitors.

There are driver hacks out there which allow SLI on non-Nvidia chipsets, but that's a pita.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old June 26, 2010, 05:43 PM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,579

My System Specs

Default

Have you actually run memtest on any of your ram. Your initial sticks could have been defective and whenever it addressed a bad address on the ram you would blue screen.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old June 26, 2010, 05:54 PM
Ankhwatcher's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Posts: 41

My System Specs

Default

Yeah, I gave it a go. It never found anything.
I'll run 'em again now.
__________________
Main System (now): Q9450 @ 2.667GHz | Asus P5Q Deluxe | 2x1GB Crucial Ballistix DDR2-800 | 2 x Samsung SpinPoint 500GB 7200RPM | Everest 800w | EVGA 9800GTX 512MB GDDR3 in SLi | Samsung 22" LCD Syncmaster 226CW, 1680x1050, 2ms, 3000:1 | G15 | G7 | Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit (goal)
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old June 26, 2010, 06:04 PM
Ankhwatcher's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Posts: 41

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ankhwatcher View Post
Yeah, I gave it a go. It never found anything.
I'll run 'em again now.
I'm running the Windows Memory Diagnostic Tool in Basic Mode.
__________________
Main System (now): Q9450 @ 2.667GHz | Asus P5Q Deluxe | 2x1GB Crucial Ballistix DDR2-800 | 2 x Samsung SpinPoint 500GB 7200RPM | Everest 800w | EVGA 9800GTX 512MB GDDR3 in SLi | Samsung 22" LCD Syncmaster 226CW, 1680x1050, 2ms, 3000:1 | G15 | G7 | Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit (goal)
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old June 26, 2010, 06:12 PM
stoanee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Lacombe Alberta
Posts: 3,248

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ankhwatcher View Post
I'm running the Windows Memory Diagnostic Tool in Basic Mode.
I thought the 780 was a POS, I suspect mobo problems. The Q9450 is a good chip and should serve you well if you can get it working properly.
__________________
heatware
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old June 26, 2010, 06:17 PM
Ankhwatcher's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Posts: 41

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by stoanee View Post
I thought the 780 was a POS, I suspect mobo problems. The Q9450 is a good chip and should serve you well if you can get it working properly.
Yeah, I'm right there with you.
__________________
Main System (now): Q9450 @ 2.667GHz | Asus P5Q Deluxe | 2x1GB Crucial Ballistix DDR2-800 | 2 x Samsung SpinPoint 500GB 7200RPM | Everest 800w | EVGA 9800GTX 512MB GDDR3 in SLi | Samsung 22" LCD Syncmaster 226CW, 1680x1050, 2ms, 3000:1 | G15 | G7 | Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit (goal)
Reply With Quote
Reply


Tags
ddr2 , lga775 , nforce , nvidia , sli

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ati-nvidia physx hybrid, how to oc nvidia card? cozmosland Video Cards 2 March 21, 2010 11:24 AM
NVIDIA Brings A New Dimension To PC Gaming With NVIDIA 3DTV Play For The Big Screen FiXT Press Releases & Tech News 26 March 16, 2010 07:53 PM
[WTB] Scammer alert : DF-Beyond-Devil CactusJoe Buy/Sell & Trade 55 October 8, 2009 08:35 PM
NVIDIA Fermi (GT300) Pictured From NVIDIA GTC FiXT Press Releases & Tech News 22 October 2, 2009 08:04 PM
Devil may cry 4 under Palit 4870x2 lanner Video Cards 5 November 12, 2008 06:10 AM