Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old February 12, 2007, 08:34 PM
Babrbarossa's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New Brunswick
Posts: 3,673

My System Specs

Default New Bios for evga 680i just released!

I just wrote this in another thread- but I am hoping this is good enough news to warrant it's own-- Can't wait to see how this works (very curious to see if it deals with the Quad-core bottleneck).

Edit: I'd flash it now if I was using a quad-core, but as it is, I'll wait for the release notes and some feedback before I make the leap from p23.

Link to EVGA forum announcement

Last edited by Babrbarossa; February 12, 2007 at 08:57 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old February 13, 2007, 07:05 AM
Babrbarossa's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New Brunswick
Posts: 3,673

My System Specs

Default

Just to update and disappoint- so far it doesn't seem like this bios fixes the quad bottleneck-- the changelist is still not posted, but it appears that it fixes Vdroop.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old February 14, 2007, 01:06 AM
Misoprostol
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I've given up on this board, and I'm back on my insulated P5W DH. The audio frustrations I've been having over the last two months have been ridiculous. That and it just hasn't been a very stable platform for me. Good luck to everyone who's continuing to use it. I have decided SLI simply isn't worth all the hassle it's caused me, and I'm putting together a secondary little media rig to house my other 7950GT.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old March 19, 2007, 11:58 AM
Babrbarossa's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New Brunswick
Posts: 3,673

My System Specs

Default p26 bios released

New bios released but it's not very useful and some people are claiming that it has a destabilizing effect. It claims to fix wireless PCI card problems, and it removes the linkboost option from the bios (you can still adjust PCIe and Hypertransport yourself though).

http://www.evga.com/community/messag...TOPIC_ID=29940

EDIT: Jacob at evga revealed that the bios was also supposed to increase fsb overclocking by 5-20 on the fsb, but it's not guaranteed so they didn't post it in the description.

Last edited by Babrbarossa; March 19, 2007 at 12:04 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old April 10, 2007, 01:53 PM
Babrbarossa's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New Brunswick
Posts: 3,673

My System Specs

Default P27 Bios released

There's another new bios- these guys are amazing- I have to say- I flashed p26 from p24 and gained .5GHz on my oc- this bios is geared for quad core improvements- I might wait a little bit to see whta comes out of it as I'm dual core.

EVGA | Message Boards
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old April 16, 2007, 06:11 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 16
Default

The P27 bios made no difference to my fsb. The highest I can get is 1440 but this is not fully stable at any voltage (up to 1.6) with a 10x multiplier giving 3.6 GHz.
On the other hand, at 1400 with 10X I'm running 3.5 GHz 24/7 with 1.45V. It is extremely stable running quad prime 95 small FFT's for 24+ hours at 65C max.

The interesting thing is if I lower my fsb and use an 11x multi, I can get stable at 3.7GHz with 1.55V. This gives a boost in all benchmarks for example 3dmark06 goes from 17700 to 18560 from 3.5 to 3.7 gHz. All superpi benches are faster as well.
Clock spped is more important than fsb at least at this level.
I finally settled on 3.5 GHz.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old April 16, 2007, 06:18 PM
Babrbarossa's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New Brunswick
Posts: 3,673

My System Specs

Default

It boosted my e6400 from 3.45 to 3.84, but for some reason, mine isn't happy at around the 3.6 mark (1800QDR)- more stable at 3.7 with the same voltage. Have you done any messing around with the lower multipliers like 8 and 9?
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old April 16, 2007, 08:19 PM
Scratch's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Victoria BC Canada
Posts: 373

My System Specs

Default

wow I flashed my bios and what a story lol

I also posted fantastic results at first going to 3.8ghz running dual SPi 1mil crappy score but still nice OC then I thought...lets go higher lol
So I tried and had a major crash at 3.86ghz after trying to up my ram speed to 1100mhz (do not always believe memtest!)
I was unable to get my pc stable at any OC today and could not figure it out. I was crashing all over the place instability everywhere...I thought o well it only cost me 250 but it was a nice chip lol
Then I received a windows update notification saying my system was going to shutdown if I didn't activate wtf
I call Vista support 2 1/2 hours later we figure it out...my pc reset itself to Jan 1 2003
Needles to say I'm back stable at 3.6ghz synced with 900mhz ram @1.55vcore

BTW mine hates 3.7
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old April 17, 2007, 03:35 AM
Babrbarossa's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New Brunswick
Posts: 3,673

My System Specs

Default

Sorry! that's right- I was having a brain fart- ot was 3.7 that it didn't like for me too!

Wow sounds like a trepidacious experience!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old April 17, 2007, 05:46 AM
Beermaster's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Spruce Grove, AB
Posts: 266
Default

Wow thats sounds like quite the horendus experience, glad it all worked out for you and you didnt have to go buy a new chip lol
__________________
Grovian - *E4300@2.2ghz*Gigabyte DS3L*G.SKILL F2-6400CL5D-2GBNQ 3x1Gb*Sapphire HD4850 1GB*Raptor 75Gb*
Buggz - *E7200@2.9ghz*Asus P5Q*Patriot PC2-6400*eVGA 8800GTS 320gb*WD 160GB CaviarSE*
Lil-Grov Acer One*8gb SSD*WinXP pro
Tathar WIP*Q9550*Gigabyte EP45-UD3P*OCZ Reaper PC-8500 4gbX2*OCZ Vertex 120gb*WD 1TB WD1001FALS*BFG GTX275*
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
evga 680i , which one ? Jim CPU's and Motherboards 3 August 28, 2007 12:03 PM
Review of the EVGA 680i by TechGage Babrbarossa Reviews & Articles from the Web 0 June 11, 2007 06:18 AM
e6400 @ 3.84Ghz evga 680i Babrbarossa Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 17 April 15, 2007 12:14 PM
New Bios for 680i released today Babrbarossa CPU's and Motherboards 10 January 17, 2007 10:23 PM